We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first-rate dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Claustro

El Claustro
Gran Via de Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain
958 80 57 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 870 Restaurants in Granada
Price range: $30 - $61
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the historic district of Granada, The Cloister Restaurant fascinates with its spectacular architecture, monastic tranquility of his past and a strong culinary, as simple as Baroque for its rich hues and textures. A market cuisine, rooted in Andalusian products and premium season but surprised diners through carefully prepared dishes in color, design and flavor.Is the signing of Spain's Best Chef 2009, Juan Andres Morel, who leads a team of young designers whose goal is to translate the passion for their craft to conquer demanding palates.Ubicado en el corazon monumental de Granada, el Restaurante El Claustro fascina por la espectacularidad de su arquitectura, la placidez de su pasado conventual y por una oferta culinaria contundente, tan sencilla como barroca por la riqueza de sus matices y texturas. Una gastronomia de mercado, cimentada en los productos andaluces de primera calidad y de temporada, pero que sorprende al comensal a traves de platos cuidadosamente elaborados en color, diseno y sabor. Es la firma del Mejor Cocinero de Espana 2009, Juan Andres Morilla, que lidera a un equipo de jovenes creadores cuyo objetivo es trasladar la pasion por su oficio a la conquista de paladares exigentes.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A first-rate dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were guests at Palacio de Santa Paula, so we decided to eat at El Claustro the first night we arrived in Granada. We had a truly outstanding meal. The chef is creative and everything we ordered -- from cold soup to meat (ox tenderloin) to fish (hake) to vegetables -- was wonderful. Desserts were fantastic. Atmosphere in the convent courtyard was relaxing and cool. Wine list was excellent and fairly priced. Service was professional but friendly. This is also an outstanding place for a breakfast with everything you could ever want to eat, although pricey for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Deserves 6 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Staying at the AC Palacio we stumbled upon the El Claustro. Set in the beautiful courtyard of the hotel our expectation wasn't high, a nice looking hotel restaurant after a 4 hour drive from Alicante.

Well what a pleasant surprise to find that we were about to have one of the best meals of our lives washed down with a very drinkable Albarino.

Sherry to begin with some cheese and mushroom savoury crisps. Choice of breads with some intensely flavoured olive oil. Starters: very generously sized pork and camembert, quince and cheese, savoury vegetables. An amuse of octopus salad followed by various mains: ox tenderloin, monkfish, lamb. A selection of deserts topped off with some sensational petit fours.

Per head a price of 66€ for what all of us would put in our top 10 meals out. Excellent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Omg this is a brilliant, brilliant restaurant. Superbly imaginative and exquisite food, fabulous service, great space. One of our most memorable meals ever, anywhere

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“good but overpriced for andalusia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

we had a decent dinner there and good wine but overall there are better options in Granada, no doubt
you can safely go there and dont feel disappointed though

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommendable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Having a bit dated Michelin Guide (2009) we thought there were not many good restaurants to be found in Granada, but luckily there was an update on the Via Michelin site, which mentioned El Claustro. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, both in taste and presentation and also the service was impeccable. Locationwise: on the outisde one would not know what lovely dining hall there is downstairs, plus a beautiful old adjacent courtyard.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Claustro also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to El Claustro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Claustro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.