We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almona

Save Saved
You added Hotel Almona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Almona
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle de la Almona Vieja 10, 18002 Granada, Spain (Centro - Sagrario)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Its a very ordinary hotel but gives one of the best value for money. We paid around Eur37 per night for this hotel which I think is great deal. the room size is good. Bathrooms were clean - the toilet supplies provided were also good.

the room had steps in between which was slightly weird. we got a room in the 4th floor; we had to take a lift to the third floor and then climb the stairs for the fourth. they lock the entrance to the hotel and give all the guests a key to the front door. these things are quite weird and does not usually happen in hotels.

otherwise, its pretty great. the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Previous reviewers have commented on location, and this place has it. Ten minutes to the cathedral and the minibus that will take you to the Alhambra (for 1.20 Euros per person). Fifteen minutes (at the most) to the central part of Albaicin for food and shopping. Staff spoke little or no English, and the hotel is hard (very hard) to find. But the staff was incredibly nice and helpful from day 1. And fast and free Wi-fi (a must for us).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

It's not so easy to find this hotel because of lack of signs, and it's very hard to drive and park around it, but once you find it you can enjoy a peaceful stay. Staff is nice, rooms are big enough for a comfy stay and are clean. Location is quite good, city center is reachable with a 20 mins stroll through old streets. Eating is very easy thanks to a tapas-bar just in front of the hotel. Breakfast is not provided instead.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Location of the hotel was great although initially struggled to find. The two bars outside the hotel were fantastic. Although the staff did not speak any english they were still helpful. Discounted parking round the corner was very much needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Nice, friendly, good value for money, not that much of English spoken but still…with Italian we managed quite well :-)

We were enchanted by the kindness, knowledge and friendliness that the staff ladies had which made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

So as the title suggests we had a very tough time finding this place with our car. Even with a map, directions or GPS nothing would have helped us find it- but not due to the hotel, rather due to the construction taking place in downtown Granada. Due to the construction and the rotating directional flows on different streets, the hotel staff weren't even able to direct us to them from our location. Anyways, we eventually made it to a gas station, where the patient and kind staff helped us out. When we made it to the Almona, we then knew we were HOME finally!!!!

Once we unloaded our luggage and checked in, it was off to park the car in the nearby municipal parking garage which gave us a reduced parking rate since we were staying at the Almona. Any parking spot in Granada is well worth every single EURO that you pay for it (I think that we paid 10Euros/ day). At the parking spot, you hand over the keys to the parking experts and we gladfully let them park the car. Once the car was parked we walked everywhere in Granada and picked up the car after check out.

The hotel is owned by a family and sisters tend to the reception. We were charmed by the attentiveness, knowledge and general Andalusian attitude that these ladies had which made us feel welcome and at home. They were helpful in determining how best to maximize our time in Granada especially in determining the timing of departure from the hotel with our Alhambra entrance times. I particularily appreciated their recommendations with respect to different flamenco shows and their invaluable assistance in finding a nearby laundry facility ( about a 7 minute walk away, very reasonably priced and efficient service- 9 EUROS for a load of laundry in an hour).

We walked through the welcoming patio to get to the entrance to the family suite. Which consisted of 2 single beds in one room and another adjoining room with a double bed. The bathroom was small but served its purpose. The television in the room did not work, but frankly who cares we were in Granada returning late anyways and the hotel was strictly for sleeping!!!!!

Having 2 separate beds was ideal for the children's sleeping arrangements (girl 11 and boy 13) and the kids were thrilled to have an indoor patio to lounge about in.

Due to the hotel being in an older building you could hear the plumbing and people talking but the rooms were so dark at night that we all slept very peacefully just the same. The free wifi worked great too!!!!

We loved the location of the hotel and being able to easily walk about the city and get acquainted and familiar with Granada this way.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, Lancs, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

If you are looking for simple, no frills accommodation at a reasonable price this will do.Room basic but clean. No restaurant or bar but plenty close by. Staff attentive enough but no English spoken.
The location is tucked away in one of Granada's many winding streets. Well located for some minor attractions and only 10 minutes walk from the Cathedral. Head towards Einstein Place for some no nonsense bars. Open late and well priced.
All in all a good choice for a short stay on a limted budget.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Almona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almona

Address: Calle de la Almona Vieja 10, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Almona 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Almona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.