We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ROSE IN SPANISH HARLEM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roc Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Roc Hotel Flamingo to your Saves list
Roc Hotel Flamingo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Isabel Manoja 9, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Northern England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A ROSE IN SPANISH HARLEM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited this Hotel in early November, and decided to try "all inclusive". There was a good mix of Nationalities during our stay, Spanish, French and English were the majority.
This was great for us, as the food reflected this mix of people. I was able to try roasted rabbit,sea bass, many types of Paella, cuttlefish, pigs feet,a large range of fabulous regional soups ,for our evening meal.
Breakfasts ranged from traditional bacon,eggs,sausage,beans,etc. Cereals such as Muesli, cheeses and cold cuts of meat.
Lunches consisted of soups,a large range of salad vegetables, cold meats,cooked fish and vegetables.
The menu had a "healthy option" choice which changed every meal.
The Paellas for instance,were consistently good.If you venture into most Spanish Restaurants, Paella is normally only available for 2 people, and is consequently quite expensive, so to have a large range offered over the week was fantastic,especially as it was possible just to try a "taster" to see if it was enjoyable.
The house wine was (as you would expect) average, with a wide range of spirits and beers for those who enjoy them.
Snacks were available when the Restaurant was closed.
We found all the staff,at all points of contact,to be extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful.
All areas are kept clean, including our room,which although clean was just a wee bit "tired".
Only one little niggle,which was the Wi-Fi, for which these is a charge,2 euros/hour of 20 Euros per week. I really think that in these times, this should be free of charge.
Apart from this niggle, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We travelled indepentently,and took the train from Malaga Airport, the station in Torremolinos is only 3 to 4 minutes away, so that was easy-peasy, We used the train to visit Malaga which has an awful lot to offer, and Fuengirola because we enjoy the zoo there, and Arroyo for the cable car up the mountain. A ll of these in walking distance from the relevant station. The train goes straight into the airport.
Overall, we had a fine old time, and thoroughly recommend this Hotel, and look forward to going back there.

Room Tip: We asked for a room high up and looking onto the pool. The hotel provided this,and we were very plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    230
    203
    67
    63
See reviews for
150
300
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here Nov 12 and off again this week (Nov 13); we had a great time here and although it was full of pensioners they were great craic. Food pretty good for what it is and served with sangria and/or red wine. Very central and secure. Rooms basic but clean which is the most important thing. Staff were good too. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Flamingo. The hotel is small and has a very dated feel but the attractive poolside area and pleasant walk down to the beach make up for this. We stayed all inclusive and found food and drink both to be of a good standard - plenty of choice and well cooked - although you had to be up very early to get a croissant for breakfast. Our stay was marred by a strong smell of drain in our bedroom - but overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed At This Hotel With My Partner back in August, had an amazing time, Accommodation was Basic, but comfortable and clean, Food was the Best, excellent amount of choice, staff friendly and helpful, Brilliant location Set in the Centre of Torremolinos

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from roc flamingo, the meat in the dining room was under cooked or cold, hardly no staff working in the dining area. Rooms very out dated, small balcony and the pool area does not look like the picture in the brochure? Very disappointed!!!!!!!!! And to top it all we returned to the UK on Thursday 2/11/12 and I end up being violently sick on Saturday and have been diagnosed with gastric flu!!!! The only good point I can pick out is the gentleman on reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lovely friendly staff,food ok something for everyone,rooms spacious and roomy,small balconies though.Pool area lovely with 2 pools and garden area but had to keep moving around to get the sun as trees,buildings around blocking sun at times. Good location for bars,shops,also train station very near so we got the train back to Malaga airport at cost of 3 euros 30 for 2 people.

Beach in centre of town,down winding stairs,although there is a lift to the beach.lovely promenade and a lovely walk to Benalmadena Marina if you want a change. Plenty of shops bars,etc and also a large square nearby with plenty going on. Tinas bar near hotel really good for music etc. Anas bar in centre of town good value and frequented by plenty of British locals and holidaymakers for a good night out. Stayed for a week 20th October until 27th October with hubby.a good enjoyable holiday with plenty going on in the resort but not roudy or noisy. There was also drinks with meals in Restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with pool view,as some pool activities in afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights 22nd-26th October with a friend for a girly break away.
Hotel - fairly basic but a bargain for what we paid and it was only a base to explore Torremolinos. It is clean, the staff are very nice, helpful. The food is good, plenty of choice. I have stayed in a 4* in Costa Brava and the food at the Flamingo was easily as good. We paid for half board and were pleasantly surprised to be able to help ourselves to the beer, sangria and wine at evening mealtimes and the quality of the drinks was very good. Like the food it is self service so you just help yourselves.
Rooms - basic but very clean and cleaned every day, towels changed every day. Shower excellent very powerful. Small balcony. T.V. had sky news and ITV, couldn't find BBC1.
Position - excellent. A few minutes from the station and Casa San Miguel(the main street, filled with shops and bars that leads down to the promenade/beach.)
We thought that the prices in the shops were excellent compared with other resorts. When we go again we will take less in our cases and buy some things in resort, the clothes were lovely and very reasonable.
Transfer-Train 1.60euros and very easy to do, takes about 10mins once you're on.
Taxi - we got a taxi back to the airport for a bit of luxury/more time in the resort, this cost us 17euros.
Our flight was not until 9.30pm so I asked at reception if they would provide us with a courtesy room so that we could freshen up. They did this free of charge even though we had officially checked out.
I would recommend a higher floor in this hotel to get advantage of having plenty of light in the room as the area is quite built up. We were on the 6th floor with a view of the pool and could see the sea in the distance.
found a little Egyptian/Moroccan bar called the Luna Egyptia, it's before you get to the Casa San Miguel, near the fountain, down a little side street. They made lovely Irish coffees for 2.50 euros and you can buy trinkets, moroccan lamps, incense etc while you're in there and the staff are lovely.
I would stay at this hotel again when I next visit Torremolinos as it is a clean, comfy base to explore the resort.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to get plenty of light in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.9 mi away
Royal Costa Hotel
Royal Costa Hotel
#48 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parasol Garden
Parasol Garden
#44 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#36 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#4 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#37 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#33 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roc Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roc Hotel Flamingo

Address: Avenida Isabel Manoja 9, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roc Hotel Flamingo 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Roc Flamingo is situated in the commercial nerve centre of Torremolinos, Costa del Sol with unbeatable access to the airport and just 10 minutes to El Bajondillo beach. Pablo Ruiz Picasso airport is 8km away and the centre of Malaga 14.8km. Less than 200m away are the train station, bus stop and taxi rank providing easy connections to the airport and Malaga. The Hotel Roc Flamingo is ideal for both business trips and holidays boasting the comforts of an urban hotel with the added advantage of a location in a tourist area. There are 243 bedrooms (renovated), all of which have bathroom, terrace, heating and air conditioning, telephone, safety deposit box (extra charge), satellite TV and WIFI (charge). In our air conditioned restaurant you can enjoy our fantastic buffet with a full range of national and international dishes. You can choose the board arrangements which best suits your needs from Bed and Breakfast up to All Inclusive. The Roc Flamingo also offers parking, conference room for up to 60 people; adults pool and splash pool; massage tent (in summer); garden areas with sun beds; clay sports court and ping pong; and a varied programme of entertainment and shows outside in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Roc Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Flamingo Torremolinos
Flamingo Hotel Torremolinos
Roc Hotel Flamingo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roc Hotel Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.