We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roc Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Roc Hotel Flamingo to your Saves list
Roc Hotel Flamingo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Isabel Manoja 9, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good overall Hotel, nothing too fancy but staff helpful when asked - try and learn the basics of Spanish which will help. Nearby train station was also handy as you could travel along the coast very cheaply

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    201
    169
    57
    55
See reviews for
122
258
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this wonderful hotel one week from August 21 to August 27. We arrived by plane and decided to take the train from Malaga International Airport to Torremolinos. Not being familiar with this city, the location of Flamingo hotel was perfect, just round the corner from the train station, walking distance even with some heavy luggage! No need for taxi!

We took the first flight so we arrived to the hotel at 9.00am and they gave us a room (they didn't make us wait until 12) so checking-in was accomplished by the staff in a very friendly, efficient manner.
We found our room furnished and decorated in a very refined, modern style, very spacious and comfy. The bathroom was very clean, excellent warm shower, towels changed daily if you just remember to leave dirty ones in the tub. The air-conditioning/heater in the room worked perfectly!Rooms get cleaned by noon and after a hard night playing and partying, you can have a peaceful afternoon nap.
We found a great deal for bed and breakfast and it was really worth it! The breakfast was ample, with hot eggs, bacon and sausages, as much fruit, yoghurt, toast, orange/pineapple juice and coffee as you like!
Though most hotel visitors at the time were retired Spanish people, everyone was very polite, open-minded and friendly, the atmosphere at the hotel in general calm and relaxed.
They offered different entertainment each night of the week, from flamenco dance to theater and plays, but it was mainly targeted at the older audience.
Upon leaving, we forgot a rather expensive souvenir in our room and only realized it was missing when unpacking back home. We called "Flamingo" and to our astonishment and surpise, not only they found it, but they immediately sent it to us Express Mail free of charge! We know many hotels that wouldn't have been as honest and caring as to go this extra mile for their departed guests!

We definitely recommend this hotel and will book soon to stay there again!

Thank you so much for your hospitality,

Janira

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We checked in 31/1/13 for our belated honeymoon . I emailed hotel to request a nice room etc . We had room 820 our view from our room was amazing beach one side and the mountains the other side .

Room was very big . Massive double bed with tv and big en suite . Very clean

Food
The self serve buffet had lots of choice
Breakfast had usual bacon eggs etc plus toast cereals lots of choice

Dinner was a selection of continental meats and hot food such as chicken .pork
Lots of lovely deserts

And loads of fresh bread rolls

Even free wine and sangria

The bar has a snooker table and air hockey darts machine etc .

Very cheap drinks 1 rose and a pint was only 5 euros .

Happy hour twice a day and buy one get one free

Pool was lovely . We had great weather so spent a lot of the time near the pool

Yea the hotel is a little bit dated but would happily return here. Anytime

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

we have stayed at el pinar sevral times and decided to spend xmas at flamingo the staff are not very fluent in english had ants and bugs in room took them 4 days to sort them out
food was very scarce as if it run out never seemed to get replaced went down for gala dinner told to get what ever we wanted as staff wanted to go early so dinner was rushed and not really a xmas atmosphire better of at el pinar dont recomend hotel at all we go spain 6 times a year and this is worst hotel ever stayed thanks flamingo worst xmas ever

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Got back a week last friday. Last flight into East Midlands before the snow drifts yeh! closed the airport. Had five nights here at the Flamingo. Typical Spanish 3 Star Hotel. Well liked by the Spaniards. Accomodation clean and basic, ammenities all there despite out of season. One guy actually went for a swim in the pool. Had to move the Polar Bears out of the way and treat him for Hyperthermia, but I am sure he enjoyed it. Had a nice large wife to bring him back to life. The food was typical, plenty of it, but by night 5 you were beginning to tire of the same old same old.The Spaniards keep you entertained bless em. Well dressed people, put most scruffy Brits to shame, but God are they tight. They can make a bottle of water last all night between 200 of them.I said to the barman, 'you aint going to make much out of this crowd tonight'. All in all not disappointed, bettered the Kristal in Torremolinos by a country mile. Yeh the Kristal, curently closed, the only Hotel South of the Pyrenees without a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking pool area and you will get a sort of sea view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington Northumberland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent 2 weeks over Christmas I read lots of reveiws before we went to this hotel. The hotel is a bit dated but rooms and beds were clean and a change of towels every day.
Complaints about noise we did not have any problems we were on the 10th floor with a lovley sunny balcony all day.
Complaints about the Spanish we have not got any when saying hello to them they always replied they can only say hello they do not speak any english. We had no problem in the dining room with people pushing in. The hotel does cater for spanish people we new this before we visited so you are in a minority so go with the flow.
Food: it was varied sometimes a bit cold. Wine and Sangria on tap which was good.
Entertainment: very poor for english people everything was for the spanish and they enjoyed it.
Hotel Staff: very friendly bar staff exellent.
Train station 5 mins away
Weather Excellent for this time of year we had sun every day for 14 days.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend have been here twice, 1st time 30/9/12 for a week, 2nd time 6/12/12 for 5days and going again on the 26/2//13 for a week, we absolutely love it there, I don't think there's anything wrong with the place! It's cheap enough so why complain? There's everything you need within a 5 minute walk away! As my friends gay we go to the gay bars, and we love it! Everyone is so friendly and lovely! Drinks are cheap enough and it's such good fun, deffo recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_FLAMINGO, Gerente at Roc Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear customer:

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor about our hotel services and our staff, who always try to satisfy you on your holidays with us.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your suggestions which we will consider for improving our services.

We hope to receive you in the near future and thank you very much for trusting in Roc-Hotels.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roc Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roc Hotel Flamingo

Address: Avenida Isabel Manoja 9, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roc Hotel Flamingo 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Roc Flamingo is situated in the commercial nerve centre of Torremolinos, Costa del Sol with unbeatable access to the airport and just 10 minutes to El Bajondillo beach. Pablo Ruiz Picasso airport is 8km away and the centre of Malaga 14.8km. Less than 200m away are the train station, bus stop and taxi rank providing easy connections to the airport and Malaga. The Hotel Roc Flamingo is ideal for both business trips and holidays boasting the comforts of an urban hotel with the added advantage of a location in a tourist area. There are 243 bedrooms (renovated), all of which have bathroom, terrace, heating and air conditioning, telephone, safety deposit box (extra charge), satellite TV and WIFI (charge). In our air conditioned restaurant you can enjoy our fantastic buffet with a full range of national and international dishes. You can choose the board arrangements which best suits your needs from Bed and Breakfast up to All Inclusive. The Roc Flamingo also offers parking, conference room for up to 60 people; adults pool and splash pool; massage tent (in summer); garden areas with sun beds; clay sports court and ping pong; and a varied programme of entertainment and shows outside in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Roc Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Flamingo Torremolinos
Flamingo Hotel Torremolinos
Roc Hotel Flamingo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roc Hotel Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.