We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and warm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Granado

Save Saved
You added El Granado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Granado
Calle Conde de Tendillas 7, 180 02 Granada, Spain (Centro - Sagrario)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PRICE PROMISE-BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #4 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
Granada, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and warm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hostel is very neat and clean, looks brand new. The staff is friendly and helpful. The kitchen's got everything you need, tea at any time, that's good.
I missed like a chill out area. I guess when you can stay outside it might be different, but during winter time, there's only the kitchen to hang out, which is not the best for me to relax or to socialize with other travelers.
About the location, the hostel is easy to find, in a quiet street in the center, 5 min walk from the train station which is quite good. I sure prefer the Albaicin area, so this may depend on you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
53
39
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very nice and cool staff, especially the owner. The day I arrived he went over the city map with me and recommended how to best hit all the main sights, and drew out a walking tour through the Albaicin which turned out to be excellent. It's in a good location, not too far from the central attractions but still hidden away in a narrow back street so not too much noise.

The whole place is very neat and clean. The rooms, bathrooms, common area, all immaculate and for a hostel I was extremely impressed as it was clean like a hotel room. The hostel is well maintained overall, like you're in someone's house.

It's a quiet hostel and noise is discouraged, but there's no curfew and the staff know all the good places to go out at night. Besides if you're young, Granada is a student town, enough said. The rooftop terrace was good too.

I really can't recommend this place enough. It's not too big and has a pleasant vibe. For the cost it can't be beat.

Cons: A lot of stairs (this is a vertical building), weak wifi signal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We had a slight problem getting there, since one of the main streets was under construction. We took an apartment within the hotel. It was a nice place to stay, nice furnished and large. There was a public garage not so far away where the hotel guests have a special price.
The room was just next to the main entrance and the main door was rather loud during the night and people were talking at 2-3 a.m. like it was 10 a.m.
In the kitchen/ dining room there was a nice atmosphaire. Selfservice, but it was not that clear what should one take. We did not see any stuff there to ask. I made a coffee in the filter coffee machine and we just took a toast with marmelade and some juice. Not a big problem, but I would prefer if I got some explanation. I am not sure I would return there. Maybe only cause the price was ok. But I was awake a half of the night we spent there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The rooms are extremely clean, the common area is well maintained. Quiet street just a few minutes away from the city center. The owners are welcoming and provide you with the best advice. The kitchen has a fridge and offers the possibility to cook. Free internet in the common rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my friend - it was great. We had a 3 bed dorm and where greeted with friendly staff in a very clean hostel with a great vibe. The price was extremely cheap and I cannot speak more highly of this hostel, it is located right in the centre of Granada, easy to walk to all the local areas including the Alhambra. Hostel includes free wii fi, lockers, plenty of bathrooms. There are a number of activities run out of the hostel which include walking tours, bike tours, horse riding. I strongly recommend going along with one of the hostel staff on this trip - I had a blast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Rented an apartment for 4 in July 12, lovely old traditional building with an inner courtyard. Apartment was good mix of modern with old beamed ceilings. Air conditioning a hugh bonus. Lovely roof terrace where we had a BBQ - common room downstairs with internet access if needed. Staff excellent, Freddie was a font of knowledge, all very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast very basic, but after the first morrning we just took extras. Would most definatly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here with couple of friends in May, 2012.
Positives:
- Goodness in the cozy atmosphere that the place has, an antidote to big Corporate hotels.
- Beautifully decorated room with lovely arched wooden ceiling.
- Excellent staff, exceptionally helpful, very friendly. Made this place a home away from home.
- Good breakfast spread, its a help yourself and clean after you eat concept, we loved it.
- Located is in the middle of the city, so perfect.
- Perfectly in sync with the nature of the city.
- Free wifi which worked very well.
- At a very reasonable price, added to the charm

Negatives-
- None

Would definitely come back and stay again, but this time for more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: No lift, so if you can't pick up your luggage, ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Granado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Granado

Address: Calle Conde de Tendillas 7, 180 02 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to El Granado: New stories within medieval walls El Granado is located right in the center of Granada, within walking distance of all that Granada has to offer. **TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011** We offer comfortable rooms, friendly service, free WIFI, heating, warm water showers and TV. El Granado's ground floor and half of the second floor is from Nasrid period (13th -15th century). Staying in this charming property, in the heart of Granada, definitely makes for a different and unique experience. El Granado is the perfect choice for a family, a group of friends or couples or looking for new friends and experiences. It is also more affordable than a hotel. Five minutes from the Cathedral El Granado is located right in the centre of Granada, with walking distance to all that Granada has to offer, historical monuments, shops, nightlife, as well as to all the university departments located in the centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your El Granado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Granado Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Granado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.