We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and central!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Macia Gran Via Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Macia Gran Via Granada to your Saves list
Hotel Macia Gran Via Granada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 25, 18001 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice and central!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is quite nice looking and its very central located in the city, the decor are modern but some years old. The beds are fine and I sleep good. The staff is friendly and helpful. Very good quality for the price, I highly recomend if your just stay for some days to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    74
    69
    14
    6
See reviews for
31
102
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Location was easy to get to via bus from the train station. Location was central, easy access to transit and also possible to walk. Rooms were clean and had everything you needed. Hotel is older so the look was slightly out-dated however that didn't matter much. Staff was very helpful. Abel was fantastic and recommended restaurants and even a hotel in Seville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is a very centrally located and all the tourist attractions are close by. Although we walked to the Alhambra , the Alhambra Busses stop just outside the hotel. A Walking tour of the city ( which takes you right up to Albayzin) and the "Hop on Hop off" busses start from very near the hotel. The hotel is not very modern but has an old world charm.The room was spacious, neat and clean. The bathroom was however very small. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The staff at the front desk provided valuable information. Free WI Fi connection is available with good connectivity. Breakfast was very good and sumptuous. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel which in turn helped our visit to Granada to be a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Macia Gran Via (3 star) is an elderly hotel that has adapted to the less grand tourist market. It was our base for a 4 night Granada/Alhambra Getaway booked through Guardian Holidays/ AA Travel. As with other reviewers we picked up a car at Malaga airport and drove up to Granada. Granada is a maze of one way streets and very difficult to navigate on the first visit. The hotel's garage is accessed via a car lift - also very difficult to navigate - and not a good introduction to the hotel.
We had booked a double room but were given a twin - I had to have a rather unpleasant argument with the receptionists before we were eventually given a double room - which was clean but hot and rather too small for comfort - bit better than an UK Travelodge. The lifts were out of action several times during our stay for maintenance - and we were trapped between floors on one occasion, fortunately only for five minutes or so.
After this poor start, things improved - the receptionists were friendly and the breakfasts excellent. The big bonus was the hotel's proximity to the city centre and to the inexpensive and frequent local buses. We travelled to the Alhambra and back three times and to the Albaycin probably six times - all very easily.
Food in the centre was mainly Tapas - the Albaycin is a better place to eat - but in Jan/Feb the restaurants there tend to close early. From the Albaycin, the evening views of the floodlit Alhambra are magical

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Macia Gran Via last weekend and had a great time. The hotel is spotless and the rooms were cleaned daily. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is in an excellent location, the No 31 bus stops almost outside and takes you to the Albayzin area or a in a taxi it costs less than 7 euros. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights - hotel was clean, staff friendly with a reasonable level of English.

Breakfast was very good, with a selection of bread, pastries, cold meat and cheese, bacon, scrambled egg, sausages, fruit juices, fresh fruit - coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc

The hotel has a secure car park, which costs 17.50 euros a day, but is worth it in a city in which parking and traffic is a real problem.

The decor of the hotel is rather strange - the corporate colours are grey and yellow and the walls of our room were painted an orangey terracotta. A little odd, but the rather dark room was clean, with clean towels/sheets every day.

The big drawback is the level of noise. The hotel is on one of the main roads in Granada, there is constant traffic noise, sirens and shouty people very late at night and starting up again early in the morning. We were on the top floor (5th) but the noise levels were still very high

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travelled up from Malaga Airport by car to base myself in the Macia Gran Via Hotel. The four star rating is accurate. The hotel is a five floor building on the Main Street, the Gran Via de Colone, with entry to both the hotel reception and parking garage in the side street. (A word to the wise - my satnav failed to recognise that Gran Via although being two way, one way (north to south) is restricted for taxis and buses. This poses quite a chalenge in negotiating the maze of one way alley ways that constitute the vast majority of the streets in Granada. Make a decision to study the one way system before you go or to risk fines.)
The staff on reception are fluent in English and very efficient. The rooms (I was on the fifth floor facing onto the side street) are comfortable, clean and reasonably sized with en suite with bath/shower combination. Like the room, the en suite was very clean. The hot water was comfortably warm rather than very hot, but hot enough. The in room TV provides about 20 channels. Not surprisingly, the vast majority of the channels are in Spanish but there is one each in English (BBC World), French and German.
The breakfast, served until 11.00 (so you can take that well deserved lay in after sightseeing all day) comprises a reasonable cold buffet of salami, ham, cheese, very fresh bread, yoghurt, fruit, etc. with coffees and juices.
There is no restaurant within the hotel but many faciulities within easy walking distance either to the right, along Gran Via or accross Gran Via and into the back streets of Albaizin. Two restaurants from my experience that I can recommend are Azafaran and Via Colon. Via Colon is within 100 metres, whereas Azfaran is a 15 minute stroll away with, at night, a beautiful view of the floodlit Alhambra.
I mentioned the Great location: Albaizin is full of passage ways containing restaurants, bars and small shops - mostly selling morrocan influenced wares; at the end of Gran Via is the top of the main shopping street leading down to the commercial hub of Granada and a wealth of tapas bars; Accross from the end of the Gran Via is the hill upon which the Alhambra is located.
In short, I found the hotel an excellent base from which to explore Granada and the region of Andalucia.

(Please disregard my ratings for Swimming Pool and Fitness Centre. Unfortunately, I can find no way to delete the selection. The hotel, to my knowledge, does not have either swimming pool or fitness centre.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Macia Gran Via Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Gran Via Granada

Address: Gran Via 25, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Macia Gran Via Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Macia Gran Via Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Gran Via Granada
Macia Gran Via Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Macia Gran Via Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.