We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and where to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Plazamar

Save Saved
You added Apartamentos Plazamar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Apartamentos Plazamar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mar, Playa de la Carihuela, 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel and where to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Apartment is basic but very good for a 2 star. Bathroom has a shower, hot water what ever time of day or night. Safe in room on charge. Bed i found was a bit hard for me. Reception open till 2ish afternoon. You will be given a room key n door key. TV in mostly spanish, but does have a radio built in english channel. Standard rooms look out on to the plaza, fountain and restuarant, nice to sit on balongy and look out on to in the evening. Buses very cheap. Get the free english paper SUR free from paper shop or tourist centre, great info on markets, news in spain and more.

Where to eat if you want english food, O'briens pub on the main road white n yellow building. Steak house, also fish, chicken on meal, comes with a free bottle of wine encluded in price. Steak n dessert + wine from 10 -14 erous. Irish breakfast from 4 - 5 erous. David and Grainne are great hosts. Also have child friendly have colouring books n pens to keep the kids happy. Stayed for 2 weeks and would go back again.

Room Tip: 3 floors we was on second, room 8 end room, still quite big. Sun later in the afternoon, over looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
haddington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

great apartment everything very close buy spotlessly clean comfortable bed nice balcony overlooking the sea right on the promenade good to watch the world go buy, drinks ice cream grocer meals papers all within 1 min,take your pick. Yes it is small yes the toilet and shower are very small and kitchen nothing is hidden in the pictures as described , soundproofing is excellent ,hey this was for a small break and we loved it and i can be very fussy at times. Would i go back Yes. Forgot to mention staff if you can find them, very helpful with a good manner.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are great to look out from right on the promenade always somthing happening every nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay in the Plazamar and have to say I was impressed. The location couldn't have been better, they are central to everything. The apartments are small with no separate living area but they were fine for us. The room was cleaned every day without fail and new towels etc given. We had a room overlooking the square and it was lovely although the room s overlooking the beach did have fab views but no sun in the afternoon. Our flight coming home was not till 10pm and we asked the receptionist if we could leave our suitcases somewhere, she just said that it was fine and we could keep our room free of charge till we were ready to go which we thought was brilliant. I would definitely go back to these lovely apartments. If you like steak go to a restaurant up near the Las Palomas Hotel called Las Albirizas, it was absolutely lovely the best meal we had all week

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at these apartments in March for the second time. They are in a great location, right in the middle of La Carihuela with loads of great bars and restaurant within walking distance. Lovely clean rooms with good comfy beds. The place buzzes with Casa Juan on the plaza at the rear of the apartments. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We got back this morning after staying at the Plazamar apartments for a week. We were in apartment number 2, which faces a square of restaurants which got quite busy especially at weekends, but it also had the sunshine from about 3pm onwards (which I preferred). The seaview rooms cost 10 euros per night extra but you only get the sun till just after lunchtime. I suppose it just depends which view you would like. The rooms are basic and clean, and have everything you need e.g. cooker, fridge with icebox, plates etc.
The only gripe we had was that there was building work going on directly under the apartments. They started banging/hammering/drilling from 9am till about 6pm. Luckily we were out most of the day but the noise when we were in our room was almost unbearable. I know the landlady coudn't stop the noise, and she did apologise.
The locations of these apartments is great, right next to the beach, right next to the promenade which had more bars/restaurants than you could shake a stick at! and 15 mins walk from Torremolinos to the east, or benalmadena to the west, and a lovely harbour with loads of posh looking yachts. And if you like decent English grub, make sure you go to Nigel and Cheryls, their roast dinner is ace!
TBH I would recommend these apartments and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Book plaza rooms sif you want afternoon sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our first visit to the Costa Del Sol and we couldn't have picked a better location than La Carihuela and The Plazamar is probably one of the best places to stay. Location is very central with half of the studios overlooking the sea (think you would have to book direct with them to guarantee sea view) and the other half overlooking the charming square. Reception is not generally manned but they have a bar/restaurant at the front so there is always someone around and you are provided with a key to the door so can come & go as you please. Comfy king size bed, nice if a little compact bathroom and basic kitchen facilties. Would definitely recommend and thanks to them for letting us have a late check out with no extra charge.

Room Tip: Sea View studios are E10 extra and would need to be booked direct - although the ones overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just back from La Carihuela, Plazamar Apartments. If its a good location you want, you will not get better than Plazamar. if you go for a seaview, there is nothing between you and the beach, the apartment is bigger and a bit more expensive than the street view. The street view is directly over Casa Juan, a very busy Restaurant and a great place for people watching. The sea view Apartments get the sun in the morning and street view in the evening. The place is really clean and welcoming. When you step out of the door, all the shops, bars and restaurants are there, just round the corner and you are at the beach. I did find the apartments a bit small, it was my first time in a studio apartment, however I would go back again. Carmen and Mariola are the best, if they can do something for you, they will.

Room Tip: There is a lift and the entire area is on the flat. Perfect if you have walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartamentos Plazamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Plazamar

Also Known As:
Apartamentos Plazamar Hotel
Apartamentos Plazamar Torremolinos
Apartamentos Plazamar Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Address: Calle Mar, Playa de la Carihuela, 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Plazamar 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Apartamentos Plazamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Plazamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.