We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princesa Solar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Princesa Solar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Princesa Solar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Carlota Alessandri 94 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Really good hotel in Carihuela. Stayed 5 nights . Very good staff on reception and room service. Great food, - dinner matches the 4 star label.

Good clean room has fridge /mini bar, modern digital TV, nice sea view and a FREE digital safe - it is brilliant. Pool deck one floor from street level has over 30 free luxury cushioned loungers , parasols, and a nice bar area , PLUS a great free hot tub and jacuzzi. Fantastic. Most guests wandered off to beach for the spanish sea 'an sunshine sizzle, so the hotel deck not used that much, and the location to sea front and promenade is good, one busy road to cross, assisted by a countdown traffic controlled crossing almost in front of hotel. Staff eager to help guests watch big screen euro football in bar area and they were quite sporting about England.

Negatives include bland breakfasts but nice eggs, the busy breakfast corner, everyone converges on toast, coffee , juice all positioned in same corner of restaurant so expect to be jostled. The road the hotel is on is one/two streets back from all the action, a good thing for some. The road its on is run down a bit . Road noise an issue for the pool deck but can be drowned out by your I pod and the pool bar /restarant bar only did bottled beer, not draft. The Spanish waiters say "draft beer is finished" , - so re- start it then!. Can charge bar and restaurant wine etc bills to room so i did it to next door's (joking)

But these are minor glitches, the positives shade the lot. I'm a big fan as the hotel works hard to please, its on a great strip of costa del sol between the 2 big guns of torremolinos and benalmadena. So its location at la cariheula serves the well used promenade, spanish restaurants , great tapas, and good english bars very very well. When the sun shines as it does there but not here, there's no better place at the price if you stay at a hotel like this.

Great .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Thank you; i have recently spent 4 days at the hotel and have to say i was more than happy with my stay .The staff were amongst the friendliest and most helpful i have ever came across and speak numerous languages fluently (especially the reception staff). A predominantely spanish occupated hotel had little effect on communication for us british tourists and nothing was too much trouble. The air con rooms and bathroom were very clean with towels changed daily. They even have bbc1 and 2 plus itv for people who like there TV plus a free safe!! We had a very hard pillow which was replaced by two new ones straight away - nothing was too much trouble.The whole hotel was spotless and pool area whilst quite small was very good. the location is very good - 300 yards form the beach and approx 1 mile from the centre of torremelinios and a nice mile walk on the front direct into benelmadena. Lots of bars and shops on the beach front nearby. A very nice hotel where i will definately stay again. thank you again

Room Tip: all have balconies so no problem - carpeted hallways means you dont hear everone getting up ealry or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Veneto, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I am a joung italian girl, and I spent my holidays in this hotel just one week ago with my friends :)
it is very cleaned, the lobby, especially the restaurant and all the spaces inside the building are so large and confortable.....
Congratulation at all the hotel staff, they are so kindly and nice....and they speak also italian very well..!
From the hotel it is easy to reach every places nearby (Benalmadena, Los Alamos, Malaga)....the bus stop is in front of the building!

One more thing...the panorama from the hotel was amazing!!

I hope to come back there....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned from 9 night stay, staff are trying very hard and are very nice however pool is very small location is somewhat isolated yet one street behind all main attractions, staffs English is not great its mainly a Spanish holiday spot. Anyone looking for Irish/english go to benalmadena

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We are regular visiters to La Carihuela, Torremolinos and on previous visits we have always stayed in another local establishment. On this occasion we decided to try the Hotel Princesa Solar. We arrived quite late in the evening (around 10:30pm) to a very friendly welcome. We were checked in quickly and efficiently and given our room keys to our rooms. As a party of 5 (4 adults and 1 toddler) we were accomodated in rooms next to each other without having to ask. We made our way to our rooms via one of the two lifts (we never waited more than a minute for a lift during the entire stay, very handy with a small child in a pushchair). Our rooms were of a good size, impeccably clean with a good range of facilities. The rooms were cleaned without fail every day and we were provided with clean towels. Although we were only at the hotel for a week, the bed linen was changed at least twice during our stay.

We ate breakfast at the hotel on one morning of the week and found it to be excellent. There was an extensive selection including hot items (beans, eggs, sausages, bacon etc), cereals, pastrys, breads, fruits, yogurts, hot drinks and juices.

All of the staff we encountered during our visit were friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs (special mention to Beatrice on reception who was an absolute star). The General Manager was frequently around and made sure to talk to us as often as possible to satisfy himself that we were happy and being looked after to our liking.

The pool area was extremely pleasant and clean with comfortable sunbeds, a jacuzzi and a hot tub. We visited in mid-May and never had a problem acquiring a sunbed.

Overall our trip to the Princesa Solar massively exceeded our expectations and we look forward to returning there on future trips.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 705 and 706, both were quiet with view over the pool and out over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My Wife,Daughter (19 months old ) and i stayed at the Princesa Solar for a week in May 2012. I did not know what to expect but i was amazed by the hotel and staff. 1st we arrived late on a saturday night the receptionist gave us a warm welcome and checked us in very quickly explained the hotel and how to get to the room.The room was big very clean TV air con hair dryer fridge, loads of space for our clothes and also a safe all of this included in the price. Through the week every time we left or can back to the hotel the staff at reception spoke to us.We had a day at the pool which was great the Owner of the hotel came over and spoke to myself and my father . The pool area is safe Very clean and the beds are comfortable. I Thank all the Staff at the Princesa Solar for making our holiday very enjoyable. would recomend this Hotel. We go to this part of spain every year and have stayed in various hotels and this is the one we will be returning to .
Craig,Sharon and Lorna Henderson.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

stayed one night in the princesa solar on 27th may 2012 , booked through travel republic and it only cost for my wife and i and our 3 yr old £33 which was a bargain realy as we only needed one night to get our heads down we didnt realy check out the facillities ,all i can say is the receiptionist on arrival was very friendly and happy ,the walk in to the hotel is a little strange up a passage way and we didnt find any parking only a underground carpark which cost 17 euros for the night .The rooms were clean and comfortable but there didnt appear to be any cold water it was as hot as the hot tap.We were entitled to breakfast but as we needed to be somewhere pretty quick we didnt bother , all i can say looks good for a couple of nights but ive been in alot better locations on the costa del sol but what can you expect for £33

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Princesa Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princesa Solar

Address: Avenida Carlota Alessandri 94 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Princesa Solar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Princesa Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kris Princesa Torremolinos
Hotel Princesa Solar Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princesa Solar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.