We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, inexpensive and in the best part of Granada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tilos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Los Tilos to your Saves list
Los Tilos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Bib Rambla 4, 08010 Granada, Spain (Centro - Sagrario)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, inexpensive and in the best part of Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I used to stay at Hotel los Tilos because it was the only hotel on Plaza Bibarrambla, a large and charming square surrounded with cafés and restaurants - and no cars - a few steps from the Cathedral. Since it was entirely renovated, about 5 years ago, it has also become a modern, comfortable, small-scale family-owned hotel with friendly staff (and owner, José Maria), fine breakfast and free wi-fi. There is a magnificent view of the cathedral towers and roofs (looks more like a city of its own than a church) and also the ramparts of the Alhambra Palace in the distance. You can have churros with hot chocolate (typical Spanish snack) at two of the cafés downstairs, and the "human" noise of the square is never bothersome. We stayed there this August (2013) during a heat wave and the air-conditioning saved my life, I can assure you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are from the second floor up (first floor for Europeans) since the ground floor of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    87
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
99
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is situated on a lovely square with brilliant cafes and bars, close to the cathedral (where the bus goes to the Alhambra) and the Albaicin. The room was clean and the hotel well maintained, with a view of the square. Payment was on departure contrary to what the Booking.com information said. We were given free fans on departure which cam in handy for the rest of our trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The location of this hotel was excellent. We really liked stepping out of our hotel, right into the plaza Bib Rambla. Cars were not allowed, so there was only foot traffic. There were plenty of great choices for eating in the plaza.

The staff of this hotel were great. They worked hard to satisfy us. The owner was onsite most of the time. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is walk into hotel in the old city right on the Plaza. Call ahead if you are driving for parking information. I stayed for 3 nights and have only positive things to say. Excellent staff that assisted me for the in the city transportation. I also had my personal laundry done at a fair price. Everything for the old town is right at the Plaza Bib Rambla like the cathedral, dining, Alcalcerias, Plaza Nueva, and the Hammams Turkish baths. You are only a couple of blocks from all bus services. My single room had a small bathroom, but hey I wasn't in there that long. After a busy day at the sights I could relax and dine on the plaza and walk to the church for classical guitar. Great value, would do it again in a heartbeat. Not related - order your tickets for the Alhambra early and beat the crowds in line and do one night visit, fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed in in June of 2013. This hotel was fantastic. It is located in the center of Plaza Bib-Rambla. The pro's being that you are right in the center of the city, surrounded by cafes, nightlife, and attractions. The con being that you can not access the hotel by car, so if you have quite a lot of luggage you'll certainly want a taxi to drop you close, instead of parking a car and walking. I'd suggest the Puerta del Carmen (right next to the Ayuntamiento/Town Hall).

The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was not huge, but certainly sufficient. The room and bathroom were kept very clean and there were windows looking over the plaza, making for beautiful views. This is a fairly tame part of town so the plaza is not extremely crowded or noisy at night, although if you're a light sleeper make sure you get a higher or inside room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Cannot reach hotel by car. We finally had enough driving down pedestrian walks and parked in a garage. Relatively long walk to the hotel. Probably closer parking lots. Finally just found it by chance just walking around. On the plaza, relatively noisy. It was raining so it kept the plaza pedestrian traffic down. Good restaurants all around the hotel. Great location. Hotel front desk is two floors up from the ground entrance. Take the small elevator to the lobby. Easy bus access to the Alhambra from the hotel, which is what we were there to see. Granada is a big town feel. Not as comfortable to us as party all night Seville. Alhambra is well worth at least a day if not more. Reserve tickets for the Alhambra on the internet in advance. We were taken to a will call window past lines hundreds of people long, buying tickets that day. Saved us standing in line for over an hour and getting mad. And we were there off season. I can't imagine the lines in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel was perfect. Clean rooms comfy beds and smack in the middle of town. The plaza bib rambla has great food and the walking tour kiosk is here too.
The hotel staff were very helpful and kind ....they even arranged and let us know about our pick up for the alhambra palace, which we would hav missed otherwise.
Value for money !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Tilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tilos

Address: Plaza Bib Rambla 4, 08010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Tilos 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Los Tilos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tilos Granada
Los Tilos Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tilos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.