We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Carihuela Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Plazamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apartamentos Plazamar to your Saves list
Apartamentos Plazamar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mar, Playa de la Carihuela, 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Waterford Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“La Carihuela Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just back from La Carihuela, Plazamar Apartments. If its a good location you want, you will not get better than Plazamar. if you go for a seaview, there is nothing between you and the beach, the apartment is bigger and a bit more expensive than the street view. The street view is directly over Casa Juan, a very busy Restaurant and a great place for people watching. The sea view Apartments get the sun in the morning and street view in the evening. The place is really clean and welcoming. When you step out of the door, all the shops, bars and restaurants are there, just round the corner and you are at the beach. I did find the apartments a bit small, it was my first time in a studio apartment, however I would go back again. Carmen and Mariola are the best, if they can do something for you, they will.

Room Tip: There is a lift and the entire area is on the flat. Perfect if you have walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you do decide to stay at the Plazamar the sea view apartments are the ones to book the sun rises just to the left of your balcony and is lost about 1400hrs (approx depending on the time of year you go we went in mid April ) the rear apartments overlook a small plaza and although you would receive the sun from 1400hrs (approx) onwards the veiw in my opinion is not as interesting although the site of a bustling plaza (especially at weekends) when the local Spanish residents decend with a vengance for the local quisine which is served up by the plaza restuarants could be an interesting site to some people. The studio/apartments are very clean and are kept that way by the daily maid service the reception is only maned it seems with a new arrival, but that was not a problem with us as we left notes on the recption desk and they were answered on a daily basis. If there was a criticism it was the shower/toilet door because ot the size of the room the door had to be closed once you entered the room to gain access to the toilet but we got used to it after a short time and it did not spoil our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just back from a 4 night break at the Plazamar Apartments, La Carihuela. This is a small complex of apartments which are studio, self catering and have everything you would need for an enjoyable break. There is a very small kitchen section as you enter the apartment with contains a 2 ring hob. There is also a kettle & and a toaster. Bathroom contains shower cubicle, sink and WC. These apartments are front line and we were very lucky to get a sea-view room (the apartments at the back of the building face on to a small plaza which contain a number of restaurants). Our room also had a safe and an aircon unit. As our room faced directly on to the beach the views from the balcony were fab. The only thing separating the apartments from the beach is a lovely paved promenade which runs for miles in both directions. There is a limited reception service but you are given a key to both your apartment and the front entrance of the building. There is also an intercom system linked to the apartments. I have to say I really enjoyed my stay at the Plazamar and will be going back again later in the year.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms have sun on balcony from early morning till around 2.00pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was our second visit to these apartments. The location is fabulous, in La Carihuela, which is about as Spanish as anywhere on the Costa del Sol - only 15 mins walk from the centre of Torremolinos but a million miles away in terms of atmosphere! The entrance is at the back in a fabulous little square which is choca full of locals every weekend as it's home to some of the best fish restaurants on the costa. Some of the rooms overlook this lovely little square which has a fountain in the middle. We booked a sea view room - these have a full sea view - the beach is literally 10 meters away, across the prom! The rooms had everything we needed for a fab holiday and were kept spotlessly clean and tidy. It was lovely falling asleep to the sound of the waves every night - and the first sight every morning was a view of the sea from our bed! Luxury!

We rented sun beds on a number of days (brilliant weather for March) from the lovely Spanish lady on the beach directly in front of the apartments for 4 euros each per day - the one with the yellow wind breaks.

We tried many of the local restaurants - there must be half a dozen fish restaurants within 50 meters of the apartments. All were good - however we love Las Albarizas - a lovely chilled romantic restaurant in the street behind the promenade called Calle Los Perros. Fabulous atmosphere, lovely staff, wonderful food!

Brilliant apartments - and what a view!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed at the plazamar apartments for a 4 night break end of Feb 2012, the apartments are very clean and towels changed daily , staff helpful but not always at reception, I presume they come when guests are expected. Excellent view over the sea , the bathroom is a little small , most of the room taken up by a sink !
Plenty of local restaurants close to hand although not all open at the time of year we went.Those that were open very reasonably priced, the only downside is, as happens in most apartments , inconsiderate neighbours who insist on wearing shoes inside their apartment making the noise sound , but that is not the fault of these apartments.
Would definately recommend

Room Tip: i would ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed here for six nights on a second break. Thrilled with the location close to the airport, right on the beach and only a jaunt to the town. Our room was small but regularly cleaned, the kitchen area is a double hob, sink and fridge, all you need to cook simple meals. The local restaurants are cheap and friendly, cant go far wrong. Enjoyed our time here its all on the doorstep and the cost of the holiday was really good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

These apartments are in a fantastic location, you could'nt get any closer to the beach, paying extra for the sea view is definately worth it. The staff are very pleasant, friendly and helpful and the rooms are spotlessly clean, they are basically a room with small toilet and shower and kitchenette area which is ample for making light snacks, tea, coffee etc more than adequate and if there is anything you may need just ask, the staff are more than willing to oblige. Very good air con. also. There are loads of restaurants/bars right on your doorstep too so if you're feeling lazy you won't have to walk too far!! We love Carihuela and when we return we will definately be staying at the Plazamar, I would'nt stay any where else!!

Room Tip: Go for sea view, fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Apartamentos Plazamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Plazamar

Address: Calle Mar, Playa de la Carihuela, 19, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Plazamar 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Apartamentos Plazamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Plazamar Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Plazamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.