We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are touring in Spain do not miss the Alhambra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alhambra

The Alhambra
Palacio de Carlos V, Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)
958 027 971
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 104 attractions in Granada
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Castles
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The second most visited site in Europe: this breathtaking palace-city is a sophisticated blend of medieval Islamic, Renaissance Christian and modern architectural styles.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you are touring in Spain do not miss the Alhambra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We did a morning visit, so many interesting things to see, and as the weather was hot and sunny there are fantastic views over Granada from the top of the hill where the Alhambra is located. I would recommend a visit during the morning if the weather is hot, and not to be missed is a night visit. At night the carvings, rooms and courtyards take on a completely different look to during the day, one is not better than the other but I suggest try to do day and night visits if possible.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,140
    1,105
    295
    76
    85
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spanish history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved every min,had a ball and learnt loads.The place is quite a walk and do wear flat shoes as the paths are cobbled ect.Feet hurt but i have very happy memories and wonderful pictures of the wonderful views ect.Very evocative

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smells history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I couldn`t realized that how many hours i spent inside, it was totally amazing, inspiring, makes you think that you can live there forever. Gardens should not be missed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's not my thing not to mention I didn't know the history behind it all. It may have been more enjoyable with a guide.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

if you are ever in Granada Alhambra is a must see. I highly recommend you buy your ticket for the day tour and the night tour. The day tour is aprox 16 Euros and ask for the 2:30 admission for the Palace as this gives you enough time to walk from the main entrance to the Palace.
If you do not buy the guided tours, please buy the audio tours, the magic and significance of the place will make a lot more sense if you are guided.
Rate this place a must see. Come visit during the spring, when all the Generalife gardens are blooming, and the sky is clear.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alhambra also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to The Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Alhambra to your Saves list