We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pension San Joaquin” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pension San Joaquin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pension San Joaquin to your Saves list
Pension San Joaquin
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Mano de Hierro, 14 | Frente Basílica de San Juan de Dios, 18001 Granada, Spain (Centro - Sagrario)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Granada
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pension San Joaquin”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

The common areas of this Pension - the vestibule, quadrangle, stairs, passages and even doors to rooms are exquisite. However, our room was an absolute disappointment. The sheets were clean but the room smelled stale, there were a couple of beatles/cockroaches on the floor, the bathroom was grubby, light bulbs not working, shutters extremely difficult to secure. Common Areas are classic, 9 out of 10, but Rooms are dingy, 3 out of 10.

Room Tip: You will be impressed with the common areas but check the room before making your decision
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
6
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Staff as helpful as could be without any English language. Error in bill which was very difficult to sort with language barrier. Helpful in other ways though.
Moved rooms as first one in noisy position. Second one didn't have fridge, we were told it used to have one but gone now? All part of the traveling Experience!


Room Tip: Can be noisy on road position. We moved to back room on 2nd floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was a nice place.
Grafitti, small cafés and noisy neighborhood.. The typical granadino neighborhood. Very safe, very central and a unique place to stay.
Was a bit cold (we stayed there in February), but it was a very nice place for a nice price :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Tucked down a dark alley in a pretty rough area of Granada this hotel wasn’t quite what we were expecting. Graffiti marred the walls outside and inside the whole place felt like it hadn’t been touched in 30years. Hallways were dangerously unlit – the automatic lights failing to ever turn on. The courtyards, which looked so pretty in the photos, felt rundown and unkempt but even this could be excused and put down to ‘character’ if the rooms had been brilliant. The rooms were not brilliant. Cracks in the paint work, damp on the walls and ceiling not to mention to complete lack of working heating generally made the place feel more like a cell than a hotel room. Convinced that there must be better rooms we asked to be moved and to their credit they did move us though the new room was only marginally better than the first.
This hotel probably was quite nice in the 70’s but now it’s really showing its age. I wanted to love this place I really did, it has so much potential, so much character and history but right now what it needs is some serious love and attention (and of course a substantial amount of money).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

nice staying very cheap in the city center of Granada. Spanish Azulejos in all the pension : lovely!
No parking but bargains with a public parking not far (10€/day). Bathroom and bedroom old but pretty clean. Just noisy bed and street with people talking all the night... No breakfast proposed. Bag storage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location was good for exploring the city. The room was a good size, bit dark due to lack of view and decor very dated. That said however we found the hostel very peaceful and we slept well. The bathroom was basic and we had to hold the shower head but there was plenty of hot water and we were there to explore the city so it suited us just to have a basic place to crash. There was a bakery down the road so we could buy breakfast and enjoy eating it in the courtyard space.

Like most of Granada the pension was down a small cobbled lane which could be a little intimidating if you are travelling alone but in general suited fine. Easy to reach from airport via airport bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night. For what we paid got what we wanted (a room:). Garden is nice, location is not too bad. Aircon didnt work. Got 2 single beds instead of 1 double bed room, when we booked double bed. Staff was friendly though, but when we came back to get our stuff a 10 year old kid was sitting at the reception, thought that was kinda weird...we needed a key to get our stuff out of the storage room, he didnt speak to us so with my very limited spanish I asked for his dad or someone who is adult.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension San Joaquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension San Joaquin

Address: Mano de Hierro, 14 | Frente Basílica de San Juan de Dios, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension San Joaquin 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pension San Joaquin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension San Joaquin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.