We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was Wintertime , Icecold in Norway, but a very nice Sping and Sun time here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Santa Clara Hotel

Castillo Santa Clara Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torremolinos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castillo Santa Clara Hotel
You added Castillo Santa Clara Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castillo Ingles, 19 | Málaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This was Wintertime , Icecold in Norway, but a very nice Sping and Sun time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went away To Torremolinos , Espana , in the Wintertime..Away from ice, snow and minus 10 and came to The Malaga Aeropuerto in March, very nice and Sunny..Farewell to norsk Wool and Hello to nice dress and High heeled and Palmeras y mucho Flores...Nice people and a very Good Life..Thank you, Mucho Grazias Espana !!!! Bienvenido Sol y Palmeras !!! )))..

Room Tip: IT s a little Importante that you Know , have Seen the place and Know ..Roms on the South Side are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
2 Thank TripAdviser226926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Torremolinos was a very pleasant surprise, even in August there were none of the lager louts or football shirt-wearing all-night drinkers I expected! The resort is very Spanish, a wonderful long promenade edged with a wide variety of cafes and fish restaurants and a good beach with plenty of room.
Santa Clara hotel is very tired looking from the outside but our appartment was newly refurbished, cleaned daily (inc fresh linen) and equipped with a fridge, kitchenette, TV and air con.
The balcony overlooked the sea/promenade so was great for an early evening G & T. The pool is large, clean and supervised, although the main pool too deep for non-swimmer children there is a small paddling pool nearby.
Although there are lifts, they do not go all the way down to the beach or up to the pool so there is always another flight to lug your suitcase/buggies.

  • Liked — Views of the sea
  • Disliked — Cockroach in bathroom on last day
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
5 Thank Yorkiecorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

Good points of the Castillo de Santa Clara are that It is on the headland which means you can walk to either Bajondillo Beach or Carihuela Beach. Please be aware however that a steep hill or lots of steps have to be negotiated to reach either beach, not bad on the way down but a struggle on the way back. Its position means that most apartments have wonderful sea views. We could not have wished for a better view from our fairly large balcony. The staff who man the office are polite and courteous. (It is worthwhile noting that if you are arriving on a nightflight you should NOT book these apartments, after midnight you will be unable to get your key until 8.00a.m.!!! Getting a taxi if you have to leave before 8.00a.m is also a problem. I had to stand alongside the main road for 40 minutes waiting for a vacant taxi to hail at 7.00 in the morning - there is no receptionist to call one for you). There is a nice pool and an on-site supermarket with limited provisions open from 9.00 a.m to 9.00 p.m.
Downsides of the apartments are the limitations of the reception as outlined above, the whole complex is VERY drab, dark and dated. Our apartment had not been touched since the 1950s. The complex is absolutely huge and is totally unsuitable for those who have mobility problems, the elderly etc... there are steps everywhere and lifts do not service all floors. The apartment was only cleaned once during our stay (6 nights).
Safety deposit boxes are in the reception office and if you have a room on the far side of the building (like us) then a long (and I am not exagerating!) walk to access it was necessary .This was the most inconvenient part of the stay. Although our stay here was OK, we would not stay here again because the negatives outweigh the positives. These apartments are suitable for fit, healthy people who do not mind very basic facilities and enjoy lots of walking, but we could not honestly recommend staying here to people we know, which is always a good test.

  • Liked — View from balcony
  • Disliked — Size of complex
  • Tips/Secrets — Think carefully about the negatives before you book
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
6 Thank hesketh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

Stayed in Torrermolinos many times before close to the Castillo de Santa Clara but stayed there for the first time. stayed in a studio apartment which was clean and spacious with a sizable bathroom which included a bath with over head shower bidet wc and wash basin with a big mirror on the wall. 2 comfy single beds with bed side cabinets a dinning table and a couple of chairs, in the kitchen area which could be closed off behind doors there was a 3 hob electric cooker with a full sized grill and oven ( the facilities in the kitchen area could vary from one apartment to another as talking to other guests some had only a cooker hob no oven or grill some apartments had a kettle others did not ect).

The hotel seemed to be under going a redecorating but did not interfere with our stay. The maid service was 3 times aweek with linen changes I think were 3 times over our 2 week stay. The roof top pool and garden area were very nice with a life guard on duty but we preferred the beach which is just below the hotel accessed by security monitored door leading to steps. The hotel was monitored 24hrs aday by security via cctv safety deposit boxes were available for use which were located in the reception office which was open and manned between 8am 12midnight.

All in all we had a great stay and are hopefully returning next year.
Only one further thing to mention is that its al together suitable for people with walking difficulties due to location (steps and one floor not accessed by lift )

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
10 Thank HolidayAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Torre de la Roca
Apartamentos Torre de la Roca
#22 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Pozo
Hotel El Pozo
#23 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Torremolinos Stella Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Castillo del Vigia
Apartamentos Castillo del Vigia
#22 of 38 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Roca Chica
Apartamentos Roca Chica
#4 of 38 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Flores
Apartamentos Flores
#2 of 38 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Santa Clara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Santa Clara Hotel

Address: Castillo Ingles, 19 | Málaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Hotel Class:3 star — Castillo Santa Clara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Castillo Santa Clara Torremolinos
Castillo Santa Clara Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing