We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plazamar apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Plazamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Plazamar to your Saves list
Apartamentos Plazamar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mar, Playa de la Carihuela, 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Plazamar apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just having got home from 2 weeks in a studio apartment over looking the square. The staff are excellent , sorting a kettle out and when we had an electrical problem it was swiftly dealt with. The hotel rooms and shared areas are spotlessly kept clean by a delightful lady . Evenings spent watching the fish restaurant set up and serve was like a theatre act at times, it can be very noisy but once your doors are closed you hear nothing. Perfect location for walking to torremolinos and benalmadena , a perfect base for your holiday. Hotel reception is only open from 10.30 till 2.30 but it was just nice to come and go as you pleased.

Room Tip: Sea view gets the morning sun , square view glorious sunshine from 3 o'clock onwards .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Plazamar Apartments. The apartments are traditionally Spanish and spotlessly clean. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The apartments are located literally across the promenade from the Beach. We had a sea facing balcony which was great. There are dozens of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We will be returning and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Plazamar.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Lovely location, beautiful terrace to sit and enjoy the view of the sea. The room was adequate but no kettle or microwave which did let it down. However, we still enjoyed our stay.
Perfectly located to explore the town and walk along the lovely sea front.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Spent 4 nights at the Plazamar at the end of February. We were allocated a room on the 1st floor overlooking the restaurants which were very quiet in the evening but buzzing during the day (especially Andalucian day). We sat on the balcony in the afternoon watching all the comings and goings and the chef cooking and preparing his fish. As soon as the doors were closed there was no noise at all. Facilities were all that we needed and the apartment was kept spotlessly clean. The bathroom was quite small however. The reception is open only part time but as the owner was only 2 minutes away would be available by phoning if required so we were told. Would we return? Yes

Room Tip: Take your choice - nice front line sea view at a supplement or interesting street view as standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

These are great self catering apartments in a great location. This is at the quieter end of the resort towards Belamadena. If you take the local train from the airport €1.75 each way to Torremolinos station from there it is an easy 15 minutes walk to the apartments. If you take a taxi they drop you off at the square about 5 minutes from the apartments, nearest stop. We booked on the net and requested a sea view. I know you don't get what you ask for very often, but when it is offered you on asking on arrival to be told it is an extra €10 a night I think this is a bit cheeky. We had a room facing the square and to be honest we had the better location. The front rooms whilst having the morning sun are prone to the winds when they blow. They blew very cold, whereas at the back you get the afternoon sun and for the most part you are sheltered.
The reception was a bit hit and miss, 1 pleasant the other ignored you. The cleaner was fantastic, we didn't have a kettle then noticed one in other rooms, the cleaner promptly found one. If you haven't got one ask you are supposed to have one. Bedding changed every week, towels every 3 days. The cleaner doesn't work Mondays. You shouldn't need soap/toilet rolls they are provided. If you want to cook your meals there is only 2 hot plates. Saying that we catered, the nearest LARGE supermarket is Mercado either up by the railway station or go along the front into the main area and you will find it behind the English Rose café. The large supermarkets are a LOT cheaper that the small ones. For bread/cakes from 7am there are two one almost on the doorstep the other a bit further along the footpath to the left of the apartment. The latter bakes all day and is open till 9pm.
There are plenty of cafes and resturants only yards from this location. The only down side to the rear apartments is the Casa Juan Los Mezillos resturant which even with the double glazed doors can be noisy when the place closes sometimes in the early hours. There is a lift and the whole location kept really clean as are the apartments.
Definitely would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was our second stay at the Plazamar, perfectly situated on the seafront at La Carihuela. Both rooms have been ideal - comfortable, clean, and well equipped, and we wouldn't hesitate to book again. Manager Carmen is very helpful. Plenty of bars and restaurants right on the doorstep, although we noticed a few more places were closed for the season this year. Missed our regular G&Ts on the terrace of Bar Beni next door to the apartments, but no shortage of alternatives. This is a great resort for a winter break.

Check out our YouTube videos at:

http://youtu.be/tVvGCqD9cAk

http://youtu.be/sgMnxQFtW3c

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Myself and my 9 year old daughter stayed here at the end of October for 4 nights.We struggled to find it at first as the coach has to drop you on the road near to Palm Beach as Plazamar is in the pedestrianized area,however the owner was waiting and looking out for us in the bar below.She offered us a choice of two rooms on different floors,neither of them sea view as we had first hoped.We chose room 9 on the 2nd floor overlooking the square and it turned out to our advantage as we really enjoyed sitting out on our balcony watching the square.We thought it would be noisy but we experienced no noise at all once the balcony doors were closed.The owner also gave us bottles of water on arrival which we thought was lovely.
Our room was spotlessly clean and quite large for the two of us.
The bathroom was quite small but we would rather have more living space than bathroom space!The kitchen area was again small but since we only ate breakfast in the room we found it sufficient.Both kitchen and bathroom were clean.
The beds were comfortable although we could have done with another pillow as they were quite flat.The sheets were clean.
We hardly saw or heard a soul during our stay.
The apartments are in a brilliant spot,seconds away from shops,bars etc.and a minute walk to the beach.
Overall,we were thoroughly impressed with the apartments and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the square have the sun in the afternoon/eve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Plazamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Plazamar

Address: Calle Mar, Playa de la Carihuela, 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Plazamar 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apartamentos Plazamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Plazamar Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Plazamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.