We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre de la Roca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Torre de la Roca to your Saves list
Torre de la Roca
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion La Roca Calle Brasil, 18 | Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A friend of ours booked this apartment for us and we had not seen it before we arrived. We had a wonderful surprise when we got there. The apartment no 507 was modern, light, well furnished with all the mod cons and air conditioning. The view from the balcony looked over the spacious and very clean swimming pool and gardens and the promenade that runs around to La carihuela. it was a very pleasant place to sit in the evening sun and we had a fabulous view of the San Juan midsummer beach bonfires. We tried a couple of bar/restaurants on the edge of La roca complex including Las chicas de Pletora and los Palmas, both were excellent with superb tapas and meals and very welcoming staff. The restaurant at La Roca was just changing over from its winter hours to the longer summer opening hours. The daily menus are excellent value for money and the service from Florin and his team was always attentive and fast. The apartments are in a private area so we were away from the main tourist traps. there were a lot of locals meeting there for family gatherings or just having a coffee and a chat. We were issued with a key for the private lift that takes you directly to the beach and promenade below. An altogether very pleasant and relaxing stay. we enjoyed it so much that we are hoping to book for a long weekend later in the year.

Room Tip: The apartments are privately owned so some are a little old fashioned. Make sure you look at the pho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laroca_aptos, Gerente at Torre de la Roca, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again in our apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having read the previous poor reviews of La Roca, it was with some trepidation that I arrived this June. I should not have worried as the moment I stepped through the door of our apartment (No. 910) I was smiling with relief. It was clean and well furnished with everything you could possibly need (even a washing machine!) and the views from the 2 balconies were fantastic. The swimming pool and garden of the complex were clean, spacious and ideal whether a couple or a family whilst the location of the apartment block itself could not have been better, with its short walk down to the beach in one direction and into the town in the other. The terrace bar was relaxed and the tapas served with drinks generous and delicious. Bearing in mind the very reasonable rate of La Roca I would not hesitate in recommending it - so much so that we are actually hoping to rebook again for later this year.

Room Tip: Our room was on the corner and so had wonderful views across the town and the sea. I would definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariCarmenVillap, Gerente at Torre de la Roca, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice words,
We hope to see you again in Torre de la Roca.
Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

As the apartments are individually owned they vary in standard, there needs to be a minimum standard requirement imposed as some apartments are very uncomfortable. The restaurant is poor offering a simple menu & not to the standard that was there under previous management. The wifi is so weak that you can hardly use it , we paid to use the hotel next door wifi as it had a stronger signal.
The reception staff, apart from a blond lady, are in urgent need of some customer service skills, when a guest approaches them they appear disinteretsed & you are made to feel you are intruding.
The pool area is great as is the location, the apartment complex offers a great atmosphere & with some upgrades it could return to its former glory

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room on the pool side , check how old the beds are
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariCarmenVillap, Gerente at Torre de la Roca, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to apologise about your problems with Torre de la Roca.
We are working to improve our wifi and renovate some parts of our establishment.
We would like to ask for a special apologise about our receptionists and how they make you feel. Also we want to inform you that we have an office, in front of the main building, where Alicia and me, Mª Carmen, will help you on the best ways to your complains, questions and needs.
We hope to see you again at Torre de la Roca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently had a short 4 day stay in September at the Torre de la Roca.We were put in apartment 501 which turned out to be a terrible place.It was fairly shabby and looked like it had been furnished from charity shops or flea markets.The refrigerator was really noisy,the curtains didn't close properly,and none of the closet doors did either.The air-conditioner only cooled the living room and the bedroom was hot for sleeping.Now we get to the bad part.The couple next door in 502 were night owls.Every night between midnight and 1 am they stomped around talking at the top of their lungs until they went out for the evening.We got woke up every night like this.We tried to talk to three different desk clerks at the front desk,about maybe changing rooms,but they couldn't care less and all of a sudden couldn't comprehend english.We checked out the next day and found another hotel.The bottom line is there are better places than this in Torremolinos and area to stay at.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying here refuse room 501.The couple in room 502 will wake you up every night be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in October, and this was our experience;

- fridge rattled loudly, had to be turned off overnight
- stove timer ticked non-stop and could not be turned off
- furniture was old, no doors closed
- no locks on the patio doors
- only living room is air conditioned, bedroom is hot
- wind whistles thru the windows at night
- noisy neighbors kept us awake well past midnight, we mentioned this to three different desk clerks, none of them were concerned, and would not let us change rooms.

The only good points were, maid service, washing machine in the room, and free wifi in the lounge.

All in all, not a good experience

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

I have been staying at Torre de la Roca each year since 2003 and have always been happy with each of the apartments I stayed in. The views from the balcony are wonderful and each apartment is different, yet very nice. Maid service includes light dusting each day, (except Sunday), and bedding is changed once a week. The apartments are nice for up to three persons. The dining room in the main hall is good, and excellent food, although somewhat limited, and a bar is available until late evening. The pool outside is very large, but not heated. Nice grounds to sit and enjoy view or friends.

The location is good, very easy to get to all places, the Market, the Tourist Area, and the train which you can take to the Airport for less than 2 euros. Malaga, a wonderful city is close by and many tourist excursions available to Seville, Cordoba, Granada, Gilbraltor, and other areas in Andalucia.

A nice place to stay...

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

Have friends who have been here for many years, most of the apartments are privately owned and there is a club feeling to the place.

About half of the 160 apartments are perminant homes so again a real community spirit, Some are very luxury indeed but the rented ones are basic but clean and tidy. Have been in many of the privately owned apartments and they have views to die for. All of the facilities are very good indeed with one of the best pools on the coast.

La Roca sits in the best location on the Costa del Sol so if you can make it then do try it as it is a little gem. We are going back this year on 2 occasions and have rented a private apartment which we have seen already.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre de la Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre de la Roca

Address: Urbanizacion La Roca Calle Brasil, 18 | Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Torre de la Roca 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Torre de la Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre De La Roca Hotel Torremolinos
Torre De La Roca Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre de la Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.