We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Granada

Save Saved
You added Melia Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angel Ganivet 7, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 127 hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The room was very nice and had a nice view onto the street below. The room was very bright, and it had a nice sized television with a nice variety of English channels. The air conditioning also kept things very cool. I also really liked the oatmeal soap bar in the bathroom. The coffee at breakfast was also very nice. One of the greatest features of this hotel, however, is its location. It is right in the heart of Granada. And, let me tell you, this city gets bumpin at night. Especially on the weekends. The hotel is just steps away from many wonderful restaurants, coffee shops, and bars. Great stay at this hotel and very easy for English-speaking travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    300
    155
    53
    15
See reviews for
134
320
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed there for two nights. Hotel needs renovation for long time! The fixing things here and there, new towels, new doors, new TV, little things, but it still old, tiles cracked, furniture and fixtures are old and very outdates with old times luxury... Hotel smells! It smells like cheap hotel that tries to get read of bad smell, I don't what they use, very strong air fresher I guess, and it is everywhere, even in rooms, I could not breath. I tried to keep windows open, luckily we had outside room, but as everywhere in Spain it was too loud outside to keep windows open all night long. When I asked for iron, iron was half broken and taped with electric tape and to iron board.
Reception staff not very friendly, but night shift. I would not stay there again!
But... Nothing could ruin to fell in love with Granada!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Take the upgrade! Our original room had problems and when they quickly fixed one, we would call to get the next one fixed (phone, safe and then a/c). We finally took the upgrade room and it was wonderful - fixed all the problems with the first room and added a great view of the Alhambra. The front desk staff were responsive and made the necessary changes to ensure we were happy. Located centrally to the town, everything was easy to access and there were lots of places to eat close by. We would come back for a longer stay in Granada. It was so much nicer that we expected. Give a pass on the HoHo bus, but plan a full day in Alhumbra

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of Grenada are well worth the additional price. Do not accept a room without A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxspring
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Melia Granada has a superb central location, with friendly staff, and good vibe. The price we paid represented excellent value for money and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Granada for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at around 12. There was a huge queue at reception and it all felt a bit chaotic. We didn't expect early check-in to be allowed (as is often the case in Spain) and we were not disappointed with a flat "No" when we finally got to the front of the queue!

After our trip to Alhambra we arrived back at the hotel a little after five. We were given a room on the 4th floor which seemingly used to be the 'club' floor in better days. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The design meant that you didn't get a full window. But you could get a decent view from it when laying on the bed!

After a decent night's sleep, breakfast came as a bit of a shock. Chaotic, noisy and far from restful. A shame as the selection was actually pretty good (avoid the OJ tho!).

Carlos in reception was very helpful and deserves a shout out.

Would I stay again if back in Granda? Probably.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in June 2011
CEntral location, parking charge of 20euro though!!!
slightly dated decor but nice, clean and comfortable
Slap bang in center of city, just roll out of bed!!!
loads of cafe's and food places within reach, as are transport (bus)
There is a bus to the ALhambra just on the main road.
Nice, vibrant city with excellent weather and the Alhambra is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Granada

Address: Angel Ganivet 7, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Granada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Granada 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Granada is located in the heart of the city of Granada, near the cathedral, Calle Navas, Alcaiceria, the Puerta Real, Calle Elvira, Plaza Nueva, Realejo, Paseo de los Tristes, the Science Park and the Congress Centre.Its strategic location in the city centre, personalised service and excellent facilities make it the perfect choice for your visit to Granada.Neat the hotel, you can visit exclusive boutiques and fashion houses. Plus nearby there is a one of the city’s main leisure and entertainment areas with numerous tapas bars and restaurants. Meliá Granada is also just a short distance from the most trendy nightspots and major shopping streets such as Reyes Católicos, Recogidas or Mesones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Melia, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melia Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Granada Hotel Granada
Sol Melia Granada
Granada Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.