We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Don Marco to your Saves list
Sol Don Marco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a week staying in the Don Marco (2nd Floor) overlooking the pool area. This is my second time to the Don Marco and nothing has changed, I would most definatly recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly be returning hopefully sooner rather than later.

Rooms
The particular room i was in was overlooking the pool area and was of excellent size, the bathroom was rather large and included a shower and bath both seperate which was nice as hotels I have previously stayed in usually have a shower over the bath. The balcony was of an average size and the evening entertainment can be heard from the balcony. I would ask to be overlooking the pool and i would ask if possible to be on the 2 floor or higher on my next return.

Staff
We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who sorted us with our room. The staff at reception are brilliant and more than happy to help with any query.
The cleaners do a great job and our room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard and all towels were changed daily.
The entertainment staff Johnny, Poli, Maria, Marco Danny and the rest of the team were excellent, the daytime activties were well planned out although it would have been nice for them to come across to the Don Marco pool area and invite people to join. The evening entertaint was fab and we always returned on an evening for the show.
The waiters were always quick to remove any finished plates and culltery although they did have a few minor breakages they were cleaned up almost as soon as they happened.
Security was always present and made the whole complex feel very safe and always spoke when leaving and returning to the complex.
Although I never used the spa, I did pop in and the staff again were very helpful and friendly.

Food
The food is in a buffet sytle and always had an excellent variety of food - I was particulary impressed with the Italaian section on an evening. The breakfast buffet was again an excellent variety of food, although the sausage was not to my taste but everybody is different.
You can dine in the sister hotel although I personally never did so I can not comment on the food but if it was the same as the Don Marco it will have been impressive.

Pool area
There is a range of pools in the hotel complex and guests can use them all. All pool areas are kept clean and tidy, there is no need to get up ealy for a sunbed as if you came down at 2o'clock you would be able to get a sun bed. I suppose in the school holidays this would be a little bit different. Pool towels can be hired from the little pool shack located in the Sol Don Pedro pool area.

Area
The Don Marco is located on the beach front and within a 10 minute walking distance to the centre of Torrismolinos. There is a variety of shops and bars on the doorstep of the hotel and just a short walk from the hotel a little arcade area with mini golf facilities and for a mear 5 euros each it was well worth it.
Benalmadena is within a 20 minute walking distance from the Don Marco and is a lovely walk along the sea front although we walked there and got a taxi back to the hotel which cost 10 euros. The aiprot is within a 20 minute drive and if you did not have transport booked then a taxi would set you back 15 euros which is worth it as booking through a tour operator we had to wait over an 1 hour for our airport transfer.

Overall
I will certainly be returning to the don marco hotel and would recommend it to anybody. The hotel complex is in a fantastic location with very friendly staff and with excellent cleanliness throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool are excellent,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear xB1x,
Thank you for your really in-depth review. I am so glad that you like the hotel so much and I really hope that we see you again in the future.
A small comment regarding the entertainment: The Don Marco is the quieter of the three hotels in the complex so the entertainment crew deliberately don't invade the space. There is full information in the lobby about all the activities but Marco guests can easily opt out if they don't want to participate.
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jasime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    207
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
94
291
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
s.wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

arrived for a short 4 day stay last Saturday(1.30 pm for managerial reference !)
and were greeted- not! by a young receptionist who appeared oblivious to our presence and focused on her computer without even an hola or a smile which would have been most appreciated. Eventually after several minutes she spoke to us and with acceptable manner issued us with our room key.
However I am pleased to report that every other member of the hotel staff were polite and friendly.
As for the room and hotel facilities and cleanliness, we were generally impressed, particularly with the beautiful garden area around the Don Pablo restaurant.
We enjoyed the entertainment with the exception of the Diamonds are Forever duo who simply mimed to taped music !!(no talent required for this) in stark contrast to the very professional Jersey Boys tribute and Ricky the Welsh vocalist. The hotel entertainments team also gave an entertaining performance of Grease(despite more miming).
On checking out we were billed for drinks we had not ordered or received. We declined to pay and the only explanation we were given for the error was that other guests may have declared the incorrect room number? Surely a signature system should be operable to prevent such an error.
Despite the two negatives, I would happily and confidently recommend this hotel complex to future visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear taffgeoff,
Thank you for your review with both positive and constructive comments. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your recommendation to others to visit. I am sorry about your welcome. Your comment certainly helps us in focusing our training! With regards to the entertainment, we have some great entertainers and our in-house team get a lot of positive feed-back from our guests. It is useful to hear your opinion for future reference though when we come to contracting. Thank you very much.
I hope that you might possibly take up your own recomendation and visit us again sometime.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from a week`s stay at the Sol Don Marco which is part of the Sol Don complex in Torremolinos. Upon arrival we received an upgrade to a room in the Don Marco having booked a room in the Don Pedro. The staff very kindly gave us a room exactly as we had requested - high floor, quiet and with a nice view. We were able to use all the facilities in the three hotels which was an added bonus. The hotel is kept very clean and is in a good position opposite the beach and within walking distance of the centre of Torremolinos. The food was quite good although we have had better in other four star hotels. Only one complaint. On our third morning we went for breakfast and found a cricket in the teapot - YES A CRICKET. The waiting staff sent for the manager who told me that they had some Finnish trainees in the kitchen and the cricket had probably been put in the teapot as a practical joke. Sorry but I did not find this funny! However, I would still recommend this group of hotels and would certainly recommend travelling with Jet2.

Room Tip: Room 4026 in the Sol Don Marco was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent hotel in a prime position just across the main road to the beach.
Room (5th floor) was best I have stayed in for a hotel, the bathroom especially.
Food was very good.
Torremolinos was not so good, a little tired and unclean (beach/sea) but the hotel is fab.

Room Tip: I was in room 5008 and it was excellent ( huge bathroom and huge patio with 2 sun loungers).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for four nights in late August and could not fault the establishment. We stayed on the top floor after requesting a quite room for some long awaited rest bite, where the room was cleaned daily, with a huge balcony housing a table, chairs and sun beds. The receptionists are most friendly and extremely helpful. There are a number of choices of pool area, we choose the smaller quieter pool - no issues getting a sun bed late morning or mid afternoon. Excellent breakfast arrangement, much food and choice! The beach was just across the road with shops, cafes, etc on the doorstep too. The hotel was a 20 minute walk down to the rock of the resort where you will find cheaper bar prices and some excellent beach restaurants. Would stay again most definitely in the same room (if the price was right ;)). Thanks to Jamie (manager) and his team who are doing a sterling job keeping an happy ship. Thank you

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear di1207,
I am delighted that your much-needed rest was all you had hoped for. I appreciate you taking the time to let other know and very much hope that we see you back again in the future for more R&R.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It is our third visit to the complex .myself my husband and 7year old Grandaughter within a year.we have stayed 2times at the Pablo but the third time we thought we would try the marco smaller rooms but we thought it was not as busy as the Pablo would stay in don marco next time. Stayed in room 2019 which had fab view over the pool,give my thanks to the cleaning lady she was very chatty and kept our room spotless. Entertainment great johnny churro always happy to pose for photo with you and had plenty of time for the children.one day there was a group of people throwing a ball and being very noisy using all the pool it was early evening but security came and sorted them out. Very quiet after entertainment finishes good nights sleep .cant praise the hotel enough see you soon.

Room Tip: Asked for high floor but was given one on 2floor but was lovely view and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Gillian E,
I am so glad that you keep enjoying the Sol Don Hoteles complex. It is great for us to know that we are moving in the right direction and keeping you happy. We look forward to your next visit at one of the three hotels.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We like this Hotel "Sol Don Marco". There was a real and friendly Guestservice. We enjoyed our short Trip there and also our Friends, who have been there too, did say, that it is a good Hotel. Standard Room was cosy and all was clean. Bathroom fully good. There was Breakfast buffet with good things and a tasty Choice of hot Beverages too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear sopronojet2,
Thank you very much for taking time to write to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am so happy that both you and your friends (on a previous visit) enjoyed the hotel so much. I sincerely hope that we might be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.