We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alhambra view from the Rooftop Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Numero 8

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Numero 8
Save
You added El Numero 8 to your Saves list
Plaza Virgen del Carmen 8 | Albaicín, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Geraldton, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alhambra view from the Rooftop Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

El Numero Ocho ticked all the boxes for us. Perfect location, eco-friendly, clean, and self-contained apartments in a social setting. We met some great people also staying at El Ocho and hit some local Albayzin bars with them. The rooftop terrace was the perfect place to unwind with a drink after a day of sightseeing while looking out at the ancient Alhambra. The apartments are naturally very cool. We didn't need any cooling and it was 30 degrees outside. We drove into Granada and parked at Severo Ocho carpark as instructed on the website. The taxi up to the drop off point in the Albayzin was only €7. There is a communal mini bar in the central Patio with an honesty box system allowing you to purchase cold water, beer, milk, juice and wine. You can use the laundry for €3 per load. This place is perfect for independent travellers on a budget. Our apartment had everything we needed including Fair Trade ground coffee, salt, corkscrew, scissors, a portable CD player/radio with cable for iPods/iPhones and even a universal adaptor. We highly recommend this this place for your visit to Granada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
44
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I live in Barcelona but just spent a week in Granada in a place called El Ocho in the Albayzin area. Firstly, this district of Granada is amazing! All winding street and sleepy plazas. El Ocho matches the atmosphere perfectly. Really relaxed really authentic feel about it, views of the Alhambra from the terrace, just perfect! It is not exactly a hostal as it has self contained apartments which are great for a bit of extra privacy. One other thing, the Albayzin has almost zero noise all day and is in absolute silence at night (apart from the evening flamenco singing that drifts across from time to time) so you will sleep like a baby!
If you have been to Granada then go, and check out this little gem too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I selected this place based primarily on the reviews of others on this site, and I fully concur with what they said. This is an outstanding place, and I feel very good about spending my money to support a person of such integrity as the owner (Rafa; unfortunately, I never met his partner).

My partner and I stayed there for three days almost a month ago during the summer heat of Andalucia. In contrast to other places where we had stayed in the region, this one did not have A/C. However, in contrast to those other places, this one did not need it whatsoever. We never felt hot, and for only one short brief siesta after walking back in the hot afternoon spell, did we feel a need to use the portable fan in the bedroom (we stayed in Room 3 which is on the first floor and is en-suite). The bed was very comfortable, and the living room was cozy with a portable CD stereo player that I hooked up to an iPAD to allow for streamed music and news. The kitchen and bathroom were more than adequate for our needs.

As others also have noted, this place is in El Albayzín, which is an incredible neighborhood. After spending several days in Granada, I am not sure why any traveler would want to stay in any other neighborhood if the primary purpose is to experience the city and one is not limited in walking.

Others also already have commented about the amazing views of Alhambra from the rooftop terrace of this apartment. This benefit cannot be under-emphasized in understanding and enjoying Granada and Spain. An added bonus of this amenity is that we got to know Rafa and the other guests staying at this place, as it was part of everyone's evening routine. And, similar to a magnet, Rafa is pulling in a very interesting and diverse set of travelers.

Bottom line: this place is relatively cheap (due in large part to the social/environmental/political ethos of Rafa and his partner as they could probably charge much more), romantic, well located, comfortable, and magical.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

If staying in Granada, you must open all of your senses to truly experience this majestic city. El Numero 8, allows for this. The location is one of the many things that allows for this. Located in the Albazin (the old moorish neighborhood) you immediately are taken back in time and the experience begins. Yes, you will climb hills and cobblestone streets to get to El Numero 8, but it's part of the experience. I will concur with the other reviewers, if your not able to climb stairs, or wish not to walk uphill then this might not be for you. I stayed in apt. 5 which was the smallest, but the accommodations had everything you would need for a short stay. The bathroom outside of the room wasn't an inconvenience like I thought it would be. You do have to place toilet tissue in bins, as the plumbing is old in this section of town (it's not as bad as it sounds...). Rafa, is a gracious and accommodating host who is more than willing to help you while on you're visit. He will meet you at a destination which is easy to get to by cab. I came to Granada by bus and from the bus station to the destination point it was only 5-6 euros. The rooftop terrence is a wonderful bonus. Wonderful place to sit in the evenings, gaze up at the Alhambra and enjoy a bottle of Spanish wine. Enjoy and open up your senses. This is something that the guide books leave out, but is imperative in order to fully experience Granada.

-Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My friends and I stayed in two of these funky, no-frills apartments on our last fews days of our Spain vacation in June 2012. We sought a place to relax, to have a more authentic experience of the Albayzín district of Granada, to be located within minutes of key sights (see below for details), a good value, with a friendly host and quiet neighbors. We found our dream in El Numero 8!

The host - although there is no 24 front desk, Rafa was very accommodating, informative, direct - informing us about the quirks of the apartment (it is a green environment with ancient sewer systems as others have noted), sharing about workshops of local artists (see Jewelry below), and to chat about the nature of Granadian (shops don't open until 10 - 11 am, they have a long siesta on hot days, then they open around 6-7 pm for the evening).

The terrace - a lovely view awaits you from the terraced rooftop! The Alhambra is beautifully lit at night and glows at sunset. During the morning hours, when it is still cool, I heard so many birds singing that I imagine dozens of species abounded. The Albayzín is alive! At night, the neighboring houses and apartments come alive with the voices of lively gatherings, tho the noise can be shut out while in your room, it was fun to hear all the local action while sitting on the terrace on a warm night.

The apartments - the structure includes 5 apartments and Rafa's apartment and is much like a traditional Moroccan Dar or a Moroccan Riad, but without an atrium garden. The apartments are built around a small atrium and all but apt #5 have an en suite bathroom. All that little kitchens. Both #2 (2nd floor) and #4 (1st floor) had a bedroom off the living room and the living rooms had couches that can be made out into an additional bed. #2 had an air conditioning unit, but we never used it - Granada is at a higher elevation and the nights cooled off nicely - we only used the oscillating fan and the open window to cool off during the siesta. I had the best night's sleep of my entire 2 week vacation here at El Numero 8, it was that comfortable and relaxing. No pillow top beds with feather comforters here, but it was clean and had a funky charm that made us feel right at home.

Key Sights to not miss: the Albayzín itself, including the shops and Carmens around the Mirador de San Nicolas; the Alhambra (reserve before 1 pm to maximize), Plaza Nueva (tourist restaurants, the Hammam Al Andalus spa, the Moroccan shops and restaurants of Calle de la Calderería Nueva and Cuesta Marañas. Another gem location we found on wandering was the Plaza San Miguel el Bajo, with a great modern tapas restaurant - El Aji.

Jewelery - at Rafa's recommendation we went to the main street behind the Cathedral Iglesia del Salvador, just north east of the Mirador de San Nicolas, and found three shops including TWO great artists actually making jewelry at the time! They did works of art and jewelry from metals and glass. A lot of fabulous with prices were under 30 Euro a piece - visit the street Cuesa del Chapiz to visit the artist workshops of Unk and Reez, especially.

Granada was so magical, and El Numero 8 enhanced our experience with its unique, funky, eclectic charm!

Room Tip: Email Rafa to discuss your needs - he was raised on the US so is very easy to talk to about the acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a very unique place to stay. It has a nice cozy feel to it, and the hosts, Carmen & Rafa are very friendly and helpful. The upstairs patio is unbelievable, with the views of the Alhambra at night. The apt is in the most interesting part of town, and is within walking distances of most major attractions nearby. Carmen met us at the pick-up point and got us oriented so we could find our way back to the apt by ourselves. We were in apt #4 which faces the street. It’s dark and cool inside, but that is appreciated when it is 30C+ outside. The apt is small but functional. The kitchen has what is needed to prepare meals in it, and the sleeping area is very quiet as it faces the inner courtyard. We found the place to be very authentic for the neighborhood and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana, Spain
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at El Número 8 for five nights last week whilst attending a course in Granada. A traditional Arab house built on two storeys around a central patio, has been divided into six units, one of which provides the owners’ accommodation, and the other five have been converted into small, self-catering apartments. As you would expect of a substantially medieval property, rooms are small and plainly decorated. The apartments are equipped with everything that you need and Rafa and Carmen, the owners are warm and welcoming, eager to make your stay an enjoyable one. The welcome begins when you are greeted at the meeting point on the edge of this pedestrian zone, by Rafa who then guides you down the steep, narrow streets to your accommodation; he also then takes you further along the street to indicate the route down into the centre of town, and the signs to follow to get back to El Número 8. I enjoyed my stay and will certainly go back. Before you decide whether it is right for you, there are one or two things you should know. Firstly, the Albaicín district is built on the steep side of the valley beneath La Alhambra.You will have to do a lot of steep climbing up or down the streets, as there is no way you can get transport to the door. Secondly, this is a medieval district with plumbing (especially disposal of waste waters) to match; the small bore of the pipes means that soiled toilet paper has to be placed in a bin in the bathroom, and NOT down the toilet which cannot cope with any paper, and would block. If you are of a delicate or sensitive disposition in these matters, El Número 8 is probably not for you. Thirdly, I have a blog in which I have just written about the Albaicín and which can give you extra information; you’ll find it at http://payasorujubilado.blogspot.com

Room Tip: All rooms face onto a central patio. The area is a quiet oasis away from the crowds of Granada. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Numero 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Numero 8

Address: Plaza Virgen del Carmen 8 | Albaicín, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Numero 8 is not a typical hotel. It is a traditional casa de vecinos separated into separate apartments located in the Ancient Moorish area of Granada, the Albayzin. It is also our home that we share with travelers. It is a very tranquil place to stay and we ask our guests to come with respect for the house and for the neighborhood which is all pedestrian and very quiet for being right in the center of the city of Granada. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Numero 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.