We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this opportunity!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Oil Tour

Olive Oil Tour
Canalon, 3, Bajo, 18657 Granada, Spain
+34 958 55 96 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 90 Activities in Granada
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the world of liquid gold in our wonderful tours! We'll pick you up and drop you off at your hotel in Granada, Lecrin Valley or Costa Tropical. Together with our English speaking guide, walking amongst majestic olive trees, experience the beautiful Andalusian countryside. After visiting a beautifully preserved 15th century olive oil mill in a charming white village, enjoy tasting and discovering the different characteristics of various olive oils. We will discuss with you the many health benefits and different culinary uses. In our specialized store you will find the best selection of olive oils, cosmetics made from organic extra virgin olive oil and related Andalusian products.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Kenmore, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss this opportunity!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was an amazing tour!! We had the best tour guide who made olive oil interesting :) I am an 18 year old female from the US and I never thought learning about olive oil could be so interesting. We got to go on a tour of olive "orchards," view how olive oil used to be made centuries ago in a small village, and then taste 5 different types of olive oil and learn about each of them. Our guides enthusiasm for what she was teaching really enhanced the tour and the small group size made it easy to ask questions. Don't miss this!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    17
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah, United States
1 review
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were in Granada at the beginning of August (not peak season for tourists), and we had a wonderful private tour with Violeta. Her English was superb, and she was very informative. We enjoyed learning about the various types of olive oil. It was also fascinating to see the process of making olive oil. Well worth our time and money. We would highly recommend this tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A relaxing, educational, and delicious afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

For anyone who would like to know more about olive oil, how it's made and what to look for, this tour is highly recommended. The tour is only a short drive outside of Granada (by tour van, driven by entertaining chauffeur Pablo) in the community of Nigüeles -- within about 20 minutes you're in olive groves with views of the Sierra Nevada as a backdrop. I was part of a small group - only 5 people - so we all could hear our very well-informed and enthusiastic tour guide, Beatriz, and clearly see what she was demonstrating, from olive and almond trees to centuries-old irrigation troughs to an ancient olive mill. Amazing to see the age-old labour-intensive practice of pressing olives, and to hear of recent changes to the process.

The tour culminated with olive oil tasting (accompanied by olives and fresh bread). This was very educational - I'll be careful with all future olive oil purchases! I also chose the optional wine tasting with tapas and this was great value for generous helpings of fine tapas and delicious wines and sherries, all with expert commentary.

I took quite a bit of time to photograph the old mill and to browse in the shop, and could have used even more time! Perhaps that's possible in the all-day tour (though overall I think a half-day tour is enough).

I purchased some olive oil to take home and wish I'd bought much more, along with some of the delicious wine and sherry. Next time I'll return with more space in my suitcase!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Learning Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A small group - 8 total in our case - so no one was far from the tour guide to hear all the information. After touring the very interesting 15 century olive mill, we got to taste five kinds of olive oil and some local wine which was enjoyable. The additional lunch (with additional charge of course) however, was nothing to write home about.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
“Blessings from the Gods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

An enlightening and gratifying experience not normally found on an organized tour!! I, the patriarch of a family of 8 (2 sons, daughter and spouses, and 2 grandchildren) and my lovely companion, Janet, thoroughly enjoyed each step of our visit to Niguelas pueblo and its amazing olive oil processing and presentation features. This entire adventure was carried out with enthusiasm and professionalism by Beatriz Arenas and her male co-hort/driver (with blond hair, blues eyes of Spanish-Dutch descent) who also added much interest and delight to the overall excursion!! He was very helpful at the Andalusian Meson at lunch, and at the scenic locale overlooking the Beznar Dam and beautiful Sierra Nevada mountains. Having traveled the world for 30-some years with the military, and having lived in Madrid six years (in the seventies), our adventures in and around Granada and the Andalusian countryside were a triumph............. Thank you, our hosts, most graciously, Richard M. Soncini- Hermann and family

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Oil Tour also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Olive Oil Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Oil Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.