We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing winter break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roc Lago Rojo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Preston, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Refreshing winter break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just returned from our 2nd winter break staying at the Lago Rojo, again with a very pleasant experience. The whole trip revovles around easy access, short train ride from the airport to Torremolinos, downhill 10 min walk to the hotel (for the reasonably mobile) and a 1 min walk to the seafront.
The hotel is excellent value and in good condition. The food is plentiful and although not quite as good as last year, still excellent value. We were on a half board basis and the majority apppeared to be the same. With a number of eateries closed for the season, I feel its probably the preferred choice, but there are quite a lot still open.
The rooms are a decent size and the beds are very good, 3 good nights sleep ! They are cleaned properly and the bathrooms are also of a good standard.
Staff are very friendly in the restaurant and at least polite elsewhere. The reception staff were not great English speakers, but I can't speak a lot of Spanish either, they did make an effort though and it was fairly easy to make ones self understood.
All in all very enjoyable, very probable we will return next year for my 58th.

Room Tip: Junior suites seem to atttract the best deals, so go for one as they always seem available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    116
    63
    27
    7
See reviews for
71
162
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nibe, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have been many places in Torremolinos, but your hotel whith half pension was very good. the food and service was in top, and the cleaning was also in top. There was no complain att all.
Jensen Danmark

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent last weekend in this hotel and it was perfect. It was our first visit to Torremolinos and so we didnt realy know what to expect. The hotel was very welcoming and friendly. We stayed bed and breakfast and too advantage of the pre paid evening dinner. The food at both meals was very plentiful with many choices and far more than we could eat. The price of the evening dinner was 15 euros and fantastic value. It was just a short 5 minute walk to the front. The hotel and the whole area far outwayed our expectations and cant wait to go again.

Room Tip: We had a junior sweet and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised with its value for money. It was clean comfortable and really close to the seafront and local bars. The food is a bit hit or miss in the mornings and there is a general free for all, but that said the evening meals are fine and there should be something for everyone however fussy. Rooms are spacious, and there is a flat screen TV. Some reviews claim that British TV is not available, but this is inaccurate, it can be found on minus channels, just press the control to move below channel1. I can see problems with sun lounger availability at busy times around the pool,but the rooftop solarium can cope with around 40 which shout help ease any problem. There is some entertainment available a couple of evenings per week, but its the usual touristy stuff which once seen is easily forgotten.
The hotel can easily be reached by train from the airport, so forget rip off airport taxis.

Room Tip: Make sure you face the pool to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenock
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the hotel between the 6th and 18th of November 2012. We stayed in room 235 which is on the 2nd floor overlooking the swimming pool.The room was a junior suite. There is a fitted wardrobe, 2 beds A bathroom and separate toilet. There is also a separate sitting room 3 stairs down from the bedroom, it is open plan. The sitting area affords access to a sheltered balcony with table and 2 chairs.There was a flatscreen TV and mini fridge in the room. Our room was quiet but I heard other guests complaining of the noise from the street side.
It should be noted that there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but as we were half board it was not a great problem.
The restaurant is fairly small resulting in a queue for the evening meal. This didn,t occur at breakfast time.
Both breakfast and evening meal are buffet style.The food in our opinion was good, plentiful and varied.
The location of the hotel was first class, the rear door, which is a security entry system, takes you to all the shops bars and restaurants. The beach is approx, 50 m from the back door.and the scenic promenade of Carihuela where you can walk to Benaldemena (500m) in one direction, or towards Torremolinas in the other.
On the 6th floor of the hotel is a sun terrace .It was a bit of an ordeal trying to get a sun lounger as there are only about 15 pairs. Very disappointing as we only managed to get them twice and at that, had to wait in a queue for 15 minutes until the staff unlocked the doors.
All in all we did have a pleasant time there.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week at the beginning of October. We had a Junior Suite which had all the amenities we needed. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, the bathroom was spotless with more than enough soft, fluffy towels and the sheets were changed every couple of days. There was plenty of choice in the restaurant. i especially appreciated the "diet" selection at breakfast which included skimmed milk,, a range of unsweetened cereals and sugar free preserves.At dinner there was a big range of salads, pasta, fish, meats and vegetables. I don't eat sweet deserts so really enjoyed the selection of fresh fruit available at all meals. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall no complaints, a really great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We booked a Junior Suite but got a standard double room only. Big wardrobe but no chest of drawers - where is one supposed to put clothes?
The dining room is a chaotic affair. You have to find a table (usually you have an allocated table for all meals in other hotels) . Having found a table it usually hasn't been relaid with knives and forks etc. we had to hunt around for a teaspoon or there were no bowls. Tea and coffee has to be got from a machine, and you have to be careful not to bump into other people carrying hot drinks. all meals are as a buffet but the Food was either undercooked and not very hot. I am used to hotels where you have a specific table, tea or coffee and toast is brought to your table. Everything was just a shambles. We went for a relaxing break after my operation but it wasn't. I don't mind buffet style meals but only if it is well organised.
I found the rooms sparse (not a drawer to be had) the waitresses rude as one kept reaching across the table in front of my face to collect dishes. Also the top floor has a balcony but not covered. Not 4 star at all. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Address: C/ Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.