We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Granada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Granada to your Saves list
Melia Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angel Ganivet 7, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #48 of 127 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersBronze level
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Loved our stay at Melia Granada. We took the bus in from Malaga and it was about a 10-minute cab ride from the bus station. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very clean. There was some noise from the street (restaurants, etc) but considering the location, that was to be expected. Our rooms were very comfortable and accommodating. Breakfast was nothing extravagant but it was worth the money. Great restaurant across the street and a short walk into downtown where you can pick up the free shuttle to the La Alhambra!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas_MeliaG, General Manager at Melia Granada, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Nicole S,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the very kind review about Meliá Granada. It has been a really pleasure to host you in our hotel. We are very happy to know that our Hotel was at the level of your needs. Your comments help us to carrie on working with the same goal, to give the best service into the best infractuctures.

We hope to welcoming you back again in Meliá Granada.

Yours sicerelly,

Tomás Ruiz
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    410
    190
    68
    26
See reviews for
197
444
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Although the hotel was in a great location, and the foyer rather splendid, any sense of luxury ended there. The long characterless passages to the rooms (punctuated by industrial fire doors) was more akin to Travelodge standards (not that we have anything against Travelodges). The room was exceptionally small, with barely enough room to pass each other and not one single draw to put anything. Worst of all was the fact there was an interconnecting door between our room and the next which opened easily from our side.
Only two lifts and no stairs that we discovered - often along wait if folks were just checking in.
Good choice at the self service breakfast.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas_MeliaG, General Manager at Melia Granada, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear MOCKO_2,

Firstly, we would like to thank your valuable time that you have spent to send your comments through Tripadvisor.

We have to apologize if your room was not as you expected. The room you had it was interconnected with another room, with a door between, which opens easily from your side, but not from the other side. We are sorry if we were wrong offering to you that room.

About the Hotel, I would like to inform you taht we have 3 lifts, two in the Lobby and anotherone very close to the Bar. Also there are two stairs, one beside the reception and the other one beside the bar.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for your comments about our location and our Breakfast, we will carry on working to keep our level.

Thank you very much and it will be great to see you again in Meliá Granada.

Kind regards


Tomás Ruiz
Director Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Right in the center of Granada. At walking distance from most of attactions (Albaicin, Alhambra, Cathedral...) as well as tapas area.
Family rooms are big enough and comfortable to fit 4.
If you go by car there is a parking right on the left passing the hotel. Remember to give your plate number in reception to avoid a fine (limited area in the city to traffic)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauchringen, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked this hotel for its location in the centre of Granada - even though the reviews on Tripadvisor were 'mixed'. And both were correct.

Unfriendly and arrogant check-in service at the start, unfriendly and arrogant check-out service in the end. And no service in between. Bad service seems to be an institution at this hotel. You get the feeling that nobody cares about anything at this place.

The room was clean and had everything you need, though it was on the small side. You can't say that about the bathroom, which was tiny. (And the plug didn't fit in the tub.) What we found positive, was the fact that the room was quiet, although it is right in the centre of Granada.(Oh, and the tv only worked when it wanted to, which was about half the time.)

The breakfast buffet was nice and varied. Its special feature was that the 'fresh' fruit seemed a bit old on the first morning of our stay. On the second morning there was exactly the same fruit - the fruit salat quite brown (due to the apples it contained) and, e. g., the ""fresh"" pineapple was the one we had seen the day before - only drier. (And this is supposed to be a 4-star hotel.)

The location is definitely a plus. You are just minutes from everything - sights, restaurants, bars, or whatever else you are looking for in Granada. With a renovation and some serious staff training, this could be the #1 place in Granada. Unfortunately, that is not what you find today.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

From check in to check out serviced sucked, rude, slow and just not helpful at all.
The room was small but clean and comfy.
Wifi only worked properly in the foyer and was expensive.
BUT the location couldnt get better, just 1min walk (just behind the hotel) is the strip full of cafes, restaurants & Bars but strangely you can't hear the noise and it's perfectly safe.
3min walk in the other direction is the main shopping street.
Everything you could ask for is within walking distance.

It's not a bad Hotel you just expected alittle better for the money you pay but other than that you can't argue with the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Overall rather poor/rude receptionists.Tired room. Old decorations, scratches on walls, old TV, Twin beds instead of double bed, old worn carpet. Old bathroom. Needs renovation. Towels weren't soft so were quite harsh on skin. Smell of bleach. Toilet didnt flush properly. Poor shower. Plug didnt fit in hole in bath, so water leaks out. I've stayed in much nicer hotels with much more charm in Granada before (at less cost), so I won't be staying here again unfortunately.

Room Tip: Plenty of charming hotels in Granada - keep looking :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great location. Fine for a couple of nights if you get it at a good price but by no means luxurious. Clean and reasonably comfortable but in need of a little TLC.
Only a short walk to Cathedral and plenty of bars/ restaurants nearby

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Granada

Address: Angel Ganivet 7, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Granada
#13 Business Hotel in Granada
#18 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#40 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Granada is located in the heart of the city of Granada, near the cathedral, Calle Navas, Alcaiceria, the Puerta Real, Calle Elvira, Plaza Nueva, Realejo, Paseo de los Tristes, the Science Park and the Congress Centre.Its strategic location in the city centre, personalised service and excellent facilities make it the perfect choice for your visit to Granada.Neat the hotel, you can visit exclusive boutiques and fashion houses. Plus nearby there is a one of the city’s main leisure and entertainment areas with numerous tapas bars and restaurants. Meliá Granada is also just a short distance from the most trendy nightspots and major shopping streets such as Reyes Católicos, Recogidas or Mesones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Melia Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Granada Hotel Granada
Sol Melia Granada
Granada Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.