We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monjas del Carmen to your Saves list
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Cuchilleros,13(Plz. Nueva), 18010 Granada, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Hotel Monjas del Carmen was our 'home' for 3 nights, this is a new hotel located near Plaza Nueva, on the day of arrival we were to catch a bus (#1,3,4,6,7,9,or 11) from the train station as recommended by the hotel but ended up walking with our packs 900m, it only took us 20 minutes to navigate our way. I had booked directly with the hotel and requested a quiet room as I had read that some guests were disturbed by street noise. We were assigned room #308 and told that it was the quietest room, I can see that some rooms, particularly the ones to the back of the hotel over the restaurant could be rather noisy.

Our room was very pleasant, two king single beds pushed together, crisp white linen, small balcony, good block-out drapes, air-con, free WIFI (I found a little slow at times), plenty of storage space, minibar frig, TV but no English speaking channels. There is some noise in the hallway as usual, overall we had great nights sleep, the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Bright bathroom, nice night lightlng, shower over the bath, good water supply, heated towel rack, hairdryer, fluffy white towels.

Breakfast was not included in our tariff but we ate at the adjoining restaurant, Los Manueles, entry from the hotel foyer. There are 3 options for breakfast, Continental for 4 euros (toast or croissant with a drink), English Breakfast for 7 euros (Fried or scrambled eggs or omelet with bacon or ham, bread basket, juice and a hot drink) and Fitness breakfast for 7 euros(large bowl of cereal, fruit platter, juice and a hot drink). We tended to order one English and one fitness breakfast and shared to get variety. The restaurant was very new, clean and efficient, with a nice view out to the street.

The location of the hotel was perfect for our needs, we walked everywhere, in the immediate area is Plaza Nueva, wonderful tapas bars across the street in the labyrinth of lanes, a nice walk up to Plaza St Nicolas to catch the sunset over the Alhambra. We walked from the hotel up to the Alhambra, it's a steep climb but only takes about 15 minutes. From the hotel, walk down the lane from reception, turn right into Reyes Catolics, right into Cuesta Gomerez, through Puerta de las Granadas, take the left hand staircase, walk up hill, turn left and enter the Alhambra complex via Puerta de la Justica if you have pre-purchased your tickets.

Turn left out of the hotel street, there is the Cathedral on Gran Via, and plenty of shopping. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would stay here again. On the day of departure we were to catch the airport bus opposite the Cathedral for 3 euros each, unfortunately that day the buses were all diverted and we had to catch a taxi to the airport (28 euros).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    185
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
88
244
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

An excellent, modern hotel for discovering Granada from a central location. Hotel gave precise (and necessary) instructions for getting there by car. Friendly and helpful staff and large, clean room with balcony on to a very buzzy city. Didn't try their restaurant but plenty of great places to eat within a very short walk at prices to suit all pockets. The local buses to the Alhambra and Albayzin and all over the city are cheap and very regular. We found Granada to be a wonderful city with breathtaking sights - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulverston cumbria england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

positives were very clean room, nice helpful reception staff, great location
negatives were hotel not easy to get to by car, it would have been helpful to be told that the street to go down has bollards on it and in order to get to hotel you needed to drive up to these bollards and use the intercom there to alert hotel staff of your arrival
also the breakfast was certainly not up to scratch. Although we knew beforehand that it was going to be a continental breakfast, a piece of toast and a coffee and orange juice was all we got. No 'help yourself' just one piece of toast brought to your table!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastSussex
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Good modern central hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Near everything of historic interest, tapas bars, shopping etc. The Alhambra is a cheap short frequent bus ride away. Bus stops nearby hotel. Very clean bedroom with large shower and crisp white bedding and very reasonable priced. You need to be in this part of town for evenings out.

Summer will be very hot and crowded in Granada but perfect in the spring and autumn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nice rooms of high quality and overall a "fresh" hotel but it had its deficiencies.
PLUS: Great atmosphere at the pub/bar in the lower level. Relatively centrally located and near to shopping and tourism. Courteous staff. Clean and fresh rooms and common areas. Laundry service returned same day.

MINUS: The conference facilities looked deluxe but were better suited to an event such as a wedding or dinner rather than a meeting. The staff had a difficult time fulfilling "office-type" requests such as photocopying a guide to our conference participants and the lone projector had technical problems. The breakfast buffet and restaurant were OK but better restaurants were to be found elsewhere in the city (examples: Breakfast: found boiled eggs that were green and some fruit and breads were dry. Coffee break: consisted of white bread sandwiches or oily cakes/donuts. Lunch: the restaurant served quantity more than focusing on quality.) There was no iron available to guest, only same-day laundry service.

SUMMARY: As a tourist, this hotel is recommended, but if it is a meeting, check in advance if the hotel can meet all your conference needs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel is very centrally located less than 1 min from Plaza Nueva but very quiet as it is down a small lane. There is very easy access from the Cathedral bus stop -approx 3-4 min walk and is easy to find. The minibuses for the Alhambra,Albacin district and the Sacromonte leave very frequently less than 2 mins away otherwise you can walk to all but beware the streets are very steep and almost all cobbled! The main shopping district is about 5 mins walk away The hotel is very modern and spotlessly clean built around a central atrium and the bathroom with doulbe size walk-in shower superb. We found our room to be the quietist we have ever come across in a hotel but we were on the third floor. the reception staff could not be faulted and were extremely helpful with directions and recommendations

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a very nice modern hotel with a bright central atrium in a perfect location if you are in town to see the Alhambra, Cathedral and the Arab section- all within a few minutes walk. It is right near Neuvo Plaza with good bistros and kabob shops and the tapas bars at Navos are maybe a ten minute walk.

The room was large, beds comfy and the bathroom was great- especially the heated towels and large tub.

But even the sound-dampening windows could not block out the noise from the bar below. My wife is a light sleeper and she was up much of the night being awakened by singing, yelling, chanting even until 6am. I was only occasionally woken up by same so if you sleep deeply- or if you like to sleep with the windows open- you might look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms away from the bar or street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monjas del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Address: Plaza de Cuchilleros,13(Plz. Nueva), 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 127 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monjas del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Monjas del Carmen is located in the historic city center of Granada, at the confluence of the neighborhoods of the Albaicin (Muslims), Realejo (Jewish), at the foot of the Alhambra and next to the Cathedral and main monuments, tapas bars, entertainment and businessarea.Its 32 rooms are equipped with the latest technology in air conditioning and soundproofing. There is private parking in the building, exclusive use of our clients.The perfect choice to visit Granada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monjas del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monjas del Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.