We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location - but would NOT stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmen Hotel to your Saves list
Carmen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Acera de Darro, 62 | In the Heart of Granada, Just in Front of "El Corte Ingles", 18005 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Great Billing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Central location - but would NOT stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location, small room, breakfast cold, pool too small and too cold to get in, but fab views from roof terrace. Would I stay here again ? Probably not for the price €160 a night - I think I would rather be located further out of granada and get ground level pool. Too hot up there with no breeze. Bed linen nice and beds very comfortable with memory foam. I would recommend to management to try and solve the issue of cold breakfast food ( we went to a much bigger hotel from here that managed to serve buffet breakfast that was hot. The breakfast room was very very busy and I found this stressful... Tried to go earlier to avoid crowds but it was worse with all the day trippers getting breakfast done early to catch their bus. BIG PLUS WAS WIFI IN ROOMS - BIGGEST PROBLEM FOR US WAS NO ENGLISH TV OTHER THAN NEWS CHANNELS. I personally like to be able to relax for part if my day and watch something on tv. Our room was at front so it was too loud to leave doors open and the room was small so we were suffering from claustrophobia, all for £160 a night, not worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back or go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    265
    130
    40
    21
See reviews for
135
256
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have previously only visited this hotel with a large group but this time I took my sister for two nights who was over from the UK.
As soon as I pulled up outside the door the concierge was there to lift our cases out of the boot of the car, take the car keys and park the car in their underground car park. He then came back and took our cases upstairs to our room.
We were situated on the 5th floor floor and a very nice renovation has been done to this hotel. The room was spacious and the bathroom consisted of a shower instead of a bath which I prefer. Being of the older generation I cannot get out of a bath once I am in it.
We stayed for dinner one evening and the choice of buffet was very good. The breakfast also has a very good choice. Something for every taste.
I like this hotel very much and would certainly recommend it. On leaving, my car was brought round from the garage.

Room Tip: We had an inside room overlooking a courtyard and it was very quiet. I think if the rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Carmen Hotel for one night. This is a nice hotel.

The room was clean, nicely decorated and had a nice view. The bathroom was stocked with toiletries and I must say that the shower had great water pressure (the hot water was fabulous). But the sink drained slow; not a bad trade off given the shower.The only downfall was that our air conditioner didn't work; it could have been that we were traveling in March; not too much of a issue because we just opened the window for a bit (it was brisk).

The food was good ... pretty standard so it was easy to dishes that I like to eat.

The hotel is in walking distances to ALOT so wear comfortable shoes. But, if you only want to walk across the street there is a El Corte Ingles very close.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms rather spartan (no pictures on the wall), no drawers and window opaque, but bed firm and comfortable and bathroom spacious with plenty of hot water with good shower over bath. Breakfasts OK, but evening buffet meal lukewarm and uninteresting. Central position near restaurants and not too far from Alhambra; cathedral even nearer. Alhambra is a MUST.

Room Tip: Ask for room not overlooking the main road. It may have no window you can see out of, but it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights. Staff friendly and helpful, room clean, spacious and although room was overlooking main street, there was no street noise with the windows shut. If you arrive by car, park at the front entrance and they will park your car for you in the underground car park - 18 euros per night. Breakfast was plentiful with all one could possibly need and with very efficient, friendly staff.
The hotel is very central within easy walking distance of most main sites - although all up hill to the Alhambra and the Gypsy quarter!
A great city centre hotel.
We asked at reception for a city map and the one we were given included a voucher for a free (large) glass of wine and tapas in the cafeteria in the El Cortes Ingles Department store opposite the hotel - excellent wine and tapas!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We choose this hotel as my granddad recommend it to us and was a great choice. Good location, nice rooms for families, especially the size of the family room, toilette, was perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids under 9. However the pool was closed and there was no information given when we did the booking and we were planning to use it as well to spend time on the terrace to enjoy the view which was not active. Breakfast was "ok" nothing special, the bakery was kind of poor . When i did the checkin there were 4 people from the hotel in the front desk discussing about the parking and the cars and I wait unnecessary for some time to be helped, there is a clear need for customer service lessons! In the other side , the restaurant and bar staff are the best!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Hotel

Address: Acera de Darro, 62 | In the Heart of Granada, Just in Front of "El Corte Ingles", 18005 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Granada
#20 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Carmen is one of de most classical hotels of Granada which is located in a privileged place in the city center (in front of El Corte Ingles Store), nearby the most important monuments like the cathedral (400m), the Alhambra (15 min walking) and the Granada Congress & Exhibition centre (500m). With 222 modern rooms entirely renovated and equipped in 2011 the hotel is a perfect place for business trips and family holidays. The rooms are distributed in Standard, Family, Premier, Junior Suite and Suite. Some of them with terrace and view to the Alhambra.. The Hotel Carmen offers exclusive solutions for M.I.C.E. Meeting rooms fully equipped for every kind of events. The perfect position of Hotel Carmen in the city center of Granada nearby the monumental and commercial center makes it to a very special place for all kind of your events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.