We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Partying at Apartmentos El Granado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Granado

Save Saved
You added El Granado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Granado
Calle Conde de Tendillas 7, 180 02 Granada, Spain (Centro - Sagrario)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PRICE PROMISE-BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #4 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Partying at Apartmentos El Granado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were two senior couples staying at El Grando and had a great time. We were a little nonplussed when we saw our apartment as we thought we had a two bedroom apartment. It turned out to be a one bedroom apartment with an ensuite and a fold down bed in the lounge room. Not really keen on having to go though someone's bedroom to visit the bathroom. However along the hall there were two bathrooms and no one staying in the dorms they serviced so we almost had one bathroom each. Worked out well. It was more like a backpackers than a hotel but it was really good. Fabulous position. Lovely roof top terrace. The help-yourself- breakfast in the common room was pretty ordinary but we had so much great Tapas (mosting free) when we were in Granada that it didn't matter too much. We are not great big breakfast eaters anyway. The staff were soooo friendly and helpful. Very young, cheerful and accommodating. Carried our big bags up two flights of stairs with a smile. WiFi wasn't great, especially in the apartment but managed to keep in touch with home and write my blog from the common room. All in all would stay there again, absolutely. Also Granada ia a fabulous place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
53
39
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The staff is friendly and really helpful, the rooms and common bathrooms are very clean.
It was a great experience staying there and I would definitely recommend it to everybody!

El personal es muy amable, el ambiente es acogedor y las habitaciones son muy limpias!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 2-night stay in one of El Granado's apartments. Clean, comfortable, and we loved the exposed beams in the ceiling. The location is very convenient for walking around the city center or getting the bus to the Alhambra and the 2 receptionists we met were friendly and helpful. We parked our car in a parking garage just 2 blocks away for a reasonable price (10€ for 24 hours for hotel clients). "Buts" would be the breakfast, which consists of packaged white bread, margarine and not-very-good jam, or corn flakes or choco-somethings; there is milk and coffee or tea (including green tea or chamomile) plus a couple of cartons of orange juice, but that's it, no crusty or whole grain bread, no fruit, no biscuits, no yogurt or anything like that. One other reviewer mentioned that things could be a little more clearly explained (what you can use, what not) and I'd agree. The other "but" is that there was a faint smell in the apartment like the smell from the plumbing system--not strong, but present. They said they'd look into it, and although I have a keen sense of smell I was not very bothered by it, but it was there. Overall, we really liked our stay there and would undoubtedly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I visited in January 2012, with two other friends. We thought the location was great, iin walking distance to all major sights. We had triple-bunk bed room which was lots of fun, if not a little scary getting upto top bunk (that was me!) Spotless rooms, very modern and sleek The common area with kitchen was a great space to cook food at your leisure and chat to other travellers. The staff were great, as well. I actually lost my phone in the hostel, I left it on the top bunk as it was too high I didn't check properly. The cleaners found it and they posted it back to me. I was very grateful to them. It was a great experience staying here would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

About the best hostal I have stayed stayed at. The rooms and common bathrooms are very clean. The kitchen is excellent , with artfully preserved 11th Century walls and beams that look like something you would see at a boutique hotel than a budget hostal.

All of the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The location is good and as was the price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hostel is very neat and clean, looks brand new. The staff is friendly and helpful. The kitchen's got everything you need, tea at any time, that's good.
I missed like a chill out area. I guess when you can stay outside it might be different, but during winter time, there's only the kitchen to hang out, which is not the best for me to relax or to socialize with other travelers.
About the location, the hostel is easy to find, in a quiet street in the center, 5 min walk from the train station which is quite good. I sure prefer the Albaicin area, so this may depend on you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very nice and cool staff, especially the owner. The day I arrived he went over the city map with me and recommended how to best hit all the main sights, and drew out a walking tour through the Albaicin which turned out to be excellent. It's in a good location, not too far from the central attractions but still hidden away in a narrow back street so not too much noise.

The whole place is very neat and clean. The rooms, bathrooms, common area, all immaculate and for a hostel I was extremely impressed as it was clean like a hotel room. The hostel is well maintained overall, like you're in someone's house.

It's a quiet hostel and noise is discouraged, but there's no curfew and the staff know all the good places to go out at night. Besides if you're young, Granada is a student town, enough said. The rooftop terrace was good too.

I really can't recommend this place enough. It's not too big and has a pleasant vibe. For the cost it can't be beat.

Cons: A lot of stairs (this is a vertical building), weak wifi signal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Granado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Granado

Address: Calle Conde de Tendillas 7, 180 02 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to El Granado: New stories within medieval walls El Granado is located right in the center of Granada, within walking distance of all that Granada has to offer. **TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011** We offer comfortable rooms, friendly service, free WIFI, heating, warm water showers and TV. El Granado's ground floor and half of the second floor is from Nasrid period (13th -15th century). Staying in this charming property, in the heart of Granada, definitely makes for a different and unique experience. El Granado is the perfect choice for a family, a group of friends or couples or looking for new friends and experiences. It is also more affordable than a hotel. Five minutes from the Cathedral El Granado is located right in the centre of Granada, with walking distance to all that Granada has to offer, historical monuments, shops, nightlife, as well as to all the university departments located in the centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your El Granado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Granado Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Granado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.