We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but ok for a few nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roc Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Roc Hotel Flamingo to your Saves list
Roc Hotel Flamingo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Isabel Manoja 9, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Basic but ok for a few nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Malaga city the night before staying here and then booked this as a last minute hotel for 1 night.

Location is great. Only a few minutes walk to main area with shops and bars.

Rooms are basic and quite dated. TV was like an old 14" portable TV. Shower and bathroom were basic being a shower that was operated off the taps.

value for money, does what it says on the tin. A basic hotel that is clean. We paid £60 for dinner bed and breakfast. Dinner wasn't upto much. Buffet style. Best tasting thing was fanta.

Never had breakfast. Used the luggage area to leave bags.

Hotel would not provide a changing area other than toilets once checked out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    210
    178
    59
    58
See reviews for
124
273
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and myself have just returned from the Roc Flamingo Hotel - we had a brilliant time. The Hotel is clean as are the rooms. The rooms could do with updating, but they are kept clean.The bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and you will never go thirsty or hungry! There were not many English guests at the Hotel, but we didnt feel secluded. We were on the 3rd floor facing the pool (which is above the bar), if you want an early night try not to get one of these rooms as it gets a little noisy. It didnt bother us becasue we always joined in the entertainment. The pool is on the small side for the size of the hotel, and a few more sunbeds wouldnt go amis, the good thing is that you are not allowed to reserve sunbeds, or your towels get removed, so no putting out your towel at 7am!! At the bottom of the road you will hit the nightlife, with bars, shops, stalls and street entertainers. Its very busy but enjoyable for a look around after your evening meal in the Hotel. The Hotel has a shuttle bus to get to the beach and back if you need this, otherwise its a 15 min walk. We got the train (also at the bottom of the road) to Malaga one day and hit the shopping arcades there. Worth a visit. 7 euros for 2 return! We also had a day out to Marbella, 10 euros each on the bus return, and then 10 euros return taxis to the middle (shops beach etc). Thank you for a lovely holiday Roc Flamingo!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is fantastic, if you go to bed early just choose a higher room to avoid too muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked this hotel very last minute and weren't sure what to expect, but very very pleasantly surprised.

Upon arrival our room was not ready due to and issue with the previous guest, so we were put up in the hotels sister hotel, the more upmarket Roc Costa Park for the first night, a taxi to and from this hotel was provided free of charge. When we got into our room the next morning it was very clean very tidy and a decent size. We also had a small balcony which overlooked the pool, which is also where the evening entertainment was hosted which was quite varied and performed in both Spanish and English. The receptionists were all very friendly and spoke very good English, gave us good directions and advice, the night receptionist even teaching us some basic Spanish as we went in and out from nights out.

The hotels location is really great, its and 10 minute downhill walk to the seafront and about 20 minutes back, the are plenty bars and nightclubs close to the hotel too, but not so close that the noise would keep us awake at night. We were also only and 20 minute walk from Aqualand and outdoor water park which we visited. The park was very good value clean, tidy and with not much queuing for attractions with the exception of between 1-3 but there's plenty of places in the park to sunbathe or have lunch and the park was open from 10 till 7 s this really wasn't an issue. Tickets for the park were quite reasonable at 25 euros for the day and these can even be booked at the hotel to save you queuing on entry, but at 10 in the morning this wasn't an issue either. There are also 2 large supermarkets offering very cheap but high quality foods and drinks both within a ten minute walk of the hotel.

Food was served between 7:30 and 10:30 both morning and night, both breakfast and diner were served buffet style with a good selection, we were always able to find something we liked and the food was better quality than we were expecting for a buffet so we had breakfast and dinner in the hotel everyday, except our last night, and just had our lunches out and about. We didn't order any room service so cannot comment on this.

The hotels pool was of a decent size, we only used it the one time as the weather was so fantastic for the week we were there we decided to make the most of the beach, but the pool never seemed to be overcrowded and there were also plenty of tables and sun loungers around it. The hotel bar was also located poolside.

All in all even with the initial teething problems the first night we were very happy with the hotel and its staff, and thought it was a very good base for our holiday. If we return to torelmolinos again, which we will certainly consider then we would definitely consider staying in this hotel too, it really did make the holiday a very easy stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Staff very friendly room clean but musty smell the worst thing was the food there was not much verity very basic didn't t even have banana s. But had a good holiday would not go back there had a lot nicer 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After reading reviews I was a little wary of staying here, but it was great, small and clean, in need of updating, but the cleanliness helps you ignore that. The guys who organise the fun stuff around the pool are amazing and very funny. The bar staff were very friendly and you can forgive them for slower service that I am used to in the UK because the "all inclusive" Spanish felt it their right to barge to the front of the queue. That said the overall ambience is friendly and everyone was very willing to join in all the activities, my kids loved the water volleyball, water basket, table tennis tournaments and volley ball tournaments, shooting etc etc. If you are up to walking up the stairs to your room I would, the lifts are a little slow. The air conditioning started to struggle around 3am most mornings.

The rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels provided.

We only had dinner once and breakfast 3 times but the food was fine and there was lots of it. But you are so near other lovely places to eat it seems a shame to lock yourself into an all inclusive this near a lovely town.

Well worth the trip and well worth the money, will be coming back again in a few years time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we stayed at the Roc Flamingo for two nights and were glad to leave. We were put on the tenth floor with views overlooking the roofs of other buildings, nothing nice to look at from the tiny balcony. To get to the tenth floor you endure a ride in a sauna. The lifts are old, hot and extremely small considering how many rooms the hotel has. They are always busy and you end up going up and down, stopping at every floor before being able to get out at your floor.
The restaurant.
The food is ok, not hot, but plentiful, varied and tasty. The restaurant itself is a nightmare, with people queuing outside to get in. It is too small for the amount of guests, very low ceiling and the furniture is tired and old, you are always waiting around for clean cups and glasses, but the worst thing is the NOISE! The staff who clear the tables BANG the plates on the trollies to remove debris from the plates and CLATTER everything really loudly without regard to the guests who are sitting just feet away trying to enjoy their breakfast , lunch or evening meal. Trying to have a conversation with that going on is impossible. I have never experienced a restaurant like it.
The rooms.
clean, with enough space, bathroom was clean but small. hard beds (two singles pushed together) but we had to carry all our valuables around with us because there was no key for the safe in our room which meant it was difficult to relax and enjoy our time.
The pool area.
More of a puddle really. Photos are misleading. FAR too small for the size of the hotel. No space for sunbeds around the pool and only a few on the tiny bit of grass. Again, for the amount of guests it was a joke. Because of this we didnt see much of the daytime entertainment as there was nowhere for us to relax.
Location.
Close to shops and everything else, on a busy street. Shuttle bus to beach which is about a 15/20 min walk away.
reception.
friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the lower floors as the lifts are horrendous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

stayed here in aug 2013 with my family, location excellent beside train station, aqualand 10-15 min walk beach a good 20 min - hotel was clean, had booked a ''junior suite'' but allocated a double room with pull out bed not what i thought i would get from pics! great rate for 2 nights for 3 people half board, staff very friendly, pool side was busy hard to get any seat for night time entertainment. would use this hotel again purely based on location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roc Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roc Hotel Flamingo

Address: Avenida Isabel Manoja 9, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roc Hotel Flamingo 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Roc Flamingo is situated in the commercial nerve centre of Torremolinos, Costa del Sol with unbeatable access to the airport and just 10 minutes to El Bajondillo beach. Pablo Ruiz Picasso airport is 8km away and the centre of Malaga 14.8km. Less than 200m away are the train station, bus stop and taxi rank providing easy connections to the airport and Malaga. The Hotel Roc Flamingo is ideal for both business trips and holidays boasting the comforts of an urban hotel with the added advantage of a location in a tourist area. There are 243 bedrooms (renovated), all of which have bathroom, terrace, heating and air conditioning, telephone, safety deposit box (extra charge), satellite TV and WIFI (charge). In our air conditioned restaurant you can enjoy our fantastic buffet with a full range of national and international dishes. You can choose the board arrangements which best suits your needs from Bed and Breakfast up to All Inclusive. The Roc Flamingo also offers parking, conference room for up to 60 people; adults pool and splash pool; massage tent (in summer); garden areas with sun beds; clay sports court and ping pong; and a varied programme of entertainment and shows outside in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Roc Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Flamingo Torremolinos
Flamingo Hotel Torremolinos
Roc Hotel Flamingo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roc Hotel Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.