We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Plazamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apartamentos Plazamar to your Saves list
Apartamentos Plazamar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mar, Playa de la Carihuela, 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We got back this morning after staying at the Plazamar apartments for a week. We were in apartment number 2, which faces a square of restaurants which got quite busy especially at weekends, but it also had the sunshine from about 3pm onwards (which I preferred). The seaview rooms cost 10 euros per night extra but you only get the sun till just after lunchtime. I suppose it just depends which view you would like. The rooms are basic and clean, and have everything you need e.g. cooker, fridge with icebox, plates etc.
The only gripe we had was that there was building work going on directly under the apartments. They started banging/hammering/drilling from 9am till about 6pm. Luckily we were out most of the day but the noise when we were in our room was almost unbearable. I know the landlady coudn't stop the noise, and she did apologise.
The locations of these apartments is great, right next to the beach, right next to the promenade which had more bars/restaurants than you could shake a stick at! and 15 mins walk from Torremolinos to the east, or benalmadena to the west, and a lovely harbour with loads of posh looking yachts. And if you like decent English grub, make sure you go to Nigel and Cheryls, their roast dinner is ace!
TBH I would recommend these apartments and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Book plaza rooms sif you want afternoon sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abattoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our first visit to the Costa Del Sol and we couldn't have picked a better location than La Carihuela and The Plazamar is probably one of the best places to stay. Location is very central with half of the studios overlooking the sea (think you would have to book direct with them to guarantee sea view) and the other half overlooking the charming square. Reception is not generally manned but they have a bar/restaurant at the front so there is always someone around and you are provided with a key to the door so can come & go as you please. Comfy king size bed, nice if a little compact bathroom and basic kitchen facilties. Would definitely recommend and thanks to them for letting us have a late check out with no extra charge.

Room Tip: Sea View studios are E10 extra and would need to be booked direct - although the ones overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nextmrsfisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just back from La Carihuela, Plazamar Apartments. If its a good location you want, you will not get better than Plazamar. if you go for a seaview, there is nothing between you and the beach, the apartment is bigger and a bit more expensive than the street view. The street view is directly over Casa Juan, a very busy Restaurant and a great place for people watching. The sea view Apartments get the sun in the morning and street view in the evening. The place is really clean and welcoming. When you step out of the door, all the shops, bars and restaurants are there, just round the corner and you are at the beach. I did find the apartments a bit small, it was my first time in a studio apartment, however I would go back again. Carmen and Mariola are the best, if they can do something for you, they will.

Room Tip: There is a lift and the entire area is on the flat. Perfect if you have walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TessWaterfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you do decide to stay at the Plazamar the sea view apartments are the ones to book the sun rises just to the left of your balcony and is lost about 1400hrs (approx depending on the time of year you go we went in mid April ) the rear apartments overlook a small plaza and although you would receive the sun from 1400hrs (approx) onwards the veiw in my opinion is not as interesting although the site of a bustling plaza (especially at weekends) when the local Spanish residents decend with a vengance for the local quisine which is served up by the plaza restuarants could be an interesting site to some people. The studio/apartments are very clean and are kept that way by the daily maid service the reception is only maned it seems with a new arrival, but that was not a problem with us as we left notes on the recption desk and they were answered on a daily basis. If there was a criticism it was the shower/toilet door because ot the size of the room the door had to be closed once you entered the room to gain access to the toilet but we got used to it after a short time and it did not spoil our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just back from a 4 night break at the Plazamar Apartments, La Carihuela. This is a small complex of apartments which are studio, self catering and have everything you would need for an enjoyable break. There is a very small kitchen section as you enter the apartment with contains a 2 ring hob. There is also a kettle & and a toaster. Bathroom contains shower cubicle, sink and WC. These apartments are front line and we were very lucky to get a sea-view room (the apartments at the back of the building face on to a small plaza which contain a number of restaurants). Our room also had a safe and an aircon unit. As our room faced directly on to the beach the views from the balcony were fab. The only thing separating the apartments from the beach is a lovely paved promenade which runs for miles in both directions. There is a limited reception service but you are given a key to both your apartment and the front entrance of the building. There is also an intercom system linked to the apartments. I have to say I really enjoyed my stay at the Plazamar and will be going back again later in the year.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms have sun on balcony from early morning till around 2.00pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANDRA29DUBLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was our second visit to these apartments. The location is fabulous, in La Carihuela, which is about as Spanish as anywhere on the Costa del Sol - only 15 mins walk from the centre of Torremolinos but a million miles away in terms of atmosphere! The entrance is at the back in a fabulous little square which is choca full of locals every weekend as it's home to some of the best fish restaurants on the costa. Some of the rooms overlook this lovely little square which has a fountain in the middle. We booked a sea view room - these have a full sea view - the beach is literally 10 meters away, across the prom! The rooms had everything we needed for a fab holiday and were kept spotlessly clean and tidy. It was lovely falling asleep to the sound of the waves every night - and the first sight every morning was a view of the sea from our bed! Luxury!

We rented sun beds on a number of days (brilliant weather for March) from the lovely Spanish lady on the beach directly in front of the apartments for 4 euros each per day - the one with the yellow wind breaks.

We tried many of the local restaurants - there must be half a dozen fish restaurants within 50 meters of the apartments. All were good - however we love Las Albarizas - a lovely chilled romantic restaurant in the street behind the promenade called Calle Los Perros. Fabulous atmosphere, lovely staff, wonderful food!

Brilliant apartments - and what a view!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed at the plazamar apartments for a 4 night break end of Feb 2012, the apartments are very clean and towels changed daily , staff helpful but not always at reception, I presume they come when guests are expected. Excellent view over the sea , the bathroom is a little small , most of the room taken up by a sink !
Plenty of local restaurants close to hand although not all open at the time of year we went.Those that were open very reasonably priced, the only downside is, as happens in most apartments , inconsiderate neighbours who insist on wearing shoes inside their apartment making the noise sound , but that is not the fault of these apartments.
Would definately recommend

Room Tip: i would ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colmac_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#29 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Alegria
Apartamentos Alegria
#13 of 73 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris
1.2 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#4 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 73 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Plazamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Plazamar

Address: Calle Mar, Playa de la Carihuela, 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Plazamar 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Apartamentos Plazamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Plazamar Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing