We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically Perfect in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmen Teresa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carmen Teresa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carmen Teresa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Carlota Alexandri 180, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a super little hotel! Extremely clean and friendly, intimate and cozy. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the main road. We loved it because we could watch the world go by on a night. The room was cleaned daily, towels changed daily and the beds were changed twice in the week that we stayed. Nothing was too much trouble. The reception is full of information and the staff even told us which number buses to get. I travelled with my 11 year old granddaughter and we loved it so much we are going back next year. Close to the supermarket, about 300 yards away and close to the beach, shops and restaurant. If I had to 'nit pick' I would say the breakfasts are very basic. I only eat wholemeal bread and cereals and this was not supplied but we bought some from the supermarket and ate these along with the meats, eggs, drinks and jams available. And also there was a lack of sun beds which we had to fight over. But the pool only has a capacity for 18 people and there were 18 sun beds and chairs so adequate for the size of the pool.
Our flight did not leave until the evening and we were able to keep our room for the day for a further 20 euros.

Room Tip: The staff will accomodate you in any room if they can. Fridges are available for 5 euros a day. AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    22
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
52
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

just returned from a week staying in the hotel Carmen Teresa.23/30 July 2012.
hotel is spotlessly clean.lovely reception area with plants and access to lift and dining room/lounge area.lets start with downstairs. small bar with very reasonably priced drinks. 1.50 euro for bottle of beer, 7 euro bottle of wine. lounge area with flat screen TV, chairs,tables and sofas, free WiFi. small pool table, and a couple of computers which are payable locally to use. dining area is clean and decorated in the Spanish style with beautiful tiles around the walls, plenty of tables and chairs.
small kitchen area with buffet style breakfast, you can do your own toast and there is a hotplate to do your bacon on. tea/coffee/juice machine. breakfast is continental style with meats,cheese boiled eggs etc., also cereals.all areas are spotless. going outside there are beautiful gardens to sit in and are illuminated at night. lots of lovely flowers and shrubs, up a couple of steps and there is another garden area with seating, 3 or 4 more steps is the pool area, although not too large it is enclosed and a real sun-trap. Only problem that people mentioned was there is only 10 sunbeds and with 40 rooms you had to be quick, never bothered us as wife stuck a towel on at about half seven just before breakfast, after a full day of catching the rays there were usually some available from about 4 which still gave you 4 hours of baking time. The Room. again spotlessly clean,very comfy double bed, with bedside tables, nice painted Muriel over bed gave it a homely feel, desk and chair and large wardrobe. shower and toilet/sink flat screen TV on wall. nice balcony with views of pool and sea.( room307 ) we hired a fridge at a cost of 5 euro a day, which was great as we could keep our drinks and food cold. we also hired a safety deposit box which was 15 euro for week this is in reception. the room was air conditioned and was free, and we needed it. it was very hot during our stay.all the staff are very friendly and the room was cleaned everyday, clean towels 3 or 4 times per week and bed changed twice during our stay.i would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone 15mins to airport, 5 mins to supermarket, 10 mins to beach front. also if you want somewhere nice to eat i cannot praise highly enough the HALF MOON BAR ( SUE,CHARLIE,HAYLEY,LAYTON) 10 mins from hotel. out of hotel turn right walk to roundabout with BP garage, cross road and walk to bottom head right and follow street. bar is on the right nr pizzeria. you will not be disappointed with the food, all freshly cooked to order and the steaks are to die for.we ate here everyday and could not fault anything, Sunday lunch is a must.lovely people and we had many a good night there. ( don't eat at the Chinese restaurant 2 doors up) it wasn't very nice. the beach front goes for miles and is surrounded by shops and eateries of all kinds. all in all a lovely place and are hoping to return in February. (couple in mid 40s)

Room Tip: although hotel is set on a busy road there wasn't that much noise from traffic,room 307 has pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Me and boyfriend stayed there for nice 10 days at the beginning of June, when season just started. That means quiet and piece all over the hotel and around. But, that also caused that we had room faced to garden, which is big benefit. Otherwise, imagine to be facing to the main street, then atmosphere would be completely different. Hotel is really something for kids, as personal staff let walk baby ducks in the mornig and also puppy at the garden. Just for few hours, then they shut them to not disturb a guests. Room was always neatly cleaned, air condition was working on temperature mechanically just as we wished.
Only one disappointment. Breakfast is very basic and you will soon get fed up of routine of same taste. We found local "mercator" near by and bought us better tasty brfk :)
Beautiful beach is only 10 min walk. Center 5 min by bus, station is in front of hotel.
This hotel is not for guests who expect luxury and something waou. 3 stars are just reasonable.

Room Tip: Faced to garden, corner room with a largest balcon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This isn't a five star hotel, but it never claims to be. It felt more like we were staying with a Spanish family than at a hotel. The rooms were very clean and the AC worked well. Nice balconies overlooking the pool. The downstairs Lobby was great and had free wifi. The Outside garden was amazing and was like a little oasis. We definately be back again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 night and loved it. It was very cheap so we were not expecting much but when we got there the staff were great, the rooms were spotless clean and the pool and gardens were lovely. All rooms have tv and air con at no extra charge but we did have to rent a fridge for €5 per day. The location is a 5 min walk to the beach so perfect!
Highly recommended! We will be back

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from a fab holiday at The Carman Teresa....
what can i say !! , Easy check in .... first impression was how clean the place was , you can see your own face in the floors.
ok.... so lets break it down:

ROOM: Basic but immaculate, big wardrobe with plenty of hangers etc...
32" flat screen with English channels , nice big bathroom , POWER SHOWER that actually has power.......free toiletries incase you forgot anything.....hand & bath towels. free aircon
Also cleaned every day with fresh towels etc.

RECEPTION & BAR.......24hr reception , nothing is too much hassle for them (although they speak little English) BAR is CHEAP....San Miguel 1.50eu , coffee 1eu , coke (proper 330ml tin ) 1.50eu , LARGE WHISKY 2eu...pool table 1Eu.. WOW all good so far..

POOL: Immaculately clean , plenty of free sunbeds , toilets are so clean you could eat your lunch in there !!!!
GARDEN: again kept immaculately clean , lovely area to read a book , have a drink or just chillax!!

LOCATION: Excellent, 5mins to beach & bars etc , turn left ....10mins to Torremillinos , turn right.. 10 mins to Benalmadena...perfect

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE , WILL RETURN FOR SURE

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just returned from Carmen Teresa, great little hotel. Owners and staff lovely, very friendly. Beautiful garden and fantastic little pool. Rooms were basic but only really needed for the bed and the shower. Maids cleaned every day, everything was spotless. Booked room only, but very cheap for morning coffee (1 euro), drinks cheap also, 2 euro for glass of wine or 7 euro for the bottle (if you don't want to drink the whole bottle, they will mark your room number on it and keep it in the fridge in the bar for you). Strongbow and corona available also for those that don't like San Miguel. Location was fantastic, 2 minutes down to beach/Calle Bulto, slightly longer coming back up in the heat! Within walking distance of both Benalmadena (port) and Torremolinos itself, although having visited both, wasn't that impressed, stayed mostly in La Cariheula which is a gorgeous part of town.
Excellent restaurant just across the road (La Troba), good tapas and does the best mojito in town for 5 euro. Also, Los Pepes cafe just a few metres away is excellent value for coffee and pituforos (toasted sandwiches).
Plenty restaurants in Calle Bulto (one street back from beach), catering for all tastes and budgets
Hotel Cabello (at bottom of Calle Bulto street, next to fountain) is fab for nightcap - coffee and large brandy 2.50 euro, or coffee and large baileys for 4 euro.
Can recommend a trip to Malaga, the bus (M110) stops just outside hotel (opposite side of road), 1.50 euro each way, stay on the bus until the final stop at the port in Malaga, then cross the street to the Tourist info where they give you a free map. Only 2 minutes walk into Malaga centre, Picasso museum is a must (6 euro for Picasso exhibition or 9 euro for Picasso and current guest exhibition - was history of graphic design posters when we went), beautiful, cool little courtyard cafe - well worth a visit.
Finally, don't forget to ask to see the puppy at the hotel, he is a wee bit boisterous and has a flip flop fetish(!) but full of fun and attitude.
All in all a really chilled holiday, most stressful thing was deciding where to eat each night:)

Room Tip: Rooms at front are on the main road, but no real noise once you close balcony door, traffic stops ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carmen Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen Teresa

Address: Av. Carlota Alexandri 180, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmen Teresa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Carmen Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Teresa Torremolinos
Carmen Teresa Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Carmen Teresa Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmen Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.