We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty fried fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Chicota

La Chicota
calle Navas, 20, 18009 Granada, Spain (Realejo - San Matias)
+34 958 220 349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 948 Restaurants in Granada
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Realejo - San Matias
Madrid
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very tasty fried fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a cheese salad to start, (€10.50) sweet and delicious, followed by a plate of fried fish for two (€22) which was a bit too much though would have been perfect without the salad. Service was pleasant though the restaurant was very busy and so at times it was not very attentive. The place appeared clean and drinks were reasonably priced. There was one downside, which is that they charge €2 for a basket of very average bread.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    111
    56
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We randomly chose this place out of a whole street full of restaurants and we weren't disappointed. The food was great (I recommend the pork knuckle), the service was friendly and fast and it was very reasonably priced. Nothing fancy, no frills, just great food at a great price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice food and professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The menu had a lot of tapas-like dishes and some meat dishes, since most of the dishes were full-size it was a bit hard to choose as we knew we could only eat 2 between us, and this would be my only criticism, some smaller portions of some things would've been good so we could try more dishes! We had the "Revuelto con esparrago y jamon" (Scambled egg with asparagus and ham) which was amazing, very tasty, lots of the best stuff instead of mostly egg like at some places, and the "Migas con chistorra" (Seasoned fried breadcrumbs with little chorizo sausages) which was also great but too big to eat it all! The prices were appropriate for the sizes of the dishes. They also gave us not one but two free tapas with our drinks since the first one had fish in which I don't eat. The staff were professional and drinks and food came quickly, the restaurant is nice inside, nicely decorated and adequate choice and layout of tables. I would recommend it for a nice evening meal, including for special occasions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This restaurant is on Navas Street, where restaurant after restaurant after restaurant makes it difficult to choose which one to try. We tried to get in at Diamontes but just too crowded and, to tell you the truth, we never did figure out the whole tapas thing while we were in Spain. Plus, we were tired from site seeing and wanted to sit down. Server was so friendly, and, since we were eating a little early (around 7), the restaurant was quiet. We were in the smaller of the two Chicotas on the street. I had the most delicious chicken & ham soup, my daughter had the tortilla Espanola, which came with a lovely salad, a few beers, a hot chocolate and bread, €21. A tapas (potato salad) was brought, but, as we don't care for mayonnaise, not eaten. The server offered to bring another but we were full by then. We liked the service so well that we went back the next morning to pick up some churros, which they packed to go for us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“So good we went twice in two days.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a very good cafe/bar/restaurant with good food at reasonable prices available throughout the day and evening. We can especially recommend the Migas and the Pisto as traditional dishes, and for a different desert try the Naranja Nazari - fresh oranges with cinnamon and olive oil.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chicota also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Chicota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chicota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.