We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location Good Hotel, But ...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Don Marco to your Saves list
Sol Don Marco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Location Good Hotel, But ...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

First impressions of this hotel were excellent. The hotel foyer/reception area is lovely and welcoming, however, I'm sorry to say the receptionist was most definitely not! His name was Salvador and I have to say the rudest, nastiest, most horrid little man I have encountered for a long time. Check-in was an experience not to be remembered!! (Letter of complaint has been left with hotel manager). The rooms are excellent and fantastic bathroom with separate shower cubicle and shower gel/shampoo provided. Rooms were cleaned/towels changed daily. Weather was very hot, approx mid 30's, and there are numerous pools scattered throughout the complex which are fairly small but the noisest were the circular pools of the Don Pablo where the children seemed to congregate! There's no need to reserve sun beds/parasols as they are plentiful. Our rooms overlooked the gardens towards Don Pablo which has nightly entertainment and finishes at midnight - be warned if you're an early to bed person!! The Don Marco is in a great location, opposite the beach and only a short stroll from the Casa San Miguel shopping area - get the lift up and walk down as there are loads of steps up a steep hill - the lift only costs half a euro and is worth it! We stayed half board - breakfasts good but some weird choices - who eats mixed veg and sprouts for breakfast?!? If you arrive after 9.00am you have to queue so a good idea to arrive between 7.30am - 9.00am. Evening meals were ok but the chef lacks inspiration and variety, okay if you like veal/pork/lamb, but got bored of the same choices every night. Again, best to get there for 6.30pm or it gets a bit of a bun fight!! I would say the resort is great for families and older people which made up most of the clientele at this hotel - Torremolinos is ok but preferred Benalmadena, where you can walk to via the promenade and takes approx 30-40 mins on foot, depending on how busy it is. If you can tolerate an early rise on holiday (0700hrs pick up) I can highly recommend the Gibraltar trip, a great day out with a superb, funny guide and the monkeys are so cute (not allowed to feed them though so don't buy monkey nuts in the bus station like I did!). After the rock trip you have about 2 hours for shopping and its very very cheap for cigarettes/alcohol. Back in time for dinner and cost 30 euros each, booked at the travel agent next to the dolphin statue roundabout. Torremolinos is not a cheap and cheerful holiday any more, alcohol and food in beachfront restaurants were pricey. We were at the Don Marco for 11 nights and I would recommend the hotel - its just a shame its in Torremolinos!

  • Liked — Room surroundings, pools, proximitely to the beach, cocktail bar Happy Hour before dinner!
  • Disliked — Shockingly bad reception/welcome, sprouts for breakfast - yuck!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    206
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
94
289
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We wanted a few days sun and relaxation with a chance to read and sightsee. Our only previous experience of the Costa Del Sol was a week in Fuengirola, a few years ago. We wanted somewhere more central for travelling to Grenada, etc. and we like Malaga so Torremolinos seemed to fit the bill; we got cheap flights and chose the Don Marco after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor.
As previous reviewers have said the rooms were immaculate and well maintained. We paid extra to have one of the rooms at the top of the hotel, facing the sea front ~ I think it was 5002. The balcony was excellent ~ large with a table and chairs and sun loungers and as clean as the room. Unfortunately it was very cold and windy while we were there so we didn't actually get to use it, but the views were nice and it was invigorating in the mornings! The bathroom was large, spotless, well appointed and a pleasure to use. Plenty of toiletries are provided.
The hotel was ok; staff are very welcoming but the entry hall is drab and not very appealing. The dining room is large and a bit of a scrum at breakfast time. It is hard work to assemble all the bits of breakfast from around the room! This restaurant is shared with the 3 star hotel next door and it feels like a 3 star restaurant. We mainly used The Don Pablo for breakfast and evening meals and found eating there a far more pleasant experience. The food is better and there is more table service.
The indoor pool is underground and not very appealing and the atmosphere in the room where the entertainment is provided is depressing.
Torremolinos is not a very attractive resort, downmarket and grubby with the usual embarrassments of Brits abroad, shouting at their children! However, we enjoyed walking around the promenade to Benalmadena for a coffee; Fuengirola and Marbella are far more attractive resorts.
It is relatively easy to travel from Torremolinos though and we visited Grenada and the Alhambra ~ both fantastic and worth a visit. I'd recommend using a tour for the Alhambra, they are very strict about entrance times and it is easy to miss your slot. Two of the party we were with did not get through the gate within the half-hour slot so were denied entrance. No negotions with the local guide were tolerated! Our guide around the palace was excellent and we would not have enjoyed it half as much if we had done it independently. Malaga is also a nice city with plenty to see. The Picasso museum and the Gianfranco are both worth a visit, as is Lepanto cake shop! (also a branch in Torre)
Avoid the travel agent on the roundabout to the right of the hotel as you walk out. We tried to book for the Alhambra and Grenada there but he was rude and disinterested. We booked in the end at the hotel, since the staff are so pleasant and happy to help ~ worth the few euros extra.
We would not return to Torremolinos and I felt the Don Marco was a bit pricey for what we wanted. If you like the entertainment (think Del Boy and the cabaret singer and rows of white cardigans) and use all the facilities it would probably be better value. I know this review contradicts most views, but we just came away feeling vaguely depressed!

  • Liked — very clean and pleasant staff
  • Disliked — drab foyer and busy dining hall
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Spacious and clean rooms. Well appointed decor in the rooms, lobbies. Access to several pool and gyms. Across from clean beach and lively street front. AC very good. Location: close to city center - short pleasant walk. Bus stop nearby, buses to Malaga, which is the transport hub were frequent. Staff friendly and helpful. Deepak, at the reception was very helpful. Kept a cold plate, with beverages for us when he knew we will be returning late from an excursion.

Yes there are better hotels, but hard to find one swith all of the features you would want in a beach front complex. Don Marco is one of those rare gems for a good price.

Buffet dinners were decent, but choices without pork, ham or bacon were limited. An issue for practising Jews and Muslims.

As far as noise is concerned, it is a expected in a lively area. Close the balcony door.. blissful silence if you want.

  • Liked — Staff at reception and dinner rooms
  • Disliked — Occasional roaches
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We were looking for a cheap family holiday for six adults and booked easyjet flights to Malaga and on TA’s recommendations we booked the Don Marco in Torremolinos.

May I start by saying that the resort has really cleaned up its act. The sea front with a clean beach and super restaurants is to be recommended and the atmosphere at night with shops and stalls is good fun.

The hotel is four star and I think it merits this. The reception area and lounges are very comfortable and the staff were most helpful. Our room was first class. We paid extra for a sea view and although the balcony was a bit small the room itself was spacious comfortable and clean - and the bathroom was excellent.

The room has secondary double glazing so it was perfectly quiet – could not even hear the horns blasting the night Spain won Euro 2008! A/C was very efficient and quiet.

The restaurant was large and shared with clients of Don Pedro next door. Sometimes a bit busy bit no real probs. Lots of choice although sometimes the evening fare was a bit samey. Ok if you like veal and pork. Breakfasts were fine.

Lots of sun terraces and pools - as part of the Don complex (two other hotels) you can swim or relax anywhere.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to you all. Perfectly positioned with easy access to town centre – you need to climb though!

  • Liked — rom
  • Disliked — veal on menu all the time
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

The best part of this hotels are the bedrooms. They are very nice!

Nice and clean with modern facilities and amenities. In the bathroom I loved having a bath and large walk-in shower.

The public areas were a bit strange with a weird incense smell and it was a shame that the Don Marco did not have a nice bar to go to. Saying that the sister hotels in the complex all had better bars.

Breakfast was average for a Spanish tourist hotel but a bit too busy and crowded for me.

To sum up the rooms were great and for that alone I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Bedrooms
  • Disliked — Public areas
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

we just got back from the sol don marco, just a short break for my husband and myself. wot a great location just over the road from the beach. lots of places to eat and drink. the pools at the hotel ,very good and as you can use the sol don pedro to ,wot lot of a choice.. breakfast was good ,very fresh, and the eve entertainment was very good. we will be going back.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

Husband and I stayed at Sol Don Marco for our third anniversay in June 2008. We booked this hotel because we simply wanted a good hotel, at a good price, that we would really just use in the evenings to nap in, and of course at night to sleep in. If you're looking for an "all-inclusive" experience, this isn't the place for you. We got a taxi from the airport at 20 Euros, which we were happy to pay instead of taking the bus, given that it was near midnight.

Overall a good hotel - our room was a double sized room (i.e. two twin beds placed together) overlooking the centre courtyards of the Sol Don Pablo and Don Marco. Our room was 3009. If you want a good night's sleep or are a sensitive sleeper, I don't recommend a room looking into the courtyard because the night shows across the way in the Don Pablo bar area go on until 1am and are very loud. I sleep with earplugs and my husband is Deaf, so we weren't too bothered.

The clientele at the hotel was pretty much mid-40s to retirement age. We were some of the youngest people there (late 20s). The pool scene is the same - mostly older couples, which was fine with us because we were there to relax, not to do heavy partying.

Breakfast was the only meal we had in the hotel - which was mostly good - the eggs are a bit watery, so I suggest asking the chef to make you an omelette instead. Don't arrive too early at 7.30, as at this time not all of the food has been set out. My husband had an early golf game, so he had to eat a bunch of bread and fruit, given that the hot meats and eggs weren't out yet when we arrived. Also had some poolside drinks - very good.

Easy two minute walk to the beach across the street. Places that we ate at and recommend are: Uncle Willy's chiringuito, La Paella (both on the main street where the hotel is located), Bodega Quitapenas (cheap drinks!) and La Bodega (both on San Miguel street, the former on the steps leading up to the city centre), and a french restaurant on the street parallel to San Miguel - I don't remember the name of the street - but it's the only French restaurant on it.

Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Proximity to shopping and the beach
  • Disliked — runny eggs!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.