We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Velero Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Velero Apartments to your Saves list
El Velero Apartments
1.0 of 5 Villa   |   C/ Centurion y Cordoba, 3, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fine time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

stayed at these apartments end september/october and found them to be perfectly adequate. we were lucky to be in the middle apartment overlooking the pool, which was spacious and bright with a large living area/kitchenette area and seperate bedroom with balcony both with floor to ceiling windows. kitchen was fine although no kettle , but there was a coffee maker. no oven either but microwave was a double oven/grill. we found the location very good as it was"up the hill" a few yards from all the bars restaurants and shops and probably found more around the town than being on the beach. perfectly good ,clean residence which did offer value for money so i can recommend this. free wifi a bonus but please beware if going in summer there is no air con!

Room Tip: corner suits have larger balcony which seem to get the sun longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SPb
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed there in February 2012 and got a huge 2 rooms apartment for a very reasonable price! It was nice, clean, big balcony with a table, kitchen had all necessary equipment, fridge, electric stove, kettle.
Furniture is rather old, but I think for a 2* Hotel it's acceptable. In winter they switch heating on in the morning around 9 a.m. and in the evening after sunset. So it could be kinda cold if you get up too early, like around 7 a.m. or so, but otherwise it was pretty warm.
It's a bit of a walk to the nearest beach, which wasn't actually important in winter, but if you're going in summer keep this in mind, the pool is rather small and there is not much space around it. Bus stop is pretty close - 5 min. walk or less, train station is also nearby, and there are 2 big supermarkets Mercadona and Carrefour less than 5 min. walk from the apartment. So it's very good choice if you're planning travelling a lot by bus or train. Probably not so good if your goal is mostly beach and swimming.
WiFi worked just fine in our rooms and it's free, which is a big plus for Costa del Sol accommodation.
Not everyone of the staff speaks English, it wasn't a problem for us though. There are after all staff members who speak English well, and if they're not around knowing some very basic Spanish words and phrases will help.

To sum it up, I think, it's better to keep in mind that it is a very good basic accommodation for active tourists, who don't spend all day in or around their hotel. We loved staying at El Velero, there was everything we needed and for a very good price, so I'd totally stay there again if I come back to Torremolinos.

Room Tip: corner rooms to the right are spacious and have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torremolinos
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Staff most friendly, location very good. Rooms spacious and clean although modest. All in all well worth the money. Lack of air condition a minus when it is hot, this time not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogaska Slatina, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed there in july 2011. The apartment was big (there were five of us staying there) and very clean. Fresh towels every day. The kitchen was small, not as many utensils as we would like to have, but we managed to cook anyway. It was a nice walk to the beach, but I guess would be a little too long with small children. The beach was beautiful, big waves. We shopped in Mercadona, prices are lower than in other shops. The food in the restaurants is expensive. We found the location good for the evening walks to the center of Torremolinos, which is a very beautiful town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

In the hotel we had 13 nights in late September. The hotel is very good quality. You can give it even a 3 *. Very spacious rooms, very clean. We occupied a corner room, it nomra 105,205,305 ... These rooms are very spacious. This room has a small kitchen with electric stove, microwave and coffee maker. The beds are comfortable, but short. Refrigerators. There is one pot, one pan, one ladle, cutlery, cups, glasses and stemware. If you need another pan, you can ask to retsepshen. Daily cleaning service, this happens rarely. Linen and towels are changed every other day. The hotel has a swimming pool. The hotel is located close to everything within a radius of 600 m bus terminal, the area of ​​Europe and the area of ​​Andalusia, La Nagalera St. and San Miguel, the station from which trains to the airport in 11 minutes and then to Malaga is 12 minutes drive away. Near the bus stop, which runs from Malaga in Torremolinos Benalmodem. Go down to the sea 10 minutes on the street, and you can climb the stairs to 5 minutes. You can go up in the elevator for a fee. Near many inexpensive restaurants and cafes within 300 meters supermarket Mercadona. Located in a very quiet side street, despite being close to all the rave places.

The downside is that there is no air conditioning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the El Velero apts second week Sept 2012. On our late arrival we were met at reception by a gentleman who spoke no English. We had our keys for room 101 which overlooked a large type bungalow which I later learned was an Evangelical church, the balcony overlooked a side road with no views.
Around 4am whilst trying to sleep the I sensed a resonating sound coming through the bedroom, a low hum for around 7 seconds then a clunk. It would stop for a minute and restart.
Chinese torture ! I went to investigate and I found out there was a mechanical fault with the water boiler. I made a complaint and was told I could see the manager 24 hours later on Monday morning, Another night of this ! Monday morning arrived, chat with the boss, very apologetic, no spare rooms except the one on the ground floor which they keep for baggage etc. Quick check.. Perfect !! Room overlooked the pool, 2 bathrooms 2 single beds and a pull out sofa.
The rooms and kitchens are pot luck. One hair drier in one but not in the other. This goes for the kettle as well.
Rooms are spacious, cleaned twice a week but are dated. No hot water for 3 days ( this explained the water boiler which was fixed later ) .
The apartments are located in a residential area but near to the main shopping areas. Take a right outside the EL velero , immediate left, 5 minute walk and you're there. Lots of Restaurants / bars a little further on. Beach is about 10-15 minute walk depending on your fitness as its down a hill.
If you are hungry then try Che Bolu which is located opposite the El Velero. This is usually full on Sat/ Sun evenings with the Spanish locals. The sausages are Delicious !!!
Happy holiday.

Room Tip: Get the rooms at the front of the hotel. back rooms overlook untidy flats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I recommend this place to everyone. We had an amazing apartment, quite big. It contained a "living room" with sofa-bed, TV and table with chairs. There was also awesome big french window (don't know, if in English does this name use, it's the window from ceiling to floor) with view of swimming pool. Next to it was bedroom with big balcony with great view of sea. Bathroom was clean and very nice, with bath, hairdryer was there too. Kitchen was also clean, enough dishes, fridge was working good, some cooker was there.

Staff came for cleaning every second day and everyone was very friendly and helpful, even when someone had problems with communication in English.

In every room was wireless internet connection.

Only thing I didn't like so much was journey to the beach, you can use elevator (costs about 2 Euro) or you can go by way full of shops. It took about 10 minutes to get there. But beaches were beautiful, with palm "forests". Sea was quite cold, but I had no problem with it.

Supermarket Mercadona was about five minutes from hotel. There's also McDonald's very close.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Velero Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Velero Apartments

Address: C/ Centurion y Cordoba, 3, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — El Velero Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your El Velero Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Apartments Hotel Torremolinos
El Velero Apartments Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Velero Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.