We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Hotel Dauro II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Western Hotel Dauro II to your Saves list
Best Western Hotel Dauro II
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Navas 5, 18009 Granada, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Granada
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good Value & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

I stayed here for 2 nights in a single room. The room is of a fair size, not as tiny as other single rooms I've stayed elsewhere in Europe. The bed is larger than a twin... almost a full size bed! The bathroom is spacious. Everything is clean. There is an in-room safe, also a hairdryer.

My room faces the back alleyway and it is extremely quiet. Like others have mentioned, there are plenty of tapas bars on the street. I didn't eat at any of them as all allow smoking and they're very smoky.

I thought the location is decent. Maybe 10 min walk to Plaza Nueva, or the Cathedral. I actually walked up to the Alhambra. It took 20 minues from Plaza Nueva, a fairly steep hike but I enjoyed it.

All the front desk staff are friendly and helpful. I borrowed an electrical adaptor from them to charge my camera battery.

I ate breakfast there on both days. Yes, €8,50 is a bit expensive but the buffet spread is very good. It has cereal, juices, yogurt, cold cuts, cheese, cucumbers & tomatoes, fruits, various breads, hard-boiled eggs. It also has a hot plate serving scrambled eggs and bacon. I think the price for breakfast is justified.

I arrived in Granada by plane. There is a bus that goes to city center (timed to flight arrivals). It's €3 and takes about 40-45 minutes. You get off at Puerta Real (one stop after the Cathedral). When you get off, you'll see a plaza with a fountain across the street. What you do is cross the street, head towards the far end of the plaza (your Right when you're with your back towards the road). Walk through the plaza and then you'll see the sign of the hotel straight in front of you. It's very easy to find and the walk is no more than 5 minutes.

I left Granada by bus from the main long-distance bus station. You can get there by taking bus #3 or #33 (€1) from Puerta Real. Bus stop is on the side of the plaza (no need to cross the main road). When I left during rush hour (9am) the trip took about 30 minutes.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    325
    89
    13
    5
See reviews for
117
295
52
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Location of the hotel is great - right on the street where there are many tapa bars and restaurants. It is also not far from the shopping area. We took the bus 33 from the main bus station to the hotel (get off at the stop after the cathedral). It took about 10 min and cost 1euro.

Breakfast is OK. Room is clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

The hotel has a reasonably central location although not as close to the main sights as I expected from the initial information. It's quite a long walk to the Alhambra and Albaicin areas.

The room was clean and well equipped, quite spacious, with a nice bathroom. In style it looked like Best Westerns everywhere i.e. not particularly Spanish. There was no view. There wasn't much information about Granada in the room. The staff were pleasant and helpful and spoke good English.

I had breakfast once (you have to pay separately). It was a well stocked cold buffet, which was decent enough quality but not good value for money given it cost more than any of the three course meals I ate in the region! There is also a restaurant/bar attached to the hotel serving a range of tapas, the food and service at which were good. It is quite small though so I can imagine it getting full fast in high season.

On the whole, a decent if rather bland hotel.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Bland, a bit overpriced
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

Had an excellent experience with this hotel. We stayed a total of 5 nights in 2 different rooms on 2 different floors and both rooms were very comfortable. The beds were large and comfortable with nice clean bedding, no scratchy bedcovers! Bathroom clean and big. The buffet breakfast was ample with both hot and cold choices. Enough to choose from for even picky breakfast eaters. The lobby was pretty and sparkling clean. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant and ate several dinners there as the prices were very reasonable for our party of 5. Great location with easy walk to shopping and sight seeing. Staff was helpful and friendly. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper and bothered by city noises.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Loved the location of this hotel. Off a pedestrian street with lots of action: food, tapas, bars . Although very busy and noisy, it was quiet since it was the far end of the street. Because of this location, you had entry/exit points from 3 different streets. Very close to the center plaza.

The hotel needs a little bit of cosmetic work to update to 2007 but overall was a good quality hotel with excellent buffet in the breakfast room . Front desk was accomodating since there was construction across the street they offered a larger room on the other side of the hotel for the same price.

Restaurant not fancy but the wait staff was great and friendly. We tipped the waitress and she was very appreciative. The food was good for the price.

I'd stay here again for location, ease, professionalism and price.

  • Liked — professional staff
  • Disliked — furnishings need updating but in good shape and clean
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

Just returned from Granada after spending 3 nights at the Bestwestern Dauro II on C. Navas. The hotel was good and the staffs were very helpful and friendly. Room size was bigger than we expected. We had a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. It had a European king size bed, a single and a sofa bed. Hotel's location was excellent, within 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral, the Alcaiceria (souvenir shopping area) and a department store (El Corte Ingles). One can also get a bus (1 Euro each) or taxi (4-5 Euro) to Alhambra. Breakfast was adequate but with limited selection of hot food. There are number of resturants on C. Navas. We tried Nuevo Restaurante down the street on 25 Navas and it was very good with inexpensive prices. We also tried Resturant Sevilla for lunch based on other's recommendations. Sevilla was a bit more touristy since it is next to the Cathedral. Food was fair and it was a bit more expensive. Overall, the hotel served our purpose and Alhambra was amazing. Too bad the Courtyard of the Lions and the Hall of the Kings were under restoration while we were there.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

It's a Best Western, with typical middle-America decor (once you're in the room, you don't feel like you're in Spain anymore). But the location is fantastic (close to several key plazas and fantastic restaurants) and very convenient. In addition, despite its central location, it is on a very quiet alley that allows you to sleep in. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Hotel Dauro II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Dauro II

Address: C/ Navas 5, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Granada
#30 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Dauro II 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 48-bedroom Granada hotel is the result of combining and renovating three centuries-old buildings. Located just five minutes walk from the Cathedral and Royal Chapel, in one of the streets with the most "flavour" in Granada, famous for its bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Hotel Dauro II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Granada
Best Western Granada
Granada Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Hotel Dauro II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.