We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Cathedral

Granada Cathedral
Gran Via de Colon 5, 18001 Granada, Spain
958 222 959
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$28*
and up
Granada Royal Chapel and Cathedral Tour
Ranked #17 of 167 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This spectacular Renaissance church - the only one of its kind in Spain - features a beautiful stained glass rotunda.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My daughter and I entered the cathedral and immediately said that it wasn't as ornate as Malaga Cathedral but then you reach the alter and it is breathtakingly beautiful. It quite took my breath away. Well worth €4s of anyone's money. Don't miss.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank harris442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An unique cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Granada cathedral (built on the site of a demolished mosque) might be described as a church and an icon to the Spanish conquest of Granada; signifying the end of Moorish rule in Spain. The massive and ornate exterior is impressive with a set of HUGE doors. The interior seems overstated in places even for a cathedral, communicating messages of power and wealth rather than those of spiritual inspiration. Some quick research prior to (instead of after) our visit would have definitely enhanced the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EvergreenExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
877 reviews
740 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“White walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The cathedral is ok. There is a treasure with few exhibits, and some very big altars. Not the rococo of other cathedral in the region, making it look much simpler.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fabiano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dark and creepy, plus they charge you separately for Cathedral and Royal Chapel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've seen many Cathedrals in Spain, and this was probably my least favorite. From the outside, it is very impressive, and makes for cool photos. But from the inside, I found it a bit depressing, with its stark white walls and stark gold altar, and a complete lack of natural OR artificial light. It did not inspire me with peace or any positive feelings at all, on the contrary. Plus, the bathroom facilities were horrible, dirty and no soap or paper to be had.

We were hoping to access the Capilla Real (Royal Chapel) with the same ticket (4 euros), but were disappointed to find that it had its own entry charge, also 4 euros. So we skipped that.

The area around the Cathedral is very interesting, street musicians and vendors and lots of narrow alleys filled with crafts and shops, but I don't think it's worth paying the entrance to go inside, unless you have strong Catholic inclinations.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderbug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture and peaceful environment to enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Beautiful Baroque façade with lovely side chapels with ornate details. Interesting huge bibles & sacred books displayed behind the altar. Stunning church organs and beautiful coloured dome. Rows and rows of pews to sit quietly at and reflect - even though a huge interior it is still possible to lose yourself with your thoughts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granada Cathedral also viewed

 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Granada Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing