We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Oliva

La Oliva
Placeta de los Peregrinos, 1 | Placeta de los Peregrinos, 1, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)
0034958225754
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 792 restaurants in Granada
Price range: $52 - $52
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Realejo - San Matias
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Truly fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I can't say enough about how wonderful our experience was with Francisco at La Oliva. We stumbled upon the shop looking for a place to eat on our first night in Granada and were told it was by reservation only, so we had our hotel book us for the next night. Thank goodness we did - it was the most delicious, relaxing and fun evening of our trip! After many courses of incredible Spanish tapas and great wine and education about Spanish food and culture, Francisco joined us for more wine and great conversation. Francisco, you truly made our trip to Granada - thank you so much for your hospitality!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    245
    16
    6
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herrenberg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This isn't a restaurant - it's an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

No, this is not a restaurant. You do not sit down, have a bored and disinterested waiter toss you a menu, and have a plate of impersonally prepared food slapped down in front of you.

This is a unique experience which anyone who truly appreciates food and convivial companionship will savor. A specialty food shop during the day, it is transformed in the evening into a cozy enclave, with small wooden tables nestled cozily together. The tasting dinner starts with a selection of appetizers, before moving into several main dishes, all of which are sized just so you can taste and enjoy the amazing, fresh flavors of the food. Which is a good thing, as the dinner generally runs anywhere from 13 to 18 courses, with accompanying wine flowing freely with each course.

The highlights of the meal are things such as a selection of very high-quality olive oils, and local wines, including a splendid tasting of several local varieties of sherry.

Perhaps the biggest highlight of all is don Francisco, who is, by all appearances, a born raconteur and showman. Not only does he explain, in detail, the foods you are eating, he does so with flair, style, and an impeccable grace of manner. Also, if you have any dietary restrictions, he will go out of the way to accommodate you (my fiancé is allergic to shellfish, so he prepared a special gazpacho just for him for one of the courses).

If you only want to sit down, eat, and leave, there are plenty of regular "restaurants" to choose from, instead. If you want an evening to dine in an experience that is far from ordinary, I cannot recommend any place more highly than La Oliva.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A memorable and great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We dined at La Oliva in November 2012. Living in Granada for 2 months we knew we wanted to try La Oliva. We waited for our friends from Amsterdam to be in town so we could take them there and we all agreed that it was a big highlight of our stay! Mr. Francisco was very welcoming and a gracious host who explained the significance of each tasty dish. His staff were very attentive and friendly. Our wine glasses never went dry. The wines that accompanied the different dishes were generous and quite impressive! My favorite was the deep red wine made from raisins (dried grapes). The shrimp spinach salad was to die for! La Oliva is a specialty foods shop that opens its' doors for tastings. They have limited seating so it is highly recommended to book in advance. We were not pressured to buy anything after our meals as one commentator stated. It was only after a few days we went back at our leisure to buy some things that impressed us. A wonderful experience and great memories! If you are Spanish you may not be impressed but for the rest of us who do not have personal invitations to come to your homes, it was the best food I had in Andalucia!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's not a restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I really don´t know why it is the first one it's just an expensive shop of spanish products, there are a lot of bars cheaper than this one.
The service was quite rude.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just enjoying our La Oliva take away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

It is cold and snowy, but we have just cracked open a bottle of wine we bought at La Oliva after we had a tasting dinner there last summer...
Absolutely fantastic-Recoletas 2010-Ribera Del Duero.

Thanks Francisco...making the UK a little bit warmer!

Richard and Sarah

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Oliva also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Oliva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.