We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely has the WOW factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar Montes Claros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solar Montes Claros to your Saves list
Solar Montes Claros
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Albayzin | Montes Claros 13, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #2 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Suffolk, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Definitely has the WOW factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the middle of October with wonderful warm weather and clear blue skies - perfect for a visit to this wonderful city.
We organised the stay with help from Antonio - a great help with parking directions and suggestions for a place to see real flamenco for the local aficionados rather than tourists. More about that later.
We stayed in the Saba suite - the photos don't do it justice. The view of the Alhambra and the old city is breathtaking - and you can do it lying in bed!! Good bed and pillows - my only problem was that the loo is downstairs from the bedroom. But this is probably only a problem for blokes of a certain age:). There's a fridge with beer, water and a couple of bottles of wine and the cost is reasonable although we bought some of our own on the way.
The whole building is beautiful and in a great location - just a short stroll or bus ride from everywhere you might wish to go. Breakfast was fruit, fresh squeezed Oj toast and cake - really nice.

But do remember that there's a lot of uphill walking and cobblestones - you will really want some comfy shoes and to use the buses.

Things to do :
book your visit to the Alhambra before you go. Don't worry about the time of your visit to the palace since you can go around the gardens and the fort beforehand anyway so no need to get the time very early.
Ask Antonio for ideas for flamenco - we went to the nearby Pena La Plateria restaurant that hosts a club for local flamenco fans but only has shows occasionally.
Get a Bonos Bus pass to ride the buses around the city - buses 30, 31 and 35 take you around the town. All tickets can be bought on the bus as long as the note isn't too big. Use the 35 bus to travel to Sacromonte and visit the cave museum.

Enjoy yourself in the bars with the really friendly locals.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
218
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This B&B was absolutely gorgeous. Even though we were traveling with our 3 year- old we managed to have a "romantic" stay. This is definitely a place for couples. You can rest and relax very comfortably after a busy day of sightseeing. The place is not as close to the Alhambra as we expected but you can definitely walk to main areas. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Solar Montes Claros
Solar Montes Claros is situated in a renovated old house in Albayzin. My room, Fenicia, had a spectacular view. You will see the Al Hambra complex (also amazing at night!) and the district of Albayzin with the wonderful white houses. The room however was quite small and for a solo traveler it was alright but for a couple there is not much space. I am not a fan of a curtain in the shower (curtain was a bit dirty) and there are no bathroom amenities (!). There was only a dispenser in the shower. The sign on the dispenser said it was shower gel from L'occitane but I am almost certain that this was not L'occitane (I know this brand quite well). There is no television in the room and it is nice and quiet in the house (with only Buddha bar music in the corridors during day time). The interior of the rooms and the complex is fantastic and the owner really did his utmost to create a nice atmosphere.

The complex is not easy to find but they offer a taxi upon arrival for free from the railway of bus station (only upon arrival). The house is situated on a hill in Albayzin and therefore you need a good condition but you can take a mini bus from Plaza Neuva (bus 31 and 35). From the bus stop it is a 5 minute walk uphill. Also in the house there are many stairs and therefore the complex is not suitable for disabled people or elderly. Breakfast is served from 8.30 till 10.00 in the breakfast room downstairs and breakfast is very basic and simple.

Granada
I would not recommend to hire a car. Granada is undoable by car. Only taxi drivers are allowed in the city center due to the narrow Streets and the huge amount of people. Driving can be dangerous. A perfect way to go to Granada is by bus. From every big city in the area there are busses to Granada. In 1,5 hour you will be in Granada from Malaga. Book your bus in advance via internet because it can be quite busy (Alsa.es). Two nights in Granada is perfect. For Al Hambra you will need 3 hours at least and do not forget to reserve tickets via internet otherwise you might be refused to enter the complex due to the limited amount of people that can enter Al Hambra. During my two days in Granada it was fully booked. Al Hambra is fantastic but very touristic. I would advise people to go very very early or in the late afternoon otherwise it is too busy or too hot.
I did a segway tour of 2 hours. During the tour you will visit the old arab disctrict Albayzin and the gypsy district Sacromonte. I can really recommend this tour because you will hear a lot about the history of the two districts and the guide will bring you to wonderful places where the average tourist will not come. I can also recommend the Segway tour because of the steep hills. If you do the same tour by walk you will be exhausted escpecially if the sun is shining.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed with Robert/Antonio at this quaint B&B in Granada and loved our stay there. The location in the Albaicin/Sacramonte area is great, away from the tourist heavy Puerta Nuevo area. The views of the Alhambra from our bedroom was the icing on the cake. Robert was great at marking out his fave things to do and tapas bars to eat at, which was extremely helpful. The bus stops for 31/35 are a 2 min walk from Montes Claros and can take you into town or further into Albaicin/Sacramonte areas.
As another reviewer pointed out, they accept only cash so be prepared. Also, the way to Solar Montes Claros is a little steep and becomes a little difficult if you're recovering from a broken leg (as my wife was).

We loved our stay here and would highly recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The ground floors have a nice little sit-out area for chilling with some wine. But the upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Solar Montes Claros. The views of the palace are beautiful, the rooms are nice and Antonio was very accommodating to our travel needs. The hotel is a bit difficult to find the first time so I highly recommend contacting Antonio beforehand so that he can arrange a car to pick you up. This worked very well for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent a memorable 3 nights here in early October and the TA reviews didn't let us down. A lovely B&B with great service, including the complementary pick up by taxi from the bus station. Loved this place, brilliant location, great breakfast and very comfortable rooms. Robert who was on duty when we stayed, was most helpful with advice and printing out forms if needed.
One thing: be aware that they don't take credit cards so you may need to take a hefty withdrawal from the ATM if you stay a few days and some banks only let you withdraw a maximum of 300 euro a day. Take plenty of cash!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We so enjoyed our 5 nights at this B&B. We were expected and picked up at the airport upon arrival. We had the Persia room which is excellent. We had a direct view of the Alhambra from our king size bed. Imagine going to sleep and waking up everyday with such a view. Wow! Antonio is a great host and most helpful. He went out of his way to help tracking our lost luggage from our flight and was always available to answer questions. The breakfast was delightful and plentiful. This is the type of B&B that provides great memories. Situated at the foot of the Albaycin, next to Sacromonte, it is close to the bus and is a short walk to Plaza Nueva. Because of the stairs within the B&B and the steep incline to get to the door, it may not be for those with mobility issues. However it is worth climbing those stairs. After all you are in a unique and beautiful environment. The Albaycin is a world heritage site.
We could not have been happier to visit Granada from this superb B&B.

Room Tip: The Persia room for a romantic environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solar Montes Claros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Montes Claros

Address: Albayzin | Montes Claros 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Solar Montes Claros 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse Solar Montes Claros is located in the heart of the Albayzin, the old arab quarter in Granada. Perched on a hillside overlooking the city, this neighbourhood has preserved its Andalusian cultural heritage. It boasts unique views that can be enjoyed from the tranquility of its timeless streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Solar Montes Claros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Montes Claros Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar Montes Claros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.