We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmen Hotel to your Saves list
Carmen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Acera de Darro, 62 | In the Heart of Granada, Just in Front of "El Corte Ingles", 18005 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 127 Hotels in Granada
bakewell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“City Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is wonderful - right in the centre of Granada. Breakfasts were first class; we only had dinner in the hotel on one night but the quality and choice was very good. There is a great choice of places to eat all within five minutes walk of the hotel. There is a small swimming pool on the roof and the views from there are terrific.

Room Tip: Our room faced an inner courtyard so was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    265
    129
    40
    21
See reviews for
135
256
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I really like this hotel as it's in the middle of the city with access to pretty much everything. There's a department store El Cortes Ingles right across the street with a super market downstairs. Right on the corner of the hotel is a sandwich shop if you want something quick to snack on. The air conditioning in the hotel is horrible. It was just blowing air and nothing else. I had to open up the windows to cool down the room. The room is on the small side. I really like the proximity this hotel is to everything. Although it rained when I was here, I still liked the fact that I didn't have to figure out where to go eat or pick up some supplies. The hotel itself is on the modern side. There is free wifi but they do charge $3 euros a night for using the safe. We didn't pay for the safe as it didn't seem like a sketchy type hotel. They do offer a buffet dinner for about $22 euros I believe. I wouldn't recommend eating in the hotel when you have other restaurants close by. We ended up eating at a place called Chikito's. They open at 8pm but the bar is open at 7:30pm. It's a small place but the staff was nice and the food was good. I would recommend getting the Jamon Iberica. Totally worth the $20 euros. Don't forget, they do charge $1.50 euro for the bread. So if the waiter comes by with bread, you can decline it.
All in all, I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Granda. And of course, don't forget to visit the tombs of Ferdinand & Isabel. They don't allow video or photos to be taken here, but still worth going in to see where they lay. Beware of the gypsies though. They normally work together so one might be offering you rosemary while the other pick pockets you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel has remarkable amenities for the price. The rooms are small, but seem to be newly remodeled and have a trendy vibe. The lobby is dripping in marble and has a bar and restaurant. We were very impressed with the breakfast, which came complimentary with our room. The location of the hotel is unbeatable - a 10 minute walk from everything a tourist would be interested. The very best part of the hotel, in my opinion, is the rooftop. There is a small pool and a few lounge chairs, but beyond that, there is a large bar area with lots of tables and chairs, and quite a few couches, and all are overlooking the splendor of the Alhambra. My fiancee and I stayed here the week before our wedding, and began hosting small get togethers on the roof with guests as they arrived. The view was always spectacular. If you are going in the warm months, stay at this hotel and make sure you leave plenty of time to lounge around the rooftop!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamenca, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

lovely hotel the location was fantastic right in the center in walking distance of the sights. breakfast was really nice and the parking hassle free, the staff are friendly and helpful especially the barman! definately would stay here again and thoroughly reccomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely hotel, the room was spotless, and all the staff were so helpful and friendly . Perfect location to every where. The only comment against it,the pillows were not comfortable,very hard.Might seem petty,but its important when you want a good sleep.But will recomend it to others.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from the main road,if you have windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here partly because of secure parking, which was v.good as right under hotel with a lift down. Paid a little extra for one of the bigger rooms, but had to change rooms as it was front facing which was very noisy.room itself was pretty good. They did switch us with no hassle to a room at the back with a large balcony/ terrace, good for sunbathing.room less modern but very quiet. Overall thought room cost a bit expensive for the standard.
Superb roof top terrace, can eat there in evening, great for sundowners. Tiny pool, not heated but a good sunbathing area.lovely views over town and Sierra Nevada

Room Tip: Request one at the back if you want a quiet room with no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Stated in this hotel for 3 nights and was quiet surprised how nice it was when we got there. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were spotless clean. Roof top bar and pool were a great bonus as the heat there can be a bit to much. In walking distance of everything. Breakfast was great and great selection
Great hotel over all

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Hotel

Address: Acera de Darro, 62 | In the Heart of Granada, Just in Front of "El Corte Ingles", 18005 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Granada
#20 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Carmen is one of de most classical hotels of Granada which is located in a privileged place in the city center (in front of El Corte Ingles Store), nearby the most important monuments like the cathedral (400m), the Alhambra (15 min walking) and the Granada Congress & Exhibition centre (500m). With 222 modern rooms entirely renovated and equipped in 2011 the hotel is a perfect place for business trips and family holidays. The rooms are distributed in Standard, Family, Premier, Junior Suite and Suite. Some of them with terrace and view to the Alhambra.. The Hotel Carmen offers exclusive solutions for M.I.C.E. Meeting rooms fully equipped for every kind of events. The perfect position of Hotel Carmen in the city center of Granada nearby the monumental and commercial center makes it to a very special place for all kind of your events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.