We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel on the better side of town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Granada to your Saves list
Melia Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angel Ganivet 7, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 129 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great hotel on the better side of town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and I couldn't have asked for a better hotel. It's in an area where it's not too crowded but close enough to the action.
They have a very helpful staff and a good morning buffet. Close to Calle Navas where they have some of the most authentic spanish cuisine.
I would definitively stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    359
    170
    63
    22
See reviews for
171
398
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Melia Hotels are always a great choice in Spain, specifically also in Granada. This hotel is 5 minutes footwalk away from the Cathedral and a bit more from the main spots. Good, clean rooms. Good breakfast. Very ressonable price. A good choice!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent six nights in the Melia Granada as part of a retirement tour of Southern Spain. My wife and I spent a year studying in Granada in 19** (I won’t embarrass Mrs Hispanist by revealing the exact date) when we could only look on in envy at the American tourists and other guests as we returned to our humble student accommodation in the Albaicin.

The Melia is ideally located for getting around this delightful city and is literally only a few minutes walk from most of the key places of interest. We booked a bed and breakfast deal through the hotel’s own site at a very reasonable rate – 70€ per night.

The reception on arrival was friendly and welcoming which set the tone for the entire visit. The staff throughout the hotel were efficient and helpful. Particular mention must go to Encarni in the breakfast restaurant who remembered us each morning and brought our drinks over as soon as we sat down.

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the much needed air-conditioning system worked well. The modern flat screen TV was large and there was a good choice of channels. There was no free Wi-Fi but this was available in the lounge and bar areas if you asked for the code which changed daily.

We didn’t eat in the hotel apart from breakfast when there was a very wide choice of hot and cold food, all of good quality. In fact we spent very little on food throughout our stay because the breakfasts were so comprehensive and Granada is one of the few cities in Spain still offering free tapas. There are several good tapas bars just behind the hotel on Calle Navas, one directly opposite the hotel and an excellent one just opposite the Corte Ingles department store on the Acera Del Darro called Barrica. Just a few doors away from the Barrica is a fantastic ice-cream/cakes and coffee bar.

Our only niggle with the whole stay was the hotel bar which was deserted most of the time and had a misleading two for one cocktail offer. A pity because on a previous visit it was lively and well supported.

However, we can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and will stay here again if we return to Granada. Granada itself is certainly well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you sign up for a Mas rewards card you are entitled to a free newspaper,late checkout and other b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Good central location, with all amenities nearby. We could also see the Alhambra palace from our bedroom window! The first room we were allocated had a very strong smell of cigarette smoke, even though we'd requested a non-smoking room. They readily came and sprayed air freshener but it didn't do the trick, so we were allocated another room on a different floor.
Short walking distance to the Alhambra bus stop, most other sights within walking distance but some further than others so make sure you have your good walking shoes on! Breakfast good variety, plentiful and fresh. If breakfast not included in price can be quite espensive, but with a MAS rewards card you a half price breakfast..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Hotel Melia is a really nice four star hotel in a very good location. The room I stayed in was quite small but it had a great bathroom. The AC did not seem to cope very well in the heat. The good thing was there was free wi-fi in the reception.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is good, but not great. The location is okay, but still a lot of walking to get where you want to go. Seems like mostly a business hotel, but the prices are reasonable. We booked a deluxe room because they have a view of the Ahlambra, but frankly you had to kind of crane your head to see it all. For some reason the window in the bedroom was horizontal in shape, and kind of strangely situated close to the floor, but you will have to take my word for it. There might be rooms here with a better view, but I am not sure. Overall the place feels somewhat dated, and is in need of refreshing. Oh, and though there is wifi, it only works in the lobby.

When we arrived, our room had not yet been made up. With credit to the staff, within 90 seconds of our call to the desk, the head of housekeeping arrived, 'tsk tsking' about what had happened, and within another couple of minutes a small army of maids had arrived to clean the room thoroughly. It is also worth noting that the breakfast was very good.

When I come back I might try someplace else.

Room Tip: Not sure of rooms with a view are worth it here. If you want a view, better to stay somewhere on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A truly great location for everything in Granada including the Alhambra. Hotel has a very upmarket feel on a wonderful street. Room was nice and spacious and staff very courteous but breakfast could have been better, especially as the egg chef kept vacating his post. Handy public parking just a stone's throw away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Granada

Address: Angel Ganivet 7, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Granada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#18 Business Hotel in Granada
#35 Family Hotel in Granada
#44 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Granada is located in the heart of the city of Granada, near the cathedral, Calle Navas, Alcaiceria, the Puerta Real, Calle Elvira, Plaza Nueva, Realejo, Paseo de los Tristes, the Science Park and the Congress Centre.Its strategic location in the city centre, personalised service and excellent facilities make it the perfect choice for your visit to Granada.Neat the hotel, you can visit exclusive boutiques and fashion houses. Plus nearby there is a one of the city’s main leisure and entertainment areas with numerous tapas bars and restaurants. Meliá Granada is also just a short distance from the most trendy nightspots and major shopping streets such as Reyes Católicos, Recogidas or Mesones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Granada Hotel Granada
Sol Melia Granada
Granada Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.