We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roc Lago Rojo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this great hotel. The location is really convenient - a few minutes walk from the sea front. The staff all throughout the hotel couldn't have been any more helpful. The rooms very clean and comfortable. The food was a good standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    118
    66
    27
    7
See reviews for
75
163
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a long weekend trip here Friday to Monday in March.

Nice hotel, near to the beach and the Airport which was ideal, just a quick trip through the hotel side gate and within 50 metres your on the beach.

Hotel reception was very friendly and welcoming, room was good but on floor 2 it was a little
low and didn't get much of a view from the balcony,

Hotel and room were good, cleaner was excellent in my room, food was pretty good but the weather that weekend was pretty rubbish and it rained most of Saturday and Sunday but that is just luck of the draw.

All in all nice place and would return if the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A very comfortable hotel. The only minor disappointment was the soup which tended to be weak and not very hot. Our bed had a firm mattress which was very comfortable. We had a room on the fourth floor which gave us bright views over the roof tops to the sea in the East. We had wi fi in our room for 20 euros for the week which was very useful. The rooms are spacious with a step down sitting area and everything was in good condition with a first class bathroom. There is a solarium on the roof which makes up for the small pool area. There is a comfortable bar and lounge with 2 for 1 offers between 5 and 6. Dinner and breakfasts are buffet service and we found the food to be varied and of good quality. The staff are all polite and friendly and the barman is a comedian. It is a friendly hotel with a mixture of nationalities

Room Tip: go for fourth or fifth floor facing east as lower floors tend to look into bushes or walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We e mailed the hotel ahead of our stay to request a high floor poolside, we were given bottom floor, roadside! If you sat on the balcony you had the view of a brick wall! After three days of asking we were finally given a room on the 4th floor poolside. This was after a very pleasant manageress sorted it out for us. The room was large and bright with a separate sitting area. There was a small clean fridge for your use, which was handy. The beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was plenty big enough with a bath/shower, soap dispensers and a hair dryer. We had a large double wardrobe with plenty of hangers. We opted for half board at this hotel as we got a good deal. (we usually only do BnB as we get bored with hotel food). This place was an exception, the food was excellent. Over our two weeks the variety was one of the best we have seen. The food was hot and tasty and regulary topped up. Even the breakfast wasn't boring. The only down side was the blank staff faces, when you thanked them for taking your plate there was no acknowlegement what so ever (the only exception being Arno and Lesile). Reception staff never said a hello or gave a smile, i think they need some training in customer service! This would not put us off returning as the hotel is in a perfect location.

Room Tip: High floor, poolside (ring hotel for a request, don't bother with an e mail)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, Each being a little better than the previous visit - largely because considerable modernisation has taken place over the last few years. Very highly recommended especially the Junior suites

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights prior to a cruise from Malaga so the hotel was part of a package but we thought it was an excellent deal. Really liked the room which was split-level with a lounge area. It was kept spotless with towels changed every day. We were half board which is not our usual choice and dinner was a buffet which is also not our favourite dining but we found the food very good with plenty choice and kept well stocked. The public areas were very nice and the staff very helpful and pleasant. Nice rooftop solarium. The hotel is well positioned near the beach and promenade so convenient for walking into Torremolinas or Benalmadena. La Carihuela is a lovely quiet part to stay in with lots of bars and resturants nearby. Would definitely go back,

Room Tip: Rooms onto the street get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Have recently stayed 5 nights here before going on cruise. Was disappointed.Good position for exploring town and promenade of Torremolinos, but definitely not worthy of a 4 star rating.The food both at breakfast and dinner was inferior and very basic. The rooms whilst being a good size were furnished very cheaply and the beds very hard. Best thing was the roof top terrace.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Address: C/ Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.