We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Londres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Londres to your Saves list
Hostal Londres
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   C/ Gran Via 29, Albaicin, 18001 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
Alcala La Real, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hostel owners waited for me, though I arrived an hour later than expected, Much appreciated. Very friendly and helpful. Everything is spotlessly clean and bed comfortable. Location is 250 meters back from Airport shuttle bus stop near Cathedral. Local bus to the bus station is opposite front door and owners happily gave instructions. Very convenient stop over. Good value budget accommodation and next time I visit Granada will happily stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brigham City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed two nights here. Very clean and comfy. This was exactly what I expected from their description. Not a four star hotel, but cheap and very well located to ALhambra, Cathedral, bus stops, etc. Shared bathroom was very clean and got daily cleaning. Right off Gran Via, so it was a bit tough finding it by rental car due to the fear of getting a ticket driving in the "forbidden zone". But, I parked at a pay lot and walked 5 minutes to the hostal. Then the owner accompanied us back to where we had parked and helped us relocate our rental to his personal space which saved us about 10 euros a day. He was happy to help, too! No question I'd absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed here for three nights. The rooms are on the fifth floor, the owner lives downstairs, so she does not sit in the reception whole day. The rooms and baths are small, clean and modest in equipment. Not really Hilton, but who needs a top-class hotel when you are in Granada! The greatest assest is the terrace: a narrow door but a beautiful view, especially at dusk. Lovely place to have a smoke or a nightcap before turning in. The location is superb, on the main street but high above it, right outside the airport bus stop. The cathedral is round the corner, Albaicin right in front of you, shops and bars nearby. I enjoyed no hassle, totally independent stay in a quiet small hotel. Credit cards accepted, wi-fi reliable and fast. The lady was nice and attantive, she let me leave my luggage until late evening on the day of departure and even a quick shower&towel before I said good-bye. Godd value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have windows facing the yard, but that seemed ok when you sleep at night....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

First of all this place is a Pension, not a hostel. Pensiones are usually owned and managed by families who live nearby, if not next door. In this case, the staff (owners) were almost never in the 'hostel', and the brief moments we saw them were precisely what made this experience so unpleasant.

We got there on a Thursday night, and the lady owner came from her home to check us in. Credit Cards are NOT accepted, as opposed to what they advertise. She had to get the "new" key for our room, which turned out to smell like FRESH PAINT!!! We asked if it was possible to get a different room and the husband said it was impossible bc they had a fully booked long-weekend. He literally said he "couldn't care less if we stayed or left", and went on and on about how that room had been painted TWO days ago. After us insisting that we had nowhere else to go, another room magically came up... but only for that night. There was a garbage bag in the stairwell, next to the hostel's entrance.

On Friday morning there was no staff to be found, so we emptied out that second room and took the keys they had given us. When we returned, the owner lady aggressively inquired about the keys, lied about having e-mailed us, and then falsely claimed "we knew were she lived". Once again we were told we were free to leave whenever we wanted, but there were just no more rooms in town. At this point, there were three garbage bags outside the entrance.

On Saturday we saw the man briefly, when he insisted that the room had been painted FIVE days ago. We never saw him again until check-out on Sunday, when it was obvious that he didn't know how long we were staying for, or even how much we needed to pay. When we left, there were five garbage bags in front of the entrance. and the room still smelled like paint.

The facilities were average, but they don't have half of the things advertised on hostel booking websites, such as laundry facilities, hairdryer, maps, and they charge for keeping luggage. The entrance to the building was open most of the times we came back, and there was poor lighting in the lobby at night.

The one perk was the terrace, thanks to the privileged view and not as much to the bunch of old doors, bags of cement and stuff that was laying around. The place has a great location and the bus to the Alhambra stops right in front of it, but we weren't even told about it (or any other kind of information). The facilities were average, but above all It was an outlandish experience to pay and be mistreated in such a way by the actual owners of the place. WE DON'T RECOMMEND IT.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

這次西班牙住的最差的一間, 房間簡陋又小, 浴室更是小到無法轉身, 浴室多處發霉, 磁磚與毛巾架歪斜, 公共區域在整修中, 到處都是工具與油漆而且一直有噪音. 公共陽台號稱可以看到阿罕布拉宮但那陽台是通往某間客房唯一的路, 你就像闖進別人的私領域一樣不自在. 櫃台的服務態度很冷, 不停推消佛朗明哥秀, 不推薦這一家 ! 雖然便宜但舒適度也太差了, 加個 10 歐元為你的格瑞納達之旅找個更棒的地方吧.

Yes the price is comparable cheap and location not bad. But it's still the worst hotel I stay in my Spain trip.

The public area of hostal is now in renovation, there're always tools, paint, and noise and they didn't notice in advanced. The room is dirty and very tired looking. Considerable numer of mold in the small bathroom and some tiles already leaked.

Don't think about the view from the terrace, it looks nice and seems a public area, but the truth is the guests who occupy that room next to, their doorway is open to terrace and they will think this is their private area and always open the door. You will not feel good to sit or even enter the terrace.

I couldn't say the staff is friendly. They often disapear or busy do the renovation work. A guy which check-in is very cold person, whenever he talked he was always promoting the Flemingo show. The historical part of Granada is very small, you don't have to stay here just for its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed just the night in Granada to see the Alhambra and gardens. Granada is terrible for driving in the one-way system, particularly as the Gran Via on which the hostel is located is restricted access for non-authorised vehicles. Managed to work our way opposite the hostel and park in the side street before ringing the bell of the apartment block of which the hostel occupies the 5th floor (there is a lift). The friendly Juan came down and guided us to their parking garage a couple of blocks away.

The hostel offered a large room with a nice balcony looking west over the city. The room and en suite were very clean but the decor and furnishings basic and dated. The front terrace offers great views of the alhambra, which is a (very steep) 25 minute walk. For the price of 30 euro plus 15 for parking we were satisfied and we thank Juan for his geniality and decent english.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

On arrival it was not obvious that the hostel was on the 5th floor of the building and the entrance to the building was poorly lit after dark. The proprietor greeted us on the 5th floor and was very friendly, with a warm smile and courteous presence. We booked a double room, but ended up with a room with 4 single beds. The room was a good size (no swinging cat jokes there), the shower room small but clean and also with an additional sink in the room area, ideal if a few friends are travelling. The accommodation was extremely central. The front door on to the main road was often left open when we arrived back late, which did pose a risk because of the lack of adequate lighting in the main entrance area. Also, most of the time no-one is manning the reception, but if you need anything you can ring a bell and the proprietor will come. Unfortunately, on leaving we were not greeted by the lovely lady with the smiley face, who spoke English ( putting us at peace because of our pigeon Spanish), we were checked out by a Spanish gentleman who asked us to pay by cash. This took us by surprise as when we booked the accommodation it was clear on the Booking.com website that we could pay by credit card. Fortunately, we did have enough cash on us. We would recommend this hostal to anyone looking for an economical stay in Granada.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Londres

Address: C/ Gran Via 29, Albaicin, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Londres 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Londres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.