We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Roc Lago Rojo to your Saves list
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Lovely stay in the costa de sol , I stayed on the 5th floor which had a mountain view side, lots of sun in the balcony from lunch until late evening! Only downside was I found the room very hot at night as the air conditioning wasn't very good and just blew the warm air around the room! I had breakfast at the hotel which was very good lots of choice , the roof terrace was lovely and so was the pool, drinks where not too expensive either. Staff very helpful and organised my taxi pick up time for the airport with no problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    131
    69
    28
    9
See reviews for
85
173
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just back from this hotel stayed a week ,we have stayed here before the staff are all very pleasant
the breakfasts are okay you will allways find something, the rooms are fab very clean and have a mini fridge the only english tv station is sky news !!! the food in the evenings not so good
the main thing about this hotel is its location in the middle of the town.
To get to this hotel when you leave malaga airport cross the road to the train station get a ticket to torremolinos when you arrive in torremolinos walk staight ahead cross the road walk to your left and straight down the hill for about 10min keep looking down the side streets and youll see it on your left train ticket e3.40 for two

Room Tip: most of the rooms are in the shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We spent almost one week at this beautiful hotel which is located in a part called Carihuela and it´s very closed to the beach and to plenty of shops and local restaurants. The room was large with cozy balcony,cleaning service sufficient. Food appropriates 4 star property, a large selection for everyone. Sun terrace on the roof is excellent, water in a whirpool should be hotter. Otherwise amazing view to the whole city and mountains. Very polite and helpful waiter Fabian working at the solarium bar. General staff was very friendly, especially a recepcionist Hilda,very profesionall lady with a good attitude to all customers.I´m working in a hotel industry many years so I can´t understand why the people always solve little stupid things such as ,,one picture on the wall´´. You are on holiday, you should have a fun and not to make complaints. It´s necessary to compare the cost and output. We really enjoyed our stay and we plan to travel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is right next to the beach and a long boardwalk full of restaurants and shops. The staff was also generally friendly and helpful. It also has a spectacular sun deck on the 6th floor that overlooks the Mediterranean sea. The room was large with a sitting area but very stark and bare bones, 1 picture on the wall,bare shelves etc. The room was also dirty and smelled musty and looked very tired. The food was cafeteria quality, steam tables and generally overcooked and tasteless. The bathroom was superficially cleaned leaving dirt in the corners, the glasses were never changed, no kleenex, soap from a dispenser (like a locker room), no lotions, etc. The public bathroom was dirty and beat up. The stay here was doable but not great and definitely not a 4 star property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

First the good news. Stay at this hotel and you're literally steps away from the bars and restaurants of the Carihuela. Also brilliant roof top sun terrace and decent buffet breakfast with plenty of usual fresh fruit, breads, yoghurts etc.
As regards the negatives, very disappointed to find safe in room and wi-fi in room both incur additional charges. An unnecessary expense for a large hotel group and took the edge off what was otherwise a very good holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking pool gives lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed at The Roc Lago Loco over the Easter break, as we wanted to be in the heart of La Carahuela.
On check in there was a bit of mix up with our rooms, but this was sorted eventually, and as we had arrived early we did not complain. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful especially a Dutch lady that had just started work there.
What really lets the hotel down is the food choice in the restaurant, it was awful. We paid for half board but decided to eat out for breakfast and lunch for the last few days as we could no longer stomach it. The evening food was over cooked, cold, fatty (for example pigs trotter casserole one night, just a pan of fat and bone), with not a lot of choice. I didn’t think anyone could go wrong with breakfast, but they manage to at this hotel – bread rock hard and neon coloured Orange Juice made with powder – Disgusting ! The staff in the restaurant are very hard working, but they need more help as they struggle to keep up with changing the tables and replacing cutlery etc.
I know there have been some comments about the Hotel being good value for what you get, but just eat out. I don’t agree at all with this. It is our 5th visit to the area in the last 7 years at Easter. We have always paid a similar price for much better hotels than this (for example the Puerto Alhoa Sol). I would certainly not rate the Roc Lago Loco as a 4 star hotel at all.
The hotel bar prices very expensive 2.20 euro’s for half a beer – Outside bars charge half of that. The entertainment is also poor, one man singing like a bad Karaoke act, so we didn’t bother staying around again
The location is excellent for La Carahuela and right by the beach. The sun terrace on the roof is lovely, but it is quite small and maybe in busier periods would be difficult to get a spot. There is a Jacuzzi but this was not in order (maybe too early in the season), there is a small bar too. The swimming pool on the ground however, is very small and at the side of the bar with no sun beds as it appears to be in the shade most of the day.
The bedrooms are very spacious (we had a suite), clean and changed every day, quite basic but fine. Although there was not one drawer in our room, we had to use the wardrobe for everything. The maid cleaned the room spotlessly every day.
We plan to travel to Carahuela again next Easter, but we will not be staying at the Roc Lago Loco ever again. It is better in that area to stay room only or B&B only as there is so much decent food choices out there at decent prices too.

Room Tip: High floor room better view - 503 or 505
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I went recently to Torremolinos, 24th to 30th March, We have been to torremolinos 5 times, and have always stayed in the carihuela beach area, This was our second visit to the Roc Lago Rojo. The hotel is in a good location, was very clean, and the lady receptionist was very pleasant, The food could have been a bit warmer, but chose to heat in microwave, it was only for 6 days. The rooftop Jacuzzi was closed, and that as disappointing as it does not specify on any of the descriptions we read about hotel. We went to Mijas for a visit and would definitely recommend to wear warm clothes as it was quite cool, especially at the time of the year we went. We loved the streets of carihuela, as there were very unique little houses with lovely outside decor and flowers Would definitely recommend the hotel for location and cleansiness and hope to go back in another few years.

Room Tip: pool view, at back of hotel is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Address: C/ Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.