We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mick Sunderland” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roc Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Roc Hotel Flamingo to your Saves list
Roc Hotel Flamingo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Isabel Manoja 9, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“mick Sunderland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

my wife and i decided to try this hotel over new year because of the central position of the hotel in the town,the staff are very good and they rooms are cleaned omn a daily basis,that is the extwent of the good parts of the holiday.
The food was very repeticious,very rarely did you get hot food it was barely warm,the hotel was full of spanish pensioners who continually pushed and shoved their way into the dining room and lifts without a thought for anyone else.
The entertainment was poor with the spanish taking over completely,you had to get to the entertainment area early to get a decent seat but that didn't stop the spanish having a late dinner and just sitting where they liked, no matter how inconvenient it was to other holiday makers .
The chancers of getting a good nights sleep were practically nil as the spanish continually chattered in the corridors and next to the lifts and when they were requested to be quite, they did so and then after a couple of minutes it all started again.
In short we will NOT be returning to this Hotel ,and i would only advise using this hotel if you are spanish as everthing is geared up for them

Room Tip: ask for a high floor overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    201
    169
    57
    55
See reviews for
122
258
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the first time 15/11/12 for 2 weeks. Yes the hotel is a bit warn in places but apart from the toilets at the back of the reception desk it is spotless. Every day towels changed and room cleaned even when we didn't need it doing. We were alll inclusive and the drinks from the bar were nice drinks to say they were local spirits. All staff were helpfull and polite and frendly. The food was a little bit cool at times but they do have a microwave for you to use. The soup was very nice and the choice was ample always a beautifull salad bar, and 2 meats fish or pasta to choose from always fresh fruit. Red,white wine on tap in dinning room and so was the sangrea. When we were there it was the spanish OAP's free holliday and we found them very ignarant, they used to just push past you in the dinning room and wouldn't get in the lift with us, they didn' t like us English sharing the dance floor at all. They would stay in the dinning room drinking all the wine and sangrea then come into the bar and take up all the best seats for the entitainment and sit all night the would never buy a drink. This was so annoying because they would just put their chairs in front of you. This did spoil it a little bit because if you said hello they would just stare at you.... apart from this we loved the ho and it was always warm, we had a room over the pool and it was never cold. We will defo go back again but not them weeks.......The bar snacks that u could have consisted of a cheese/cheese & ham sandwiches.. We felt that we defo got value for money. just across the road are lots of shops that lead you to the beach where you can catch the lift 50euro each way..... We have a had ovely time and will be back lll. Just watch out for women selling roses or rosemary lots of pick pocketing went on while one talked the other knicked the wallet. I hope this has helped. jill and stu

Room Tip: I asked for high floor over looking the pool above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_FLAMINGO, Gerente at Roc Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear customer:

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor about our hotel services and our staff, who always try to satisfy you on your holidays with us.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your suggestions which we will consider for improving our services.

We hope to receive you in the near future and thank you very much for trusting in Roc-Hotels.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsdavies2007
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights for our anniversary, Lovely clean hotel, great location, entertainment at night round hotel pool area not much room very cramped and quite dangerous saw a few people nearly fall in the pool! On our last day a group of english ladies left a handbag unattended on a sun lounger which got stolen they think it was by someone who had just walk off the streets into our hotel with the intention of stealing! He was apparently hanging around and didnt look like a holidaymaker, so be careful!
Happy hour nearly every hour! BOGOF on all drinks! great value! also ordered a buger and fries from the bar menu which were lovely!
Torremolinos its self is struggling in the resession, alot of empty shops and restauants!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

From Malaga airport 1euro 65 to torremolinos, hotel 3 minutes walk from station. Outside and foyer not too bad check in fine and room ready despite getting there at 11am. restaurant on 1st floor and the only bar on 2nd floor, our room on 10th floor, excellent view of the sea and overlooking pool, portable tv with ITV1 on, 2 single beds and very small balcony, dated but clean.
Now this is the 1st restaurant i have used on all inclusive where you have to go to the bar and back down for your drinks at mealtimes! tea/coffee and juice served at breakfast and wine and water only at dinner and tea, anything else you need to go up and down for. Food was a good variety but veal everyday, and all hot food was usually cold, and no microwave, and bread was always hard.
The bar only let you have house spirits and soft drinks, tea and coffee, and 1 cocktail (san francisco) any bottles or named brands cost you full price. You were supposed to get toasted sandwiches, pizzas and various other snacks from the bar but when we enquired was told cold sandwiches only!
Entertainment, i know it was December but a bird of prey show that lasted 15 mins, and other nights very poor as well, i presume because it was full of Spanish and they played cards all the time?
Overall we had a very disappointing stay, but the trains were very good and we travelled out a lot and ate out a few times, and if i went back to this area i would look for a better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited this Hotel in early November, and decided to try "all inclusive". There was a good mix of Nationalities during our stay, Spanish, French and English were the majority.
This was great for us, as the food reflected this mix of people. I was able to try roasted rabbit,sea bass, many types of Paella, cuttlefish, pigs feet,a large range of fabulous regional soups ,for our evening meal.
Breakfasts ranged from traditional bacon,eggs,sausage,beans,etc. Cereals such as Muesli, cheeses and cold cuts of meat.
Lunches consisted of soups,a large range of salad vegetables, cold meats,cooked fish and vegetables.
The menu had a "healthy option" choice which changed every meal.
The Paellas for instance,were consistently good.If you venture into most Spanish Restaurants, Paella is normally only available for 2 people, and is consequently quite expensive, so to have a large range offered over the week was fantastic,especially as it was possible just to try a "taster" to see if it was enjoyable.
The house wine was (as you would expect) average, with a wide range of spirits and beers for those who enjoy them.
Snacks were available when the Restaurant was closed.
We found all the staff,at all points of contact,to be extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful.
All areas are kept clean, including our room,which although clean was just a wee bit "tired".
Only one little niggle,which was the Wi-Fi, for which these is a charge,2 euros/hour of 20 Euros per week. I really think that in these times, this should be free of charge.
Apart from this niggle, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We travelled indepentently,and took the train from Malaga Airport, the station in Torremolinos is only 3 to 4 minutes away, so that was easy-peasy, We used the train to visit Malaga which has an awful lot to offer, and Fuengirola because we enjoy the zoo there, and Arroyo for the cable car up the mountain. A ll of these in walking distance from the relevant station. The train goes straight into the airport.
Overall, we had a fine old time, and thoroughly recommend this Hotel, and look forward to going back there.

Room Tip: We asked for a room high up and looking onto the pool. The hotel provided this,and we were very plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here Nov 12 and off again this week (Nov 13); we had a great time here and although it was full of pensioners they were great craic. Food pretty good for what it is and served with sangria and/or red wine. Very central and secure. Rooms basic but clean which is the most important thing. Staff were good too. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Flamingo. The hotel is small and has a very dated feel but the attractive poolside area and pleasant walk down to the beach make up for this. We stayed all inclusive and found food and drink both to be of a good standard - plenty of choice and well cooked - although you had to be up very early to get a croissant for breakfast. Our stay was marred by a strong smell of drain in our bedroom - but overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roc Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roc Hotel Flamingo

Address: Avenida Isabel Manoja 9, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roc Hotel Flamingo 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Roc Flamingo is situated in the commercial nerve centre of Torremolinos, Costa del Sol with unbeatable access to the airport and just 10 minutes to El Bajondillo beach. Pablo Ruiz Picasso airport is 8km away and the centre of Malaga 14.8km. Less than 200m away are the train station, bus stop and taxi rank providing easy connections to the airport and Malaga. The Hotel Roc Flamingo is ideal for both business trips and holidays boasting the comforts of an urban hotel with the added advantage of a location in a tourist area. There are 243 bedrooms (renovated), all of which have bathroom, terrace, heating and air conditioning, telephone, safety deposit box (extra charge), satellite TV and WIFI (charge). In our air conditioned restaurant you can enjoy our fantastic buffet with a full range of national and international dishes. You can choose the board arrangements which best suits your needs from Bed and Breakfast up to All Inclusive. The Roc Flamingo also offers parking, conference room for up to 60 people; adults pool and splash pool; massage tent (in summer); garden areas with sun beds; clay sports court and ping pong; and a varied programme of entertainment and shows outside in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers, Otel, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Roc Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Flamingo Torremolinos
Flamingo Hotel Torremolinos
Roc Hotel Flamingo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roc Hotel Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.