We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come again even if it's only for the bed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alhambra Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alhambra Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Alhambra Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Granada
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Will come again even if it's only for the bed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We checked in v. late in the evening after a missed flight and subsequent train journey from Madrid. Room service was prompt and excellent. Breakfast could not be faulted - lots of fruits, cereals, cooked breakfast etc. Views over the city were wonderful. There are many paths from the hotel into various parts of the town so if you feel energetic, you can walk instead of taking the taxi. Rooms are clean, bed was very comfortable. Bathroom clean although shower was quite difficult to operate, needed some brute strength to turn on. Staff at reception and breakfast helpful and polite. Most spoke English but not great. There is an outdoor balcony adjoining the breakfast area which is open for snacks and lunch. It was lovely to sit out there, with the city below and the mist/spray to cool us down. On the morning of our check out, we had to leave before breakfast. We requested a packed breakfast. All we had wanted was perhaps a roll/pastry and an orange juice. We were each given a huge cardboard box which was insulated inside with an orange, an apple, bottle of orange juice with plastic cup, a couple of pastries, 1 cheese sandwich, 1 ham sandwich, and 2 hardboiled eggs! The only downside was that whilst we were there, there was no internet due to some problem/servicing. All in all, a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    302
    93
    35
    8
See reviews for
164
387
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely. We felt like we were in a mudejar palace. The breakfast buffet is excellent, the location is great, and the staff is super helpful. The walk into town is lovely. Granada itself I could take or leave, not much to do here after Madrid and San Sebastián but the Alhambra is amazing. There are other hotels in town but for the money you can't beat the location nor the price for what you are getting.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our guide book recommended going her for a drink before continuing to walk down back into Granada from the Alhambra. It’s very easy to find, about 10mins walk down from where the taxis drop you off for the Alhambra. We got there about 12.30pm having been up in the Alhambra from about 9am and it was completely empty. It has a lovely old fashioned balcony that overlooks the city (not the Alhambra) but makes for a nice change having spent the whole morning looking at the palace. A lovely place to relax before the relatively short but quiet steep descent back into Granada.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent two lovely nights at this spectacular hotel! We had a balcony with a beautiful view of the town and the mountains. Service was great, loved the terrace for snacks, room was well appointed. Best thing of course, is the location of the hotel, a short walk to the Alhambra and also a short walk from the town. Best spot for exploring the Alhambra, and still not a bad walk down into town. I have reservations to come back again!

Room Tip: We had a lovely balcony looking over the town of Granada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We highly recommend this beautiful hotel. The hotel is situated only a few hundred meters from Moorish Alhambra castle/Palace.

Everything about this hotel is high quality – the staff, the food, the rooms and the beautiful interior. Like us you probably will enjoy the outdoor terrace with panoramic view over city of Granada.

We’ll be back – soon!

Toril & Bjorn Lie-Hagen (from Norway)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really like the quirky charm, not the place if you are looking for a boutique hotel ...fantastic terrace for drinks in the sun, lovely buffet breakfast.from experience we avoid the restaurant for dinner . Staff helpful and it's in a great location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Only 5 minutes walking from Granada's main attarction - Alhambra Palaces and Gardens.
The view is simply amazing as the hotel is located in the Alhambra hill over Granada and sorroundings. You can also admire Sierra Nevada getting golden at sunset. Really a must. Also the breakfast is superb and really worth the price you pay for it.

Room Tip: Make su you get a room with view to Granada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#19 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alhambra Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.