We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princesa Solar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Princesa Solar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Princesa Solar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Carlota Alessandri 94 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
barnsley
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a weekend break here and i really enjoyed it ,the hotel is very clean and the reception staff very helpful .We had a double room overlooking the pool which was nice .The pool area is very nice and the bar served nice beer in frozen glasses really refreshing after a day in the hot sun The breakfast was sufficient but as with buffet style food does go a little cold .The hotel is in a good place although a lot of steps to get to the beach for us not a problem but would be for anybody with walking difficulty's. I would definitely stay here again and hope to do so very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLACIDO S, Director General at Hotel Princesa Solar, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and above all for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We pay so much attention to our customer’s opinion in order to improve our services and give always the best of us. That is our goal.
We would like to use the occasion to inform you that in 2014, and as part of our every year improvements campaign, we have planned to create a new sunbeds area next to the swimming-pool, new chill-out bar terrace and the addition of a third outdoor Jacuzzi in that new terrace.
We hope you decide to come back soon and enjoy your holidays with us again.
Looking forward to see you next year.
The management of Hotel Princesa Solar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Have just returned from 3 nights at this hotel and was very happy with stay there. Hotel is situated on busy dual carriageway which can be noisy at times.The foyer and reception of this establishment is what lends itself to the 4 star tag whilst all other facilities can be considered 3 star.The reception staff are extremely friendly and are quite happy to converse in several languages and will take the time to speak to you and their service cannot be praised highly enough. The lifts to the floors are very small and can only take 2 persons and luggage. The room facilities are good and clean and include free safe in room with pretty simple operating instructions. (Incidentally the green button you need to reset the code is located on inside of the safe door frame).All rooms have a balcony with furniture and all look out to sea albeit across other apartment blocks.Good air conditioning unit in room. No coffee making facilities available so take your own travel kettle etc. Fresh towels daily and rooms are cleaned spotlessly. Small swimming pool, spa bath and sun loungers are on the first floor roof terrace.We booked bed and breakfast and the continental breakfast was very good buffet style with lots of choice including fresh fruit,fresh yoghurt, cereals, juices, toast,croissants etc but the cooked breakfast was pretty poor. Eating out in the area was fairly expensive so half board would probably have been the better option for us. Check out is at 12:00 and our flight was not until 21:00 but the staff let us leave our bags until departure to the airport which was extremely kind of them. All in all a good base to stay and handy for all facilities including the beach and we will return at some point. Good value for money and can be recommended.Take train from airport only 1.70 euros and get off at Torremolinos (a 10 minute stroll downhill from station to hotel) and not Montemar as google maps will tell you to do.

Room Tip: Rooms 209-213 look like they do not have anything above them so no early morning noise from above as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLACIDO S, Director General at Hotel Princesa Solar, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and above all for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We pay so much attention to our customer’s opinion in order to improve our services and give always the best of us. That is our goal.
We would like to use the occasion to inform you that in 2014, and as part of our every year improvements campaign, we have planned to create a new sunbeds area next to the swimming-pool, new chill-out bar terrace and the addition of a third outdoor Jacuzzi in that new terrace.
We hope you decide to come back soon and enjoy your holidays with us again.
Looking forward to see you next year.
The management of Hotel Princesa Solar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Princesa Solar. Hotel and rooms very clean - looks like they have been refurbishing, Good room facilities, mini bar and digital TV and digital safe. Entrance a bit strange (looks like it has been something else and altered) and only place nearby to park is the municipal underground car park which costs around 10 euros a day so just be aware. Breakfast was good but found the croissants not very fresh. The lifts are very tiny - 2 persons and luggage and they are full so not really adequate for the size of the hotel. Used the gym facilities but no air conditioning and the fan wasn't much help. The staff from the reception to the cleaners are all very helpful and welcoming. Our room overlooked the pool and was very spacious with comfortable and clean beds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Really good hotel in Carihuela. Stayed 5 nights . Very good staff on reception and room service. Great food, - dinner matches the 4 star label.

Good clean room has fridge /mini bar, modern digital TV, nice sea view and a FREE digital safe - it is brilliant. Pool deck one floor from street level has over 30 free luxury cushioned loungers , parasols, and a nice bar area , PLUS a great free hot tub and jacuzzi. Fantastic. Most guests wandered off to beach for the spanish sea 'an sunshine sizzle, so the hotel deck not used that much, and the location to sea front and promenade is good, one busy road to cross, assisted by a countdown traffic controlled crossing almost in front of hotel. Staff eager to help guests watch big screen euro football in bar area and they were quite sporting about England.

Negatives include bland breakfasts but nice eggs, the busy breakfast corner, everyone converges on toast, coffee , juice all positioned in same corner of restaurant so expect to be jostled. The road the hotel is on is one/two streets back from all the action, a good thing for some. The road its on is run down a bit . Road noise an issue for the pool deck but can be drowned out by your I pod and the pool bar /restarant bar only did bottled beer, not draft. The Spanish waiters say "draft beer is finished" , - so re- start it then!. Can charge bar and restaurant wine etc bills to room so i did it to next door's (joking)

But these are minor glitches, the positives shade the lot. I'm a big fan as the hotel works hard to please, its on a great strip of costa del sol between the 2 big guns of torremolinos and benalmadena. So its location at la cariheula serves the well used promenade, spanish restaurants , great tapas, and good english bars very very well. When the sun shines as it does there but not here, there's no better place at the price if you stay at a hotel like this.

Great .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Thank you; i have recently spent 4 days at the hotel and have to say i was more than happy with my stay .The staff were amongst the friendliest and most helpful i have ever came across and speak numerous languages fluently (especially the reception staff). A predominantely spanish occupated hotel had little effect on communication for us british tourists and nothing was too much trouble. The air con rooms and bathroom were very clean with towels changed daily. They even have bbc1 and 2 plus itv for people who like there TV plus a free safe!! We had a very hard pillow which was replaced by two new ones straight away - nothing was too much trouble.The whole hotel was spotless and pool area whilst quite small was very good. the location is very good - 300 yards form the beach and approx 1 mile from the centre of torremelinios and a nice mile walk on the front direct into benelmadena. Lots of bars and shops on the beach front nearby. A very nice hotel where i will definately stay again. thank you again

Room Tip: all have balconies so no problem - carpeted hallways means you dont hear everone getting up ealry or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Veneto, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I am a joung italian girl, and I spent my holidays in this hotel just one week ago with my friends :)
it is very cleaned, the lobby, especially the restaurant and all the spaces inside the building are so large and confortable.....
Congratulation at all the hotel staff, they are so kindly and nice....and they speak also italian very well..!
From the hotel it is easy to reach every places nearby (Benalmadena, Los Alamos, Malaga)....the bus stop is in front of the building!

One more thing...the panorama from the hotel was amazing!!

I hope to come back there....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned from 9 night stay, staff are trying very hard and are very nice however pool is very small location is somewhat isolated yet one street behind all main attractions, staffs English is not great its mainly a Spanish holiday spot. Anyone looking for Irish/english go to benalmadena

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Princesa Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princesa Solar

Address: Avenida Carlota Alessandri 94 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Princesa Solar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Princesa Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kris Princesa Torremolinos
Hotel Princesa Solar Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princesa Solar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.