We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with Hotel Sol Don Marco & intend to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Don Marco to your Saves list
Sol Don Marco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very happy with Hotel Sol Don Marco & intend to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel from July 6th for one week.
Would return again without any doubt.
The location is superb, literally across the road from the beach. Peaceful area of Torremolinos.
Hotel reception and lounge areas are simply stunning. The whole complex is spotlessly clean, numerous pools to use, in total I counted 9. All extremely well maintained. Sunloungers available but there are a few sad people that 'reserve them with towels at early hours of the morning'
The reception staff are very welcoming and helpful especially Miguel who booked us in late evening and when asked recommended a fabulous local Spanish Resturant around the corner he did, its called Avendia. Well worth a meal at, authentic Spanish food.
We had 2rooms on the second floor of Sol Don Marco rooms 2032 &. 2034. Cleaned daily and to the high standard that is throughout this hotel. Clean sheets & towels daily, the shower is wonderful, walk in and plenty of hot water when needed. Ac worked well in room 2034 not so well in room 2032 but when reported to reception it was repaired the same day. Small balcony but enough for us, pool view. This room is located above the Resturant but I must say I expected to be disturbed by noise of meal preparation but didn't.
We stayed on a b&b basis. Breakfast was good. A huge selection from co,d meats
& cheeses, cereals, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast. The breads & pastries are cooked on the premises, really fab chilled champers on ice just finished the experience off. Can get rather busy at weekends but the resturant staff really work hard.
Reading the reviews re dress code in the evenings for meals I must add our experience, we intended to dine one evening as it smelt divine. However both my adult sons had shorts on, not beachwear shorts, tailored smart shorts that they were permitted to play on a luxurious golf course in and yet we were clearly told at the resturant door that one of my sons was not welcome to enter the dining room in them! Both boys had shirts on and the shorts are below the knee. We did find it old that only one of them although dressed the same, were turned away. Didn't affect our fantastic stay at this hotel as rules are rules but as people seem to be mentioning the lapse of the rules on here, I will contribute with our findings on this matter.
The hotel has a varied entertainments programme ranging from yoga, aqua aerobics and evening singers/bands. I am sure a lot more is on but we couldn't cram it all in one week.
Really impressed with this hotel and have already recommended to friends & family.
Ideal to explore Torremolinos especially the old town, shops, aquapark and of course the enjoyable evening stroll along the promenade right down to Benelmadena Marina.
Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear debdee21,
Thank you for taking so much time to write your in-depth review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to the chance to welcome you again soon. I am sorry about the issue with the dress code. It is terribly hard to get the balance right at this time of year as everyone has such different expectations of their beach holiday. Why one rule should have applied to one son and not he other (unless one is a child and the other an adult) mystifies me. I'm sorry and will look into it.
Do come back soon. Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    207
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
94
291
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Excellent stay in fantastic location superb staff & very well maintained property. Great pools, towels available from club house. Food section excellent. Very good entertainment team catering for all needs of young & old. We're already looking at dates for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Bangorw,
Thanks for your review. I am so glad that you enjoy the Don Marco so much and really look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Recently returned from Torremolinos staying at the Hotel Don Marco.Nice hotel,great location.Rooms spacious and well furnished excellent en suite facilities.Food was good and varied.Lots of sunbeds provided in the very spacious grounds.The only let down was the male standard of dress at dinner.The majority came down in shorts (some obvious beach wear) and even vest tops.Dinner should be the highlight of the day and the majority that dressed for the occasion did not take kindly to see shorts/vests worn by men.In all the bedrooms there was a card showing that men should NOT go down to dinner in shorts/vest tops.The management need to ensure standards are maintained otherwise people expecting 4 star standards will not return.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms have large terrace with sea or pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Harryonthecoast,
Many thanks for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your holiday and that you liked the Don Marco so much. I have taken on board you comments regarding the dress code and we will take action. In summer we do relax the dress code somewhat as there are many guests, especially locals, who do not want to wear long trousers once the temperature tops 30º. This does not excuse vests or swimwear however and we must take care of this. I appreciate you mentioning this so that we can take remedial steps.
I hope that we see you again in thefuture.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having just spent a week at the hotel, I have to say that the staff were extremely friendly, our comfortable bedroom overlooking the swimming pool with sea view, and a good choice of food for breakfast and dinner made our stay enjoyable.

I have only one complaint. In the brochures and online it is made quite clear that shorts are not to be worn at dinner; rightly so. But on our first evening we saw about 90% of men in shorts and every evening thereafter.On asking the restaurant manager why, we were told that during July and August this rule is relaxed as long as shorts are smart! Well, some men were wearing patterned shorts which are only fit for the beach and one man in his 50's wore a vest t-shirt at dinner!!

This would not be surprising in a 3* hotel; that is why we avoid them like the plague, BUT once standards are relaxed in 4* / 5* it puts many people off.

I suggest the management urgently re-consider male dress at dinner, before they lose potential guests of the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I don't have a bad word to say about this hotel. First off we had requested either a pool view or beach view room but when we arrived we had neither. Not the end of the world, but we thought we would ask the next day to be moved just on the off chance they had availability. Miguel moved us with no questions asked. Our new room was on the top floor and had its own wrap around terrace, it was amazing, with a view of the pool AND the beach! Unfortunately on the last day my partner collapsed at the pool and had to be rushed to hospital. Javiar was on reception that day and helped us liaise with the hospital even using his own mobile to make the call when we couldn't get an outside line from the hotel. This hotel deserves every one of its 4 stars and some! but the staff are most definitely 5 star, professional, friendly and eager to help at all times. I can't thank them enough for helping us when we most needed it. The hotel is clean with great facilities and sits right on the beach front within walking distance of all the amenities. You certainly won't go wrong here and will be most looked after during your stay, I'm sure. The hotel is very family friendly and sits on a complex with the don Pablo and don Pedro so there is a choice of where you can spend your time. Even the buffet breakfast was good and considering buffets are not my thing I was impressed none the less. In essence it's all good at this hotel, the only suggestion I would make is perhaps some music around the pool, this is personal preference though.

Room Tip: Pool view or beach view a must to make the most of the lovely views this hotel has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear BirthdayGirlScotland,
Thank you for your glowing review. The staff are the heart of our business and it is therefore such a satisfaction to hear that you were so well looked after. They work very hard and it is really rewarding for them to hear that their actions are appreciated. Thank you for letting us all know.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in May. The location is ideal as it's just across the street from the beach and there are lots of restaurants nearby. Also, there are two shops just steps away from the hotel where you can buy snacks, soft drinks, water, alcohol, clothes, souvenirs etc. We were able to get a parking spot for our rental car at the sister hotel Sol Don Pablo every night. The room is a nice size, clean and has a balcony. We didn't have any meals at the hotel since we wanted to try the restaurants in town and in nearby La Carihuela. No problems with checking in or out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have stayed in this complex before and was pleased enough to come again but our experience this time was not so good. The hotels were very busy and we did se some queing for tables. Our first dinner was not a great event as we first had to find a table, clear a space on it, then sat and waited and waited till eventually someone relaid. Then an equally long wait for a drinks order to be taken. In the morning it seems to be the expected norm that you get your own knives forks and napkins when you find an empty table. Our room was dissapointingly sitiuated above the continual drone of air conditioning ducts and the one for our room was situated on the small balcony and was also very noisey. Cleanliness all round is very good and the food was of good quality and breakfast was excellent with masses of choice and joy of joys fried bread!. Did find that the veg and ready mixed salads were more or less inedible mush which was a pity but did not detract to much from our dining experience. The hotel complex was very busy, so with limited space for such a lot of people outside space is covered in sunbeds.The planting is clever and well looked after and the pools were nice. I don't know if we will come again as I found the experience a bit manic and I suppose I value peace and quite a bit more as I get older. The deserved success of these hotels brings its own problems in as much as it is rather busy and this will not suite every one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear arnoldlayne,
Thank you for your repeated custom and for your review. I am sorry if you found the hotel complex too busy for you on this visit. It is true that in high summer we tend to get very busy and furthermore it is the season of school holidays which means that the pool areas and restaurants are more chaotic than at other times of year. Even though the occupation often rises between the end of August and the first of September, it becomes much calmer. I hope that we have the chance to welcome you again outside of high season when we, and Torremolinos in general, move at a rather calmer pace.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.