We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Luna Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Luna Blanca to your Saves list
Hotel La Luna Blanca
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pasaje Cerrillo 2, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here three nights at the end of our holiday in a superior room. Excellent room with a large bathroom and good size balcony. Unusual for Spain, a kettle was provided with speciality teabags. Nice to have a clothes horse provided and our washed clothes dried overnight. Top quality towels with towelling robes and slippers provided. Mini bar and free safe in room. Staff passed the "Ice test" and were happy to provide a full ice bucket for the room. The pool was better than we expected and in sunshine from mid morning until evening. Top quality service and your wellbeing are cleary the priority here. As a small example, we came back from the beach (10 minute walk) and mentioned on passing reception that we would be back down soon for a swim in the pool. The main sunlounge area was already occupied and on comming down we found that the staff had located two more sunloungers for us and placed these out with the hotels beach towels especially for us. The pool area and outside dining areas are very quiete and relaxing. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
116
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Villafranca De Cordoba, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

General: Do not let the 2 stars fool you. The quality is as good or better in fundamentals as any 4 star hotel (except for the lack of an elevator) and with prices to match. This is a small quiet boutique hotel that is not flashy but strong in basics, and gives an understated sense of quality. The only down side is that it is not especially cheap, but quality costs. Many hotels could learn a thing or two from La Luna Blanca in terms of focusing more on the fundimentals and less on jazzing up their hotels with loud decoration and music, while they cut back on maintenance and service. This hotel is good for people who want to relax in a small hotel in a quiet part of Torremolinos a few block away from the beach. Good for those who want to relax. Not good for budget travelers or party goes.

We tried two rooms at La Luna Blanca:

Japanese suite: This is for those who want a Japanese experience. Half of the suite is traditional Japanese with a tatami, and the other half is semi-Japanese with a low Japanese table and chairs, and a western sofa. You can have meals served in the suite if you want, which is a nice experience. There is traditional Japanese music if you want to turn it on. There are Kimonos that you can wear. The bed is a futon which is covered with has very high quality bedding in traditional Japanese fabrics. Some people may find the futon to be less padded than they are used to, due to it being not overly thick. Guests are expected to take off their shoes in the suite, and walk barefoot on the Tatami. The bathroom is very large, with a large shower area, and a huge tub (more like a hot tub). The toilet is the Japanese style Captain Kirk Captain´s chair style with shower jets, and blowing air. There are extremely plush bathrobes provided. There is a balcony with a decent view.

Although I would not pay extra to stay there again due to the higher price of the Japanese suite, I do not regret staying there for one night, due to the interesting and unique Japanese experience. This suite is recommended for those who like the Japanese experience. If you are not into that, then this room is not for you.

Normal double room: I found this almost as nice as the suite, and more than enough for us, and overall a better value.. The room and bathroom are generously sized. The decoration is a tasteful standard hotel room look, which is not exciting, but relaxing (which I like). The floor is marble. It is equivalent to a good 4 star hotel room. We had a cute private patio right off of our room, being on the ground floor. The upper rooms have a balcony.

Food: High quality. The breakfast is superior. There are not a huge number of dishes, but the quality of what they have is good. The strawberry jam, and orange juice looked suspiciously home made. They served a carrot cake one morning that was super moist and not too sweet. Really delicious.

The Japanese breakfast is also interesting and well prepared. I recommend it if you want something different. All in all the breakfast is included and well worth having.

The restaurant also serves Japanese food, which is expensive, but well done. The Soba noodle soup is excellent, as are the dumplings. The chicken on a stick is good, but the Udon noodle soup left me under whelmed with little flavor, and noodles that looked like linguini and not the Udon noodles that I am used to seeing. The meal also came with several interesting sauces to put on it. If you can afford it, and like Japanese food, I recommend it (except for the Udon noodle soup).

The sauna: This is something that I have never seen before. It does cost 10 Euros/ hour (when most hotel are free), but you get what you pay for. Whereas most hotels treat the sauna as an after thought, this one reserves the whole roof for the sauna goer. There is a sauna, hot tub, tatami and sunning area, which is private for the person using it. The sauna must be new, or very well cleaned, because it looked new. The whole area is quite clean, and there are towels and bathrobes provided.

Quiet: This hotel stands out as being unusually quiet. In Spain it can be hard to find places that are not noisy, however the owner of La Luna Blanca must have looked around, because the neighborhood is surprisingly quiet. It is not perfect. There is the occasional dog barking or scooter going by, and there can be some internal noises in the hotel, but over all it is quiet, and better than the vast majority I have seen. In general the hotel gives a sense of peace. There is soft Spanish radio in the lobby, which do not like, but it is a minor point. Overall the atmosphere is relaxing.

Service; Not as good as I expected considering the raving reviews, mainly because I suspect that the owner is very busy and probably tired from managing the hotel all the time. Her style is rather business like, but she is still detail oriented when dealing with guests, and goes over everything. Her style is more functional than super friendly. There are a couple of young Japanese girls there who are very friendly, but speak almost no English or Spanish. There is also a Spanish receptionist who is relaxed and pleasant. Overall good service, but nothing transcendental, like any well managed Spanish hotel, but with a Japanese flavor.

Cleanliness; The hotel is quite clean, and generally well maintained.

Good: Gets the details right, clean, well maintained, small (only 9 rooms), great breakfast, quiet and relaxing (more than most).

Bad: No elevator (expect to haul you bags up a flight or two), small, fairly pricey, not glitzy. about 4 blocks from the beach, no bellman.

Good for: People who want a quiet relaxing place to stay with understated quality. Those with money.

Not good for: People who want a lot of excitement and entertainment, a big fancy hotel, a resort, budget travelers, families with children, young people looking for excitement and those who want to be right on the beach.

Value: You get what you pay for. Above average prices, but above average quality.

Price: We paid 80 Euros for a double, and 120 Euros (with discount) for the Japanese suite with breakfast included.

Quality: Quality and attention to detail are high. This is the main reason to go.

Will I go again?: If price were no object I would do it again in a heartbeat. However, we may be looking for a cheaper hotel next time due to our budget..

Room Tip: The best value is a normal room on the ground floor, because you do not have to carry your luggage u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

stayed here for 5 days. lovely spotless hotel. Our room was very large with a wonderful wide bed. staff are extremely helpful. convenient for el pinillo train station so you can ge to and from the airport and into malaga if you want. We had both the European and Japanese breakfasts. both superb. Defintiely recommend trying the Japanese breakfast at least once. Very close to some very nice restaurants and the beach. We will definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a short break at La Luna Blanca, it was our second stay there and we already look forward to returning. The hotel is clean, spacious and the staff are warm, welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is superb as is the Hotel in general, if you're reading this review because you're looking for accommodation in Torremolinos then look no further, i've been fortunate enough to stay in a lot f top hotels in many countries but this is one of my favourites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have stayed in hotels all around the world and I have to say this rates as one of the very best. I could find no fault whatsoever. Indeed, the food, service, staff, could put some of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in to shame. Someone somewhere said this hotel was a hidden gem, and it is. The 3 star rating is just so far below what it deserves. I would certainly return and I would certainly recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Hotel is in a quiet area, so either side should be quite peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Everyone has said everything and I agree with every single compliment - so to add value to Tripadvisor,I spoke to the owner and asked how she came to set up this hotel.

She was a Toyko based Japanese business woman who began to hate the pace of life there and so opened this hotel to serve and educate Japanese tourists on Europe in general and Spain in particular. Then she realised that a lot of Europeans would like to experience the Japanese way of life & cuisine- and hence its raison d'etre. The rooms are immaculate, well appointed and comfortable. The restaurant is exceptional with the best sushi and sashimi I have had. You can have a european breakfast but please try the Japanses option. It rocks. Don't be afraid, they know that many of us have not sampled much Japanese food so they could not be more helpful and guide you through if wished. (Yes, you can have a fork instead of chopsticks!) My only negative would be that it is a 10 minute walk to the beach (and only 20 minutes to Benalmadena Marina) and a gentle climb all the way back. A truly unique place and I wish them continued success as they deserve it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed in the Japanese suite which was amazing with the biggest bathroom. The services was of the highest standard as expected in Japan. The email confirmation and request for how they can make our stay more comfortable was excellent.
We ate dinner at the restaurant which was beautifullly presented and delicious. We ate in the Japanese garden with candles lit around us.
There is a secure underground car park which is free. Wil stay here again when flying in or out of Malaga airport, a very short drive away from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Luna Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Luna Blanca

Address: Pasaje Cerrillo 2, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Luna Blanca 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place to encounter the Spanish and Japanese culture.The excellent location and relaxing setting makes La Luna Blanca the perfect place to stay for a relaxing and enjoyable break on the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Luna Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Blanca Torremolinos
Hotel La Luna Blanca Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Luna Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.