We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Macia Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Macia Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Macia Plaza
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Nueva 4, 18010 Granada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Benahavis, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived in Granada having booked a hotel in Gaudiix but decided it was too quiet so we went back to Granada but it was bank holiday weekend so we tried eight hotels before we found the above which had just had a cancellation. We felt the location was fantastic and the staff were so helpful with restaurants and information.
No tea/coffee in room which is always a disappointment for us.
Breakfast was Euro7 and it was buffet it was ok.
Plenty of buses and taxi nearby.
Great for walking around the city because it was so central.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel so that the road noise and revelers do not disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    194
    51
    11
    6
See reviews for
38
200
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Centrally-located and a great base for the different sights and points of interest in Granada.
Front desk service was indifferent and curt. Our room was facing the street (as booked) but we were given a room on the first floor which made sleeping a challenge. It was the weekend and all night long we could hear the voices of the revelers from the street. Early the next morning, we were woken up by the noises being made by the restaurant staff down on the square as they were setting up their outdoor tables and chairs. My advice is: get a room on the highest floor possible!
Our room looked tired and worn-out. The bathroom smelled a bit moldy. We could also hear the loud conversations out in the hallway early in the morning. Basically, I don't think the soundproofing works in this hotel.
For a one-night stay, this hotel is fine. But if you are a light sleeper, look somewhere else.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

You can't beat the location on the Plaza Nueva -- it is close to everything. The hotel is right on the plaza, the rooms are smallish, but perfectly adequate -- and very clean. The hotel has been recently remodeled and looks very new inside. Breakfast is included and is served in a pleasant room in the basement of the hotel. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I left my glasses in the room when we checked out, and when I contacted them from Barcelona, they tracked them down and had them sent by FedEx to my next hotel the next day.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are cheaper and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night following a trip into the sierra Nevada and because we wished to visit the Alhambra Palace. The hotel is in a great location with lots of cafes serving tapas outside. We tried one and had the most delicious patatas pobres there. The room we had overlooked the square and we enjoyed live flamenco from the balcony. It also afforded fantastic views of the palace. Pedro at reception was excellent! In the evening we had a chorizo burger on a side street a way from the tourist area with 2 beers and 2 sangria's which came to less than 20 Euros
A flying visit but we had a lovely time here at Macia Plaza and Granada!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed her for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms nice, good size, clean. Staff very helpful - especially front desk staff Pedro who was very helpful with information and with moving our luggage from where the taxi dropped us. Very friendly and made us feel welcomed. Room quiet and facing street on high floor room 401. Great location. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room 401 faces street but not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We booked this at the very last minute and loved it.
The great:
--location - right on the plaza and close to everything
--breakfast - convenient, but a bit expensive (in my opinion)
--front desk help - loaned us an umbrella, always cheerful, and very helpful
--the room A/C - it works great

The not so great:
--the room smells like something, not sure what, but I smell it every time that I come in - once in the room, I cannot smell it
--there is no parking, but we did not know that, so we parked several blocks away and walked (after circling the area for so so so long)
--we booked here because of the 15% discount in the Rick Steve's travel book. When we arrived, we did not get the discount because it is a holiday weekend in Spain...but the book does not say anything about holidays excluded. In the end, we did wind up getting the discount...but there should be more clarity on that.

All of that being said, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Central Location where you can walk to all the main attractions in Granada! Alhambra is a short 10 mins walk from here. We also walked to Mirador San Nicolas from here as well. Beds were too soft and the toilet was way too close to the bidet that there's barely any leg room after you sit on the toilet. Also, like some reviewers noted, the bathroom door has a huge gap after you attempt to close it since it's a stained glass door. We found it adequate as we only used the room to sleep and was out most of the day.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Macia Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Plaza

Address: Plaza Nueva 4, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Macia Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Macia Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Plaza Hotel
Macia Plaza Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Macia Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.