We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kristal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kristal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kristal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Cauce s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

....but dont expect anything more.
We stayed in the hotel for one night on our way to Gibraltar. We arrived late afternoon and we were greated by the receptionist who was very friendly and helpful and explained our stay in detail.
The hotel is bang on in the middle of everything.

Pos:
Great centre location
Air con in room
5 min walk from Torremolinos train station
5-10 mins walk to gay nightlife
5 mins walk to restaurants and tavernas
Above shopping area(on negatives as well)

Negs:
As it was above all the shops we were awake early in the morning around 8-9am from all the shops opening and we woke up at around 4-5 am when people (who obviously had a drink or two) were returning to their hotels.
Very basic breakfast, continental with ham,cheese, bread, immitation cereals and an orange juice that would never know what a fresh orange looks like. It was from a machine and it was more like an orange squash.As i have worked in the hotel industry before i know that a hotel that respects itself should have at least an orange juice from a carton if not fresh. Its those little things that make breakfast the best meal of the day.
Decor dated in both the rooms and breakfast room.
One socket (i know its a minor thing to look at but in our days with all the gudgets and phones you need more than one plug)
Plastic cups in bathroom for guests to drink water etc. Its a no no for me.
Cigarette buds outside the window clearly missed by the housekeepers.
Beds clean but matresses a bit hard.

I give 3 for the service as the receptionist and the breakfast lady were very polite and friendly.
Value 4 as it is in a great location and is cheap.
Overall i couldnt be really harsh with the hotel as the location is excellent if thats what you are looking for but i wouldnt stay for more than a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    51
    29
    67
See reviews for
23
93
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, null, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Poor choice of food, insects in the room, problems with the internet, loud clients of the restaraunt in the same building and 15 (!) minutes to the beach. Don't you ever go here if you don't want to spoil your vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have returned today after staying at this hotel. All I can say is dont listen to all the negative comments on this site.I stayed for five nights if you want to be in the heart of the action its a great place to stay the room was clean the beds good crisp white sheets and towels. Breakfast typical continental as much as you can eat consists of cold meats and cheese bread and rolls bolied eggs cereals jucies and as much tea and coffee as you can drink evening meal again as much as you can eat soup, salad, fish chicken rice dishes veg chips potatoes. Only down side of this hotel is that there is no pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just came back from staying at hotel kristal and i cant find any thing to complain about at all! The staff on reception are acceptionally helpful and friendly and the staff in the restaurant also. The rooms were clean comfortable and just right for what we wanted. The hotel is central location about 5 minutes (if that) walk to Torremonlions Train station and 5 minutes to San miguell street where it all happens! Yes there is alot of steps down to the beach but there is a option of using a lift for 50 cents. We will defo be goin back and very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a 2 night stay this August. As it is advertised as a 3 star I was hoping to receive clean and comfortable place to sleep with decent facilities......I found the complete opposite!

1 The hotel is in a terrible location. It is a good 20 min uphill walk from the beach. It is located in the middle of a noisy smelly market.

2 The hotel reception looked modern and revamped but then you get to your room and the nightmare begins.
First of all no beds but old falling-apart cots. Found more than one thick black hair in the bed sheets.
The floor tiles had lots of cracks. Only one working power socket in toilet. Cockroach running on the floor. Windows could not be closed properly and safely. Almost impossible to sleep for continuos noise both day and night.

3 You only have free wifi on the 4th floor . There you can find a bar and a restaurant where they serve lunch and dinner. After the bedroom experience I did not even want to give a chance to the buffet!

In the same week of holiday I stayed in 1 star hotels that were far better in quality of service and cleanliness than this fake 3 star.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I hate to give a poor review because the hotel staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, but the locations was not good and I did not feel safe. We had three nights reserved and only stayed one night because it was so noisy! Rooms were really small, and felt unsafe. There was no T.V. remote in the room since there was so much theft and the safe was broken. :( Although it was clean, the area around the hotel was crowded, dirty and graffiti ridden. I've stayed in other Torremolinos locations that were much nicer and I wouldn't reccomend Kristal to travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Kristal Hotel is perfect for anyone who wants to spend more money making the most of their holiday and not in the hotel. That being said, it's still very nice to spend time in. The staff are extremely friendly and are always happy to help. The service is very good and rooms are cleaned every day. The rooms have air conditioning and also a safe. There is also Wi-Fi available in the hotel. The room of course also has a nice toilet and shower with plenty of towels and other little things provided. The only thing that I can that is bad about the room is that it only has one plug socket, so if you a lot of electrical equipment to charge, bring an extension of some sort. The hotel is working lifts so it's easy to get to your room. The hotel is very clean and the entrance looks very nice. You won't believe you went there for such a cheap price! The only thing I wouldn't recommend is their breakfast. The breakfast is very plain, like cereal, toast and cake. If you're fine with that, then it's not a problem. The hotel is located is a very nice place next to a market place with loads of very nice shops. There are also plenty of places to eat for cheap, including a Burger King. There are also very nice kebab shops. The location is also perfect because it is 1 minute from the train station, so you can take a train directly from Malaga airport (10 minute journey) and then walk 1 minute to the hotel. The cost of the train is very cheap too, I think around 2 euros or less.

Overall this is definitely a fantastic hotel considering how much you're paying. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Address: Calle Cauce s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kristal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kristal Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Kristal Hotel Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.