We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERPRICED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Club to your Saves list
Palm Beach Club
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Miami s/n | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
NEWPORT SOUTH WALES
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OVERPRICED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I read the reviews and felt that overall this would be a good place to stay. I was very disappointed that we did not have a balcony this made it very difficult to dry towels, wet bathing suits ect. The facilities information did not make it clear that some apartments did not have a balcony. We booked a room with a sea view, we did have a sea view as in we could see the sea beyond several hotels; we had a good view of the hotel in front and to the side. The hotel at the side has a gate that is on a spring so every time someone goes out or in it closes behind them with a slam and then a rattle, when you are trying to sleep it can grate the nerves as we kept the windows open and managed with the ceiling fan because we felt 30 euros a week for air con was overpriced, but if you did cough up you would not have this problem. The safe was also overpriced at 15 euros a week but we did get this.
The pool is just plan awful, too small hardly and sun beds it has had to have been the worst hotel pool I have seen. I prefer the beach myself but I you like to sit by the pool book another hotel.
The hotel is clean and the cooking facilities are ok , the apartment was a bit dated and worn out, bathroom large, bedroom small but ok, living area was fine all clean and a maid came three times a week.
10 out 10 for the young man on the front desk, helped with information beyond his remit I am sure with bus time tables, maps and information. Most of the staff were ok as in they were not rude, but did have the don’t ask me questions unless it is in my job description attitude when asked about things about the surrounding area.
I would say this hotel is ok, it is not value for money, overpriced, but it is clean and close to the beach, bus stops, a supermarket next door which is shamefully overpriced, but convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    57
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
39
62
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We staye here Aug 2012 for a week, my family ( 2 toddlers 2 adults) in a one bed apartment and my parents in a studio. I had my reservations before arriving as some of the rooms on the net looked lovely some didnt, but due to a mess up with another booking we didnt have much choice in that area and they had space. The communal areas are fine and clean, the staff are all very helpful. My parents room was fine for them we seamed to have drawen the hort straw...very tired apartment in need of TLC, cracked electric plugs, noisy celing fan with loose cable so if the light and fan was in the light flashed on and off, bathroom door broken kitchen cupboard doors broken, sofa bed wasnt much bigger than a 3 ft so i had to top and tale with my 3 year old as two adults wouldnt fit, it was also wripped and torn to the foam.the oven was like something out of the dark ages TV was all in spanish table (glass) was all chipped and unsteady and the chairs were all loose....we were dissapointed to say the least yet my parents room had all mod cons, english TV chanels and enough room on their sofa bed to fit more than one....we had a look at other apartments on our floor and it seamed each was different but its put us off because you cant guarantee what you will get!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

After a really friendly and welcoming check in, we went up to our apartment, to be greeted by ' tired ' looking furnishings, and a fridge that had the handle falling off, and the shelving inside held together with cellotape. The pool area was short on parasols, there were only two available The plus side to this resort is the position, its a couple of minutes to the beach, shops and plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at Palm Beach Apartments - Hotel is in perfect location, only 2 streets from beach, about 4 min walk. Decor is slightly outdated but adds to charm. Receptionists are extremely helpful - i was got a jelly fish sting & reception lady was gave me cream from First Aid kit. Room was very spacious with balcony, however air con was extra €30 for 1 week which I thought was bit strange you had to pay. We settled with ceiling fan and keeping the window open of a night. Even though we were on 6th floor, I was woken up during the night by cars beeping & drunk people yelling so might be ideal to Invest in air con if you are a light sleeper. Pool and restaurant/bar facilities are great, free wifi in lobby/pool/library area, not in rooms. Laundry facilities are great. Def recommended for extended stay in Torremolinos.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just returned from 5 days at Palm Beach.Torromolinos is a really old resort, and in all honestly it looks it, (as does most of the Costa's.) lots of old high-rise hotels, boarded up shops ect, but once you get inside the apartments they are really nice, clean well equiped, iron and hairdryer ect, nice decor, lovely beds, great shower room, we didnt have a bath, but next door did, so if thats a must for kids perhaps check that, we booked a deluxe studio, and i did query this as the 'scenic view ' it said on the booking form was hotels opposite, so not sure what a non deluxe would have been.but we had a balcony and was on the 4th floor, so was Ok. .2 small lifts, corridors being revamped, but looks as though works stopped for now .Small restuarant didnt really grab us, a bit dated, outside eating terrace also a bit dated, red plastic chairs/tables, but cheap meals/ snacks ect, Small pool, but fine, red hot whilst we were thare and the pool area was never packed. so no problems. Not far from beach, prom goes on for miles lined with shops/bars, loads of transport nearby, we got the train from airport but a bit of a slog as in between 2 stops, reception staff really nice and helpfull, we booked a trip to Gibralta in reception, only 15 Euros well worth it. If I was returning to this resort I would stay here again as cleanliness is more important to me than exterior looks.

Room Tip: We had a room near the front of the hotel near the road and we did find it noisy at night,allways se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Co Down N Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We are staying here currently for 5 day break away from rain at home! We wanted somewhere cheap and clean and this place is that. We paid £57 each for 3 of us for 4 nights sharing studio. It has 2 single beds, sofa bed, table and chairs, small kitchen area with all you might need to make a sandwich!! No cooking for us.
It is really central and is close to all
Restaurants bars etc. Got bus to town centre, market and walked miles along promenade. Every morning I ran 5 miles along seafront as did many others out running too.
Clientele in torremolinos of the older age group and possibly some of them live here. Didn't see any embarrassing English lager louts!!
Don't think I could stay here for more than 1 week. Pool lovely. Quiet and always easy to get lounger. Beach close by if that's your preference. Too quiet for us for longer holiday but perfect for now

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place was just not for us. We booked through booking.com through which hotels usually give free cancellations & pay on departure, but not the Palm Beach – full payment taken immediately, which was well hidden in the small print on the booking agents website. This is a 9 storey concrete tower block, certain of the rooms are advertised as sea view, which is not technically untrue – but you will have to be 5+ floors up and looking over at the horizon to spot it. The swimming pool is an odd triangle shape and mostly in the shade all day – there are a few sunbeds, probably around 25, crammed together at the top end of the pool area where they might catch a bit of the sun at some point of the day, although if the occupants of all the studios/apartments of the whole 9 floors were to turn up together there would be a problem. We did try to upgrade to a deluxe room, but were told they were all taken, although they were still being advertised on booking.com on the day of our departure from the UK. Our standard studio was very well equipped, but tired. The tiles in the bathroom could definitely induce a headache and the shower was positioned over the middle of the bath, with 2 shower curtains that met in the middle, at least it explained the mop & bucket stationed in there. The bar area was just a place you wanted to walk through, quickly. Think red plastic coca cola chairs & tables and slot machines. There is a supermarket under the building where you can buy 1l bottles of spirits for 7E, but components of a simple sandwich lunch will knock you back 13.50E. My advice – spend a little more and choose somewhere else, by the time you have finished paying extra for the safe, air conditioning and basic cleaning materials that are usually provided, there won’t be much difference in the cost.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Club

Address: Calle Miami s/n | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Palm Beach Club 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Carihuela, 2 mins walk to sandy beach and the typical sea food restaurants.Open all year. Sat Tv in all apartments. Studios & apartments for rent from 1 day - 6 months. Swimmingpool. 24 hr Reception. Cleaning. Kids go free. Onsite bar cafeteria with menu of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palm Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos
Palm Beach Torremolinos
Palm Beach Club Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.