We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cabello

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cabello to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cabello
1.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Chiriva 28 | Playa la Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the hotel from 28th October - 1st November as a short break with my Daughter. I had seen this hotel on previous visits to La Carihuela and was determined to book as I just loved the look of it. This hotel fits the bill for location, location location! You are a stepping stone from the beach. The room is basic, but as with all other reviews I have read, you cannot fault the cleanliness. You can smell the freshly laundered sheets and the towels are also of a good quality. There is air conditioning (which we did not need at this time of the year), but also heating. The view is wonderful and the fountain when it is lit up at night is beautiful. It is a basic breakfast of tea/coffee and toast with butter and jam and I must say is the best coffee I have tasted. It is the best location for sitting and people watching and a stones throw from all that La Carihuela has to offer. Our favourite restaurant was The Launch overlooking the beach, the service was excellent as was the food. The staff were attentive and could not do enough for you. We preferred The Nook as opposed to Nigel and Cheryl's (next door to each other) for lunch as it felt much cleaner and less flies! However, the food was good in both. The hotel was closing on our last day - not sure if this was for the national holiday or for a longer spell, but they arranged to come back at 5pm for us to collect our luggage. Could not fault anything about our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds U.K.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just left at the end of October, concluding 63 nights over 4 months in this hotel this year.
If you require a clean room in an ideal location this is the place for you.
Provides only a reception service and a air condition room cleaned daily and breakfast.
If you require a pool or room service not for you.
However, if you want to stay in a family run place (all english speaking) who have been providing this excellant service for many years where individual customer service matters, who understand their clients needs, this is reflected in the number of returning customers.
You are at the start of the Carihuela village, the nearest restaurant is either side of the hotel, the nearest tapas bar next door but one, nearest beach bars, 2 within 50 metres, nearest bus stop 50 metres, nearest public car park, (rear of hotel).
Hotel is situated in a pedestrian area with the local junior school opposite, which makes the area very quiet as the school is only open on week days from 9.30am to 2pm, bus from airport stops 200 metres away, and the local taxi rank 100 metres away, train station 15/20 minute walk. Benalmadena Marina is 20 minutes walk away and the lift to Torremolinos centre is 15 minutes in the opposite direction.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the view, rooms at the back avoid the noise from the terrace at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great location, it was good to sit outside watching the world go by . Nice fountain in view and lit up at night time. Only downside near a school but loads of good cafe and front. Very close to the beach and is a lovely walk to belemadena or torremolinos .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

i don't know what the two bad reviews are about it is a one star hotel in a quiet village in spain which is 10 yards from the beach and you can get a wine and beer for £3 on the premises and sit outside. why complain about the room when you have that downstairs, it is only two floors so no need to bother about lifts either. the cost is half what other hotels charge and your expectations arre accordingly low i don't care if the manager smiles or says hello in broken english! anyway this place is excellent if you want a beach holiday in a nice pedestrianised promenade with no stresses or eager shoppkeepers wanting your money. be warned the spanish eat very late so restaurants have strange opening hours and many offer only fish dishes. the launch is great for a romantic meal looking out to sea. but try mad monk or winstons or nigel and cheryls for pie and chips or english meals all very good. wine is cheaper than soft drinks 1 euro for wine 1.5 for coke! buses are 3 euro to go anywhere whatever distance for two people we went to mijas and benalmedina and fuengarola all same price. the hotel is brilliantly placed to do all this so no need for a car or any problems with traffic.

Room Tip: front room over fountain first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights, got back at the weekend..
The Cabello is a lovely little 1* hotel,
The view from our room was beautiful, the beach is a stones throw away!
Room was cleaned daily, fresh bedding, towels,
Air-con was very good... handy remote,
Staff were pleasant,
Breakfast is fine, served 9am-11am... great if you want a lie-in!
Lovely bars, shops etc all in walking distance,
Loved the area.. La Carihuela is really nice,
Weather was fab,
Only negative... no lift,
We booked through Lowcost holidays (once again)....
no probs ;)

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast (east)
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

stayed here from the 4th oct til 9th oct and i was pleasantly surprised with what i had payed for, the rooms were clean and friendly, the staff were very nice the location was right in the main street of a busy throughfare and was so close to all amenities, the hotel is rated 1 star which i was happy with as to me and my fellow travellers it should be more, breakfast is a roll and tea or coffee, but you are in an area where breakfasts range from 3 euros to 7 euros, torremolinos is 1 of our favourite places as you are central to torre city center and close to benamadena, a short walk and your on the train to malaga which opens up new places for you to visit, the cabello hotel is a cheap hotel with good rooms and friendly staff lovely views if you get a room at the front, would i go back to the cabello ? there was 8 of us and everyone agreed yes without a doubt

Room Tip: book the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, staff were very helpful.My room was a twin room single occupancy although it didnt bother me that it didnt face the sea. I spent more time sat outside the hotel people watching. Met some lovely regulars that stay at the hotel (Paul and Pam from Newcastle and Ann an Jo from Liverpoo) who were happy to chat and give me advice on how to make the most of the area, which I did!. Loved my stay so much Im going to book again for next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cabello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabello

Address: Chiriva 28 | Playa la Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cabello 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Cabello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabello Hotel Torremolinos
Apartment Hotel Cabello
Hotel Cabello Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cabello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.