We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location overlooking Granada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alhambra Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alhambra Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Alhambra Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Granada
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location overlooking Granada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Easy to find hotel and very responsive parking valets who parked our car for free. The girls on the front desk were rather grumpy and gave the impression of being terribly busy and important. However we were shown to our room by a delightful porter and shown how to use the facilities. The room was a little on the small side but very comfortable bed with egyptian cotton linen. Bathroom was clean and shower pressure was excellent. We had a fabulous view of the city below us and if you are thinking of staying here you have to bear in mind you have a walk down to the city, which is delightful but a very steep climb back. Free wi-fi access in the room. There is an excellent bus service which stops right outside the hotel. The location was great for the Alhambra.We took a tour and were picked up at the hotel in the morning. There is a bar with a wonderful view of the city. Grand hotel with grand prices if you wish to eat/drink but excellent discreet service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    302
    93
    35
    8
See reviews for
164
387
32
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

A great place to stay if you are planning to visit the Alhambra, which is but a 10 minute walk down the main path from the hotel. The Albacin is in walking distance as well.....but I enjoy walking, so you may prefer to cab it. The views from the Alhambra Palace are stellar, albeit the restaurant prices can be a bit steep. Staff was very courteous and helpful. The decor was lovely and palatial.....lots of Andalusian and Moorish accents. We had a small standard room which we found very comfortable and appealing. The bathroom was beautiful with the burgundy and creme colored and mosaic tiles. we had a car and the free parking was a definite asset. Overall I enjoyed our brief stay and would recommend staying at the Alhambra Palace.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The Alhambra Palace Hotel is one of the finest hotels I have stayed in and all too brief on this occaasion - overnight to visit The Alhambra Palaces and gardens which are but a short, 10 minute (uphill) walk away from the hotel for the (floodlit) evening and morning tours. I recommend buying tickets in advance to avoid disappointment - entry is strictly controllled and the ticket queue on the day is long. I learned that the hotel organises guided tours but I had already bought tickets via the Internet so I just 'joined' a group at the gate (hee hee).
This is not a budget hotel but you get what you pay for - from the multilingual, ambience at Reception, the message on the flatscreen in the room, to the maid who enquired if all was well with the room - made me feel welcome. My room was comfortable and the view over the city was stunning - the same view as the terrace where you can have lunch or a quiet drink.
Owing to the time of the evening tour I missed dinner. (Room Service more than compensated). Breakfast was something else - what a spread! I have seldom enjoyed such a varied (hot and cold) choice.
Having stayed once, I shall have no hesitation in returning. I highy recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Fantastic views in close proximity to the Alhambra Palace. Beautiful building and interior. Rooms are fairly standard. Very limited facilities basically consisting of a bar and dining room. Free on-street parking if you are lucky. No garden, fitness centre, pool or wi-fi. Don't take the offered tour to the palace - do your own thing and either buy a guide book or use the audio guide.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

This was a beautiful and unique hotel. I find anymore that all hotels seem to look alike. This hotel is an exception. It is very stylish, yet remains true to granada's middle eastern influences.

Location:
Perfect. This hotel is a very short walk to the al hambra. The Al Hambra is situated on top of a rather steap hill. This hotel is at the top of the hill saving guests a steap walk. It was visable from the Al Hambra itself, and I even noticed some tourists taking pictures of this beautiful hotel

Parking:
Free valet parking. Very helpful

Rooms:
Gorgeous. Our room at an amazing view of the city. They bedroom and bathroom each had french doors really taking full advantage. Sitting in the bath with a glass of wire looking out of the city is a great way to end the day. The room was adequately sized and very clean

Staff:
very helpful and gave great recommendation. Very well informed on all the tourist sites, local hang-outs, and transportation options.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Alhambra Palace made a good first impression, our car was parked for us, our luggage taken care of - really friendly stuff. The room was on the smaller side but with a stunning view over granada! Amazing to wake up to such a view! The bathroom was really pretty but a little outdated. It takes you only a five minute walk to the alhambra, so it´s a perfect location, too! We didn´t go to the restaurant, but the bar was nice. And the breakfast was truly amazing!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed here two nights while we visited the Alhambra and met up with friends. They stayed down in the city and we stayed up here. We had a lovely, large room, which was comfortable and beautiful. Our terrace looked out onto the whole city below. The bathroom was roomy and tiled with Alhambra designs, as well as being well stocked with everything you could ever need (toothbrushes, combs, razors as well as luxe shampoos and soaps). After spending nearly five hours at the Alhambra we were grateful the hotel was a mere five minute walk. Rooms also have free wifi and there is valet parking.

The bar also has a terrace looking out over the city which is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy a Jerez (sherry) as the sun sets.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#19 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alhambra Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.