We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar Montes Claros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Solar Montes Claros to your Saves list
Solar Montes Claros
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Albayzin | Montes Claros 13, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We drove to Granada and parked in Neptuno - very easy to find and park . We called Julio and he sent a taxi to collect us. The hotel is lovely and the bedrooms are beautiful. We stayed in the Persia room and had an amazing view of the Alhambra from the bed - a great sight to wake up to. We didn't use the bath but the shower was fantastic.
Julio was extremely helpful with restaurant and flamenco recommendations which were all fantastic.
The hotel is well located to explore the Albaicin area and only a 20 minute walk to the Alhambra.
The courtyard is lovely if you have time for relax - we didn't!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    23
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
209
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We drove to Granada from Ronda. The day before we left, our host contacted us to get our estimated arrival time. He offered to arrange a pick up from our public parking lot when we got there. However, when we arrived in Granada, parked our car and called him, we got voicemail. We took a cab to the establishment. To our surprise, the taxi fare, including a luggage charge, was cheaper than what our host had quoted.

The room was great. We shared a king sized bed, a sunken tub and a separate shower. All the rooms had middle eastern/arab names. We were in the Persian room.

The service went downhill after that. We had to ask for the wi-fi code. It's not provided in the room. The host wrote it on a scrap of paper and gave it to us. We figured out that to turn on the power in the room, you have to put the keyholder into a power slot. The host neglected to tell us that (I figured that out because I had a similar situation in a hotel 30 yrs ago). Finally, on the day we checked out the host was nowhere to be found. We left the room keys on his kitchen table, took our bags out to the street and hailed a cab. NEVER AGAIN!


Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontesClarosGranada, Propietario at Solar Montes Claros, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Please allow me to respond to the points that you raise in relation to our guesthouse and the service we offer.

The shuttle service that we offer our clients is a personalized service, and as such is in no way comparable to that provided by a taxi hailed on the street. Our driver makes his way to the chosen meeting point and with his name on a sign, will await the arrival of our guests who then have the peace of mind of a known contact from the moment they set foot in Granada. He further helps load your luggage, ferries you in a luxury estate car, guides you to our guesthouse and helps carry any and all luggage to and from the front door. In essence, a VIP treatment offered to all our guests for a symbolic fee.

As you will have experienced yourself, our guesthouse is equipped with two Wifi routers that work together in order for the guests in all our rooms to benefit from a free internet connection whenever they need it.
The Wifi connection passwords are clearly indicated on the welcome card that is located in each and every room.

With regards to our energy saving efforts, we do indeed have a card system in place that automatically cuts the electricity once a guest leaving a room removes it. Our objective with this simple yet efficient system is to optimize energy use throughout the guesthouse and reduce electricity consumption. Granted, it is not the most state-of-the-art energy-saving system out there, but it is one of a number of initiatives that we have taken to run a conscientious business, mindful of its impact on the environment. As a result of our efforts we have been awarded a Gold Level certification under TripAdvisor’s own Green Leaders Program that identifies hotels and B&Bs committed to green practices.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/GreenLeaders

Our establishment is a small family-run guesthouse, benefiting from six bedrooms and a personalized concierge service from 8am until 8pm, every day. We also provide our guests with a mobile phone number that allows them to contact us directly at any time of day (and night) should the need be.

Nonetheless, I do want to thank you for the positive comments and praise you gave us for the bedroom that accommodated you during your stay; although we are naturally disappointed that this did not translate into a fairer assessment and a better rating than the terrible one that you gave our guesthouse overall. Hopefully, you will exercise a little more coherence when dispensing future critiques and ratings.

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in the unique gem that is our solar MontesClaros guesthouse, such as it has been valued and recognized by the vast majority of guests that we have had the pleasure of welcoming here.

Yours sincerely,

Julio Alejandre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

era un placer quedar en Solar Montes Claros. El ambiente de la casa, la comida, todo era increible. Quando regresamos en Granada, nos quedamos aqui . 100% seguro.

This was one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. Granada is magical and this place adds to the charm. what a beautiful home , beautiful rooms, and gracious host. We loved it and will return

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

As the taxi dropped us off and told us to go up some stairs and down the street, I began to wonder if I made a mistake. But once we found the door and were inside, all of the great things I saw online came to life. The patio overlooking Alhambra is amazing. The room decor is wonderful. Breakfast was great with some local items to add to our experiences.

I gave it a 3 for location even with it's amazing view because it is hard to find and a bit of a walk into town. It is a 15 minute walk to the heart of town which for us was no big deal. They will arrange for a taxi and I would use that to help you find the place.

I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

2 Adults 3 kids stayed herei in 2 rooms June 2014 - Ben couldn't have been more helpful - organising taxis and local advice. The bedrooms are furnished in old Moorish style which makes for an enchanting experience. Great view of the Alhambra & 10min stroll to centre along the river. Nice healthy breakfast and great coffee. Thanks again Ben

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in early June during a 2 week trip through Spain; in hindsight it was our favorite hotel. As other have said, the view is unparalleled, the rooms charming and the bed was wonderful.

Advice: I didn't keep up on my emails while in Spain and didn't realize that you cannot drive to the hotel; don't even try! Once we figured this out we called the hotel and were instructed to park in a downtown parking lot and take a taxi to the hotel (now I've read we could have parked at the bus station for free, live and learn). This ended up taking more time that we anticipated and we were very late to check in; our host Ben was very concerned about our safe arrival and called a couple times to see how we were navigating the directions and kindly waited for us. He suggested a restaurant down the the street, Mirador de Morayma, which was fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a heavenly place is Solar Montes Claros. I had a gorgeous room on the top floor with a magic view of the Alhambra. The room itself had the perfect balance of character and warmth without clutter. The bed was extremely comfortable and to wake up and step out onto the balcony with its to die for view was divine. Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, warm bread and fabulous coffee. Service was faultless. Location was perfect, a lovely walk to the main town/sites and a hop skip and a jump to excellent eateries in the Albaycin. My only complaint was not having enough time at Solar Montes Claros. Next time will be longer as it's the kind of place that you would want to linger in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solar Montes Claros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Montes Claros

Address: Albayzin | Montes Claros 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Solar Montes Claros 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse Solar Montes Claros is located in the heart of the Albayzin, the old arab quarter in Granada. Perched on a hillside overlooking the city, this neighbourhood has preserved its Andalusian cultural heritage. It boasts unique views that can be enjoyed from the tranquility of its timeless streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solar Montes Claros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Montes Claros Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar Montes Claros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.